FYI logo

Come Enjoy Passover With Me, Vocal Friends!

A Passover-themed article/virtual art gallery

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago Updated 2 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - April 2023
21
“Seder Plate”, a zentangle, abstract drawing I did in my 9x12” sketchbook.

What is Passover?!

By Christopher Paul High on Unsplash

Passover is a Jewish holiday that commemorates the liberation and evacuation of the Jewish slaves from Egypt, during the monarchy of the Pharaoh Ramses II. Prior to the ancient Jews escaping Egypt, their firstborn children were passed over and spared from death. That where the name "Passover" comes from.

Just like Easter, Passover celebrations occur in April. Unlike Easter, Passover lasts for eight days long. This is because the Jews were chased by Pharaoh's army for an entire week.

Passover is a representation of freedom, hope, and resilience.

Passover customs

By shraga kopstein on Unsplash

The scattering of the Jewish people across the globe for thousands of years, to nearly every continent on the planet, has meant that Passover traditions have changed and adapted to many cultures and settings. Passover is a time to mingle with your families, friends, and communities at home and at synagogue (the Jewish place of worship).

During the first two nights of Passover, families and friends would come together and have a ceremonial dinner called a seder, which means "order" in Hebrew. The steps to follow during the meal, as well as blessings, prayers, stories, and songs are recorded in the Haggadah (a book that lays out the steps of the Passover feast, and remembers the story of the Exodus).

For eight days, we don’t consume any foods that contain gluten (wheat, barley, and rye), oats, and spelt such as cookies, cakes, crackers, pastries, bread, and certain grains. We’re also not allowed to consume rice, corn, and any kitniyot (legumes). In lieu of bread, we eat a big cracker called matzoh, which is unleavened flatbread. At the time the Jews escaped from Egypt, they didn’t have time to let their breads rise before going in the desert. Besides matzoh, the foods that are permitted on Passover include fruits and vegetables of all kinds, dairy products, meat, and fish.

There are many other Passover customs that people follow based on their own lifestyles. If you want to know more about them, please feel free to read more about Passover!

By sheri silver on Unsplash

Why do I love Passover?!

By Joel Holland on Unsplash

I love Passover, because I get to spend time with my loved ones, have some time to recharge, and eat all of my favourite Passover foods such as matzoh brei (a pancake made from crushed matzoh), candied matzoh, etc. Now that I’m gluten-free, I can try and make my favourite Passover delicacies with gluten-free matzoh.

I always look forward to the first two nights of Passover, because that’s when I get to interact and connect with my loved ones. As a social person, I enjoy sitting and eating with people at the dinner table.

By Alex Shute on Unsplash

A free virtual art gallery of my Passover-themed art pieces!

1. Blue Liquid Turned Into Red Liquid

A photo I took on my iPhone yesterday.

Description

A tessellation drawing done on a 9x12” sheet of blank paper.

The first of the ten plagues of Egypt was called Water Turned to Blood. The Egyptians had the power to turn water into blood, including the death of the fish and an odor that prevented one from drinking the water. Pharaoh stayed determined and had hard feelings.

By Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

2. A Lake Filled With Frogs

Photo taken on my iPhone.

Description

An abstract, acrylic painting done on a 16x20” canvas.

The second of the ten plagues of Egypt was called Frogs. Besides the Egyptians turning the water into blood, they also produced frogs. Piles of lifeless frogs filled the land with a foul smell.

By Erzsébet Vehofsics on Unsplash

3. Ewwwwwww........ Bugs!!!!

Photo taken today on my iPhone.

Description

A tessellation drawing done on a 9x12” sheet of blank paper.

The third of the ten plagues of Egypt was called Gnats/Lice. The gnats or lice appeared from the dust of the earth. The Egyptian priests couldn’t copy this miracle. God was the one who controlled the dust of the earth.

By frodure romain on Unsplash

4. A Hand Covered In Boils

Photo taken on my iPhone.

Description

A tessellation drawing done on a 9x12” sheet of blank paper.

The sixth of the ten plagues of Egypt was called Boils. This was one of the most hazardous plagues that had an affect on the human body. God told the difference between the Jews and the Egyptians. The Egyptian priests were unable to show up in court.

By Thomas Kinto on Unsplash

5. Pyramids

Photo taken today on my iPhone.

Description

An acrylic painting done on an 11x16” canvas.

After the tenth plague occurred in Egypt, Pharaoh finally made the decision to emancipate the Jews from Egypt.

The Pyramids of Giza is a popular tourist site in Egypt. It is located in Giza, a city in the west bank of the Nile, close to Cairo. The Pyramids of Giza were constructed during the swift period of development from 2550 to 2490 BC. They were built by Pharaohs Khufu (tallest), Khafre (background), and Menkaure (front).

By Phil Goodwin on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to view another one of my articles/free virtual art galleries. If you celebrate Passover, I’m sure you resonated with this. If you don’t, I hope you learned some new things. If you enjoyed this piece, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more recipes, stories, poems, and much more!

Please feel free to stay in touch with me!

IG’s: @tdwrites24 (where you’ll find all my literary works), and @taliascreations331 (where you’ll find all my visual artwork)!

Please feel free to check out my Redbubble store to see and buys these art pieces!

By Mo Gabrail on Unsplash

References

Historical
21

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Ms. Talia ~ Such a lovely 'Pesach-Presentation' ~ as the 'Simple-Son' *I've instantly subscribed to you. - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Interesting article. Well done and congrats on the TS

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    A great read! I enjoyed learning about what Passover means to you and seeing your lovely artwork. Thank you for sharing :) And congratulations on Top Story!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing this. Love the artwork!!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This was an awesome overview of Passover. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on top story! I’m Jewish too! Great descriptions of the holidays and history

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Thank you so much for writing this. I am easing into Judaism after being a lifelong Christian. And I mean really easing in… I have not spoken to a Rabi yet. This is a huge life decision that was put into my heart to pursue, and I don’t want to rush in too fast. I have so much to learn. It’s a beautiful culture, religion, and way of life that has to be studied extensively to be fully understood and appreciated for how powerful it is.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.