Futurism logo

Ultraviolet

Chapter 1: The Death-Promise

By Autumn EasleyPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
1
Ultraviolet
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. That doesn’t mean I didn’t try. If you had told me two weeks ago that I would be in space or even that aliens existed, I would have laughed. I have always been interested in alien movies or video games, but never in a million years did I think I would personally experience it.

It all started on a normal Friday night when my friends and I were drinking on the beach, laughing around the campfire telling stupid stories. I loved coming back home for the summer. One of my best friends stayed in our hometown after college, so summers were always great to catch up. Nova and I had been best friends ever since I could remember. Her family and my family even shared a vacation home down in Florida. But I never in a thousand years would have been prepared for what she told me that night.

The fire was so warm and Nova’s smile was so bright until small purple rocks started falling from the sky. She looked up, her smile vanishing. Nova was the bravest person I had ever met, but she looked terrified. A larger rock hit one of our friends, knocking them to the ground. Everyone scrambled and Nova grabbed my arm dragging me to a nearby bridge.

“What the hell is that? Like a meteor shower or something?” I peered out towards the beach. “It doesn’t look like hail.” I stuck my hand out from under the bridge and she smacked it back down. “Jacob is still on the beach. We gotta go grab him.” I started walking out from under the bridge and she pulled me back so hard I almost fell.

“Are you stupid? You want a rock flying through your hand?” She pushed her curly hair behind her ear and started pacing.

I saw one of our other friends helping Jacob to their car. “Nova, I‘m sure it’s fine.” I laughed nervously and stared at her for a second. “Are you okay? I’ve never seen you freak out like this.”

“I have a lot I need to tell you, but I need you to trust me right now, okay?” She stopped pacing and looked at me. “You cannot go back out there okay? Do not follow me under any circumstances.”

I crossed my arms, “Okay miss god complex. If you go out there, I’m going with you.”

“No, Jayda, you literally don't get it, okay?” She walked under the edge of the bridge and looked up to the sky.

I walked up next to her and looked. There was a weirdly shaped shadow in the sky that looked like it was getting closer. “What is that?” I squinted as lights appeared around the shape. What looked like vines or tentacles started emerging from the shape as it got closer and closer. “What the fuck is that?” I grabbed Nova’s arm and tried pulling her back more.

She barely budged and swerved to look at me, “You can’t tell anyone what is about to happen okay? I promise I will be back soon, I just need you to cover for me, okay?” She looked back up at the sky then to me again. “I need you to death-promise me right now.” She stuck out her pinky. I slowly reached my pinky towards hers. We only did this for stupid serious things. Things we would never tell anyone but each other like how she crashed her dad’s car giving road head, but blamed it on a deer or how I drunkenly slept with her cousin on New Years Eve. Our pinkies locked and we touched our thumbs together, locking our new secret in place. “Don’t freak out.” She took a deep breath and stepped out from under the bridge. Her dark skin turned slightly purple and her freckles began to glow.

My eyes widened and I gasped, “Literally what? What are you doing? Like is this a prank? Is this real?” I reached out and touched her arm. She was really warm. I looked up and was met with bright pink eyes. “What?” I jumped back.

“This is how I normally look,” she started explaining. I watched as she became more and more purple with her hair being just a little lighter than her plum-colored skin. “From the look on your face I can tell you know I am not from here. These people are here for me.” She looked up. The object and its tentacles were even closer now. “I was put here to do something and I haven’t done it yet, so they should let me stay longer, but just in case, I want you to know that our friendship and this planet was the best thing that has ever happened to me.” She looked up again and rushed to finish her explanation, “I just love you and I promise I will try my best to come back. Please don’t tell anyone and if I don’t come back just tell them I drowned or something.” She started lifting off the ground and wiped a quick tear off of her cheek. “Just stay here for a bit, okay?”

I ran out towards her and grabbed her wrist, “No, you can’t just say stuff like that then leave. Are you insane?”

She kicked at me, “Let go! Are you insane? You do not want to get noticed by these people! They could literally kill you!”

“More reason for me to not let you go!” I realized we were screaming. Whatever air tube we were in was getting really loud. I could see a circle of light opening above us.

