Futurism logo

Why can't we remember...

what we ate for dinner 5 months ago?

By Christopher Jay AgudoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
why is memory so tricky?

Why can't we remember what we ate for dinner 5 months ago?

I'm sure there are some gifted people out there that have the capability to recall/remember anything they want from any point in their life. Whoever they are, they are the minority amongst the majority of us that seem to have the grandest struggle in attempting to recall where we placed our keys 5 minutes ago, or what we ate for dinner 5 months ago.

Chances are, you and I, statistically, will not be able to recall what we ate for dinner 5 months ago anyway... but why? Why has the brain/mind decided that it doesn't deem what was eaten for dinner 5 months ago as important, as to store that memory away in some filing cabinet deep within the memory banks where cob webs have formed?

I'm sure there is a science behind this, if research is done on it, which will probably state that things done in more recent times have greater significance because of how recent, being more relevant, perhaps.

Or that...

It decides more important information is kept close to our conscious and what we ate 5 months ago for dinner is just not important anymore, being far out of current time frame of experience, or not necessary for remembering later on in life.

But then why do we recall certain things that seem so random?

Like during my child, waiting with my brother and friend our age in the aisle of a toy section in target, waiting for our friend's mom to return from getting something, so she told us to just wait for a minute.

Or,

walking to the basketball court from my home during middle school on my day off, on a weekend, and not even playing basketball when I got there and instead going to the public library.

I don't think the last 2 ones you just read are important, but why am I able to recall them so effortlessly? Yet what I ate for dinner 5 months ago is as if it never happened via my memories?

Wouldn't it be cool to just be able to recall anything that happened at any point in our lives? Without a struggle to remember.

Perhaps we just aren't suppose to remember, or perhaps our diets have effected us throughout our entire lives since childhood. Perhaps our diets have not been optimal, in turn inhibiting certain parts of our brains/minds and causing us to be less than as opposed to at an optimal state.

It may be a plethora of things, who knows...

However, what do you think? Are you able to recall what you were doing 4 years ago to this very day? What about 1 year ago and what you ate that specific day and how you felt? Chances are no. Yet, maybe you are the lucky few that are able to recall. In any event.... it is super mysterious and may never fully be understood in a fluent type of way. The mind and memory is one odd subject matter.

This leads me to the next question:

Will you even remember reading this article in 5 years? How you felt while reading it? I guess the good thing is that you are conscious now, so maybe that is all that counts. Well, I guess that's all from this super cool article about memory. Till next time.

psychology
1

About the Creator

Christopher Jay Agudo

I have been born. I have lived life. I have gained experience. I am a writer. Read my words and you will journey along a vast sea of thought. Be prepared to have your mind blown with all of the stories and articles I end up writing. Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.