FYI logo

Clinique Skin Care Reviews

Product Reviews

By Anjolene Bozeman Published 2 months ago 4 min read
Like

What can I say, I am a product girly to a T. I see a shiny new product and I have to try it for myself. This time was a little different though. For some reason when I turned 27 my body gave me the middle finger and threw minimal cystic acne at me . This became a problem, I would constantly pick at my skin creating scars all along my chin and this only caused more mental distress. I can’t help but pick at my face or any imperfections. When I was younger I would wash my face so hard and often I would end up rubbing off my skin. As an adult I find I have more control, but the urge and obsession is still there, so having the right products to help me keep clear skin is very important.

Typically I start off my morning with Good Molecules facial cleanser followed by their brightening toner and face lotion. This worked very well for me for a couple years. I love Good Molecules and absolutely encourage anyone interested to try them out. You can find them at ulta or their website. Unfortunately, I think either starting birth control, using it for so long or turning 27 and hitting second puberty did something to stop the Good Molecules magic.

Desperate, I went into ulta showing them my new found problem and they suggested Clinique to me. A little pricey but I was intrigued, they had a three step process that followed my current routine. A wash, tonner and then a lotion. I was concerned about purchasing the larger sizes, thankfully they had a small tester set that came with all three steps. This is what I chose to purchase and this small amount of product was able to last me a little over a month; definitely worth it.

Let's break down the product.

Step one: All about the clean liquid facial soap, extra-mild. This washes the Lathers SO well. Just a pea size covers my face and neck and the foaming is somehow thick? It really feels like you are getting in a good wash and it smells very clean. It doesn't take makeup off waterproof makeup too well, but it does take off other makeup very well. Being a clown and makeup enthusiast, this is really appealing to me. After rinsing your face does feel tight and slightly dry and insanely clean.

Step two (3): Clarifying Lotion, Twice a day Exfoliator. I had never used an exfoliator before, I thought they would be harsh on my face. The clarifying lotion is very gentle and proved my assumption wrong. This was actually my favorite part of the routine. Not only did it pick up any dead skin and dirt left behind, it felt as though it would rehydrate my face after using the cleanser. I did as the bottle instructed, using this twice a day. First thing in the morning, I got to see all the ick that collected on my face overnight, and at night, refreshing myself before bed.

Finally step 3: Dramatically different moisturizing gel oil-free/ non-gras Gel hydratant treatment different. (that was a mouthful.) I am personally so picky about my moisturizer. I hate when it’s too thick or too cakey. I hate when it leaves residue on my face or disappears within seconds, not doing anything to tackle any dryness. Clinique on the other hand was light and soft. IT glided smoothie on my face leaving it the perfect amount of moist, soft while still keeping the fresh clean non-goupy, sticky feeling. It allowed me to sleep without worrying about getting lotion on my pillow or my hair sticking to my face. I swerve, they somehow made a gel moisturizer feel like baby powder. It was so soft. I am personally so sad that I am out of the product and wish to try more to review.

How did it work on my skin? It helped! Clinique after a week cleared my acne and was a strong protector against acne. I’m not sure Clinique had anything to do with it, but after a week I was able to get a black head I had struggled with for two years! My face was soft and it didn't interfere with my makeup. None of the products left my skin oily and were a relaxing part of my day. I wasn't sure at first that it was the Clinique that cured my acne. So after I had finished the testers I reverted back to my original routine with what I had left. Almost immediately my skin broke out, became oily and now I had painful cystic acne on my chin.This left me convinced that Clinique knows what they are doing and have great reliable products.

I would love to try more to review as I am a product girly, until then I suggest giving Clinique a try and hopefully soon I will test out more of their products. Overall I give a 10/10 review.

HumanityVocalPop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Anjolene Bozeman

Hello, I love creating the most unsettling content you could think of to read. Short Horrors are my favorite genre to write, but I also write reviews and occasional love stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.