“Stop, Jayda! Let go!” She continued kicking at me, but I grabbed her legs. The beam of air and light started to lift me too. I closed my eyes and held on as tight as I could, my hair whipping around me.

“I am not letting you go!” I yelled. The wind continued for a minute. It was getting hard to breath and pieces of my hair were creating miniscule cuts on my face. The next thing I knew, I was dropped into complete darkness. “Nova?” I whispered then felt around the floor near me. It was cold and felt a lot like stone.

“Jayda?” I heard her whisper back. “I told you not to come,” she hissed. I looked in the direction of her voice and could see her freckles slightly glowing in the dark.

“I can’t believe you glow in the dark and never thought to tell me,” I crawled towards her.

“What was I supposed to say? Oh, by the way I’m not from your planet?” I knew I was supposed to laugh, but I was mad. I could feel a heaviness in my chest. Do I even know my best friend?

“So, like, you’ve been an alien this whole time?” I felt a lump in my throat. “I thought we knew everything about each other. We always said no secrets and you literally have been hiding this?”

“I know and I’m sorry, but everything else is true. This was literally my only secret from you.” She sighed.

“Yeah, but that’s a pretty big secret and I’m sure there’s a lot to that.” I readjusted so I was sitting next to her.

She turned to me, “Plus, I know this sounds really cliche, but you were safer not knowing.” I groaned and laid on my back, staring into the void above us as she continued explaining. “When Earth finds out that there are other humanoids out there, it’s gonna be a mess. I mean obviously they already have their theories and stuff, but once it’s real, it’s gonna be insane. Earth is already so unbalanced and constantly fighting with each other. They can’t take care of each other or the planet and they want to control anything they can. If they knew other societies existed, they would only want to control that too.”

I rubbed my eyes, “I mean you’re not wrong, but still. I wish you would have told me sooner. I can’t believe other planets know about earth. They all probably laugh at us.”

“Yeah,” she laughed for a second. “But earth is not alone. There are plenty of other under-developed planets that do not know about other-worlders. We like to keep it that way. It helps keep the peace.”

“So, why were you sent to Earth? You said you were supposed to do something, but you haven’t yet?” I asked.

“The thing is… Earth is behind other under-developed planets and sometimes the… how do I say this… like the United Nations, but for planets, decides to exterminate a planet before it destroys itself. They think of it as a good outweighs the bad type thing. They think Earth is on the verge of self-destruction.” I sensed her lean back onto the palms of her hands.

“So they sent you to destroy earth?” I sat up, suddenly feeling very sick.

“No! I am obviously not capable of that!” she groaned.

“I mean, I wouldn’t know.” I mumbled. I could tell I hurt her feelings even in the darkness. “I’m sorry,” I sighed. “It’s just a lot to process obviously.”

“I know. Can I finish explaining now?” she asked.

“I can’t imagine you’re almost finished.” I raised my eyebrows.

“You’re so annoying. Anyways, when the galaxy decides a baby planet may never fully mature, they send families from each participating board planet to live out their lives there. My home planet’s leaders are on the board for Case-57, earth’s case and my family was selected. My mom was pregnant with me when they were selected, but the jury didn’t know that at the time. My mom thought it was best for me to have as normal of a childhood as I could so they picked a house next to your parents because your mom was pregnant with you.” She explained.

“So that’s why your mom did an at home birth instead of the hospital?” I rubbed my temples.

“That’s the first thing you thought of?” she scoffed.

“I can’t help it! You’re literally purple!” I laughed a short laugh. Not because it was funny, but because I felt insane to be having this conversation.

“I know it’s a lot, but yeah. My family has been reporting to the jury for the past 21 years. I suppose they found out about me. My parents were smart enough to snag an extra telepiece for me. That’s what allows me to look like other earth humans.” She cleared her throat. It was really dry in this room.

“How do you use it?” I asked.

“You actually have to install it in the body. It connects to your brain network and allows you to control things with your mind. Luckily my dad was a surgeon on our planet, or I would have had to stay hidden this whole time. That’s why we didn’t meet until I was two. That’s because I had to master using it at such a young age. Luckily, my people mature a lot faster than earth humans.” She laughed.

“You are literally just as immature as me!” I argued.

She bumped my shoulder with hers. “Maybe, but only in the ways I’m allowed.”

“So as a baby, you weren’t actually in quarantine for health conditions? It was so you could learn how to be like me?” I asked.

“Pretty much. I didn’t know much other than I was trained to subconsciously appear like an earth human 24/7. It was kind of like growing up learning a really weird language. I got so used to always appearing that way that I wasn’t really able to switch back to my native appearance until a couple years ago. My mom cried because she didn’t get to see me age for who we actually are. We rarely use our native appearances because we can’t risk anyone seeing us.” She explained.

“That’s crazy.” I rubbed my temples again. “You gave me a headache.”

“Probably because your tiny earth brain can’t comprehend anything.” She laughed and nudged my knee with hers.

“You are so mean!” I laughed and nudged her back. A rectangle of light appeared a few feet ahead of us.

A tall shadow appeared in the doorway. “Nova Juno of Planet Jax.” Their voice was very light and airy and they appeared to float rather than walk towards us. “And who do we have here?” Light suddenly filled the room we were in. Everything looked as if it was made of light green marble with glowing veins. The room was much larger than I had anticipated. It could easily fit several planes.

Nova stood up, “Ambassador Ahza.” Nova’s eyes were wide. “I can’t believe it’s you.” She glanced at me before looking back at Ahza. “I can explain.”

Ahza raised one hand. She only had three fingers and they were longer than mine with gorgeously long nails and covered in rings and bracelets. The contrast of gold and jewels against her blue skin was stunning. She had markings all over her face and her lips that looked similar to the Native American facial tattoos I had seen in my textbook a month ago, but they were a deeper blue than her skin. Her sharp, white eyes that matched her white hair caught me staring and I scrambled to my feet. The ambassador looked me up and down and smiled, “I know who this is.”

“You do?” My eyes widened and Nova shot me a very familiar look that means I should shut up.

Ahza chuckled. She had a beautiful laugh. “We have been watching earth for a very long time now, Jayda Harris. I’ve watched you two grow up together and although you may not have known where Nova came from, you know her better than anyone.” She shifted her attention back to Nova. “About 21 years ago, I convinced the council to fund a new Intergalactic Training Program that pairs two humanoids from two different planets together. They are raised together and know each other like no other. This combined with a few years of proper training could create quite the team of peacekeepers as you could imagine.” Nova instinctively grabbed my hand and I took a small step towards her.

I asked, “Do her parents know about this program?”

“You’re very intuitive, Jayda Harris.” Ahza raised a snow white eyebrow at me. “This is precisely why I have fought to allow a non-registered planet humanoid into this program. Although earth may not ever fully mature, we believe you have.”

I looked at Nova. “So… you want us to work for you,” I paused, “in space?” I scoffed. “This can’t be real.” I let go of Nova’s hand and wiped my sweaty palms on my sandy jeans desperately wishing to go back to the beach.

“In simple terms, yes.” Ahza answered.

“Jayda never signed up for this.” Nova protested. “Actually, neither did I,” she said matter-of-factly.

“I’m afraid it’s not a choice.” Ahza clasped her long, thin hands together and pursed her lips. “Nova’s parents have been informed and are in the next room awaiting us.”

My stomach leapt to my throat. “What about my parents?” I brought my hands to my head.

“You are allowed one last night. You will be under observation and one wrong move or explanation and you will be terminated immediately. Unfortunately, you now know too much and that can put your loved ones in danger. They need to progress naturally and hopefully one day when earth gains galactic consciousness, you may reunite.” Ahza walked up and knelt in front of me. She was so tall that kneeling allowed her to match my height. I could see my reflection in her bright white eyes as she wiped an involuntary tear from my cheek. “I know this is hard, child. You have learned a lot in very little time. I see my younger self in you.” She smiled. “I will personally chaperone your last night with your family. Has Nova taught you about our telepieces?” I nodded and she continued, “You will be able to see me, but they will not.” She stood back up, towering over me for a second before gliding backwards a few feet.

Nova looked at me with concern. I knew she felt guilty. Not that any of this was her fault. “Where did you say my parents were?” she asked.

Ahza waved a hand towards the floating rectangular doorway and it widened to about 12 feet to show a room with several other humanoids and Nova’s parents sitting at a table. It was weird seeing her parents, who felt like my second parents, in their true form. They shared similar characteristics with Nova such as their purple skin and hair. Everything felt fuzzy. I heard Ahza tell Nova to go to her family and she squeezed my hand one more time before obeying. Ahza reached out a hand towards me and motioned for me to walk with her. The floating door disappeared as soon as Nova passed through.

As I followed Ahza across the large room, she explained how tonight was going to go. I was allowed one last evening with my family. When my parents decide to retire for the night, I am to leave with Ahza and come back to the ship for some time with Nova and her parents. Nova and I will share a room here on the ship and begin introduction training in the morning.

“So, what are they supposed to think when I just leave?” I stopped walking. “They are gonna think I ran away or was kidnapped or died.” My chest felt tight. “I don’t know how I am supposed to see them and act like everything is okay. Do you understand how insane this is for me?” I pressed my eyes trying to convince the tears to stay in.

“We have personnel who will knock on your parent’s door in the morning. They will inform them that you were selected to be a part of an international spy program in the, what do you call it? The Americas? Regardless, that will be handled.” She clasped her hands together behind her back and stared off in the distance. “The personnel responsible for your excused absence are incredibly educated in the ways of the earthly government. I am sure it will all seem incredibly official.” She smiled awkwardly at me and motioned for me to turn around. She had opened another doorway. This one peered right into my garage. “Well then. Are you ready?”

I ran my hands over my face and took a deep breath before stepping into the doorway, Azah following me. I turned to look at her in the garage. Surely she was too tall to be in here. She had switched her appearance and looked like any other ordinary earth human.

She nudged me forward, “Now remember, they cannot see me, so don’t stare at me or you will seem off to them. I will find a place to sit and you won’t even know I am there.”

I took a deep breath and opened the garage door into the house.

My mom looked up from the kitchen and smiled at me, “Hey, hun! I didn’t hear the garage door. How was the beach?” She turned off the sink water and started drying her hands. “Tonya called and said Jacob has a nasty bump on his head from some random hail or something. Are you okay?” She walked over and grabbed my head looking for bumps or scratches.

I could feel the lump in my throat. It was going to be a hard night. “Yeah, I’m fine. It was just a little weird and scary. It all came out of nowhere.” I glanced at Ahza who had made her way to one of the chairs in the corner of the living room. “Does the rocking chair look weird to you?” I asked my mom.

“No?” She looked back at me, “Are you sure you’re okay?”

“Yeah.” I forced a laugh, “just a little tired is all.”

“Maybe you should head to bed early tonight, huh?” She tucked a piece of hair behind my ear.

“No.” I sounded a little more forceful than I had meant to. “I was gonna ask if you and dad wanted to play some games.” It was hard making eye contact with her.

“That sounds great, hun!” She called up the stairs for my dad to come down. “I’m gonna finish loading the dishwasher real quick. I also have some cookies in the oven!” She kissed my forehead then walked back to the sink.

My dad came trotting down the stairs, “Did someone say game night?” He grinned ear to ear.

The rest of the night was a blur. No matter how hard I tried enjoying the last moments with my parents for a while, the bitter taste of truth would bite back. Azha sat quietly in the corner which didn’t really help considering I was supposed to act normal when there was a literal alien in my house. When my parents headed to bed, I hugged them and told them how much I love and appreciate them. I had even started crying and blamed it on being tired. We all laughed and headed to our rooms. Little did they know, they would wake up to my room being empty.

I packed up a few of my things in a small suitcase. Ahza was watching me from the corner of the room. I felt numb. “All done?” Ahza asked as I zipped up my suitcase.

I glanced around my room one more time. I walked over to my bulletin board and unpinned a photobooth picture of my parents and I. After slipping it into my suitcase, I answered, “Now I am.”

astronomyextraterrestrialfuturescience fictionspace
1

About the Creator

Autumn Easley

Writing has always been therapeutic to me. Poetry helps me organize my thoughts and feelings and writing fiction has kept me sane when the real world feels like it's crumbling down. Thank you to anyone who supports my writing. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.