Futurism logo

Thou Shall Have A Fishy

On Being Pisces

By BananaManPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Pisces

I was born on the 28th of February.

“So, if you were born just one day later, then...”

Yes, you guessed it... I would have been born on the 1st of March.

It’s always disappointed people that I wasn’t born in a leap year, and whilst I suppose it would make for a good story, I believe that my being a Pisces should be enough for them, without the added frisson they express at the idea I might only celebrate a birthday once every four years.

Astrology is nonsense though, isn’t it? It must be. Even those ladies who pore over their daily stars must eventually conclude that there are surely only so many tall dark and handsome strangers to go around. The same goes for promises of good fortune; can we really believe that one twelfth of the world’s population will suddenly come into money on a specific day, or meet a long lost family member? I think not.

But reading a definition of what it means to be a Pisces is something I’ve always found almost embarrassing, laying bare my personality and my innermost feelings for anyone to see. I consider myself to be a complex individual, but I can be so easily dissected in a few hundred words.

Pisceans are creative. Yes. I’m an artist, a photographer, a designer and a story writer. And almost every Piscean I’ve ever met is also a creative, even if they don’t see themselves that way, they make things, draw things, write about things or act things out. It also means we’re deeply impractical. So be it.

Pisceans are emotional. Can't deny that. As a male, sometimes to the point of embarrassment. I’ve always joked that if I was any more in touch with my feminine side, I’d have breasts. Having reached middle age, I have to face that I have some modestly proportioned moobs anyway, but that’s not really what I meant. I’m hurt easily, love easily, cry easily, and generally feel things more than other men seem to. I’m sensitive; the kind of sensitivity all girls say they want in a man, just before they dump him in favour of the nearest grunting Neanderthal who will offer them nothing but heartache, frustration, and misery whilst they please only themselves.

Pisceans are pleasers. I suppose I only find true happiness in the pleasure I create for others, rather than seeking out purely personal delights. It sets me on edge when there’s nobody I can do things for, nobody to appreciate everything I want to do for them.

Pisceans are introverts. Also true. I must spend time alone. I’m a thinker, and having the time, the space, and the quiet to consider my many thoughts is essential to explore my real world concerns and play out my part in the fantasy world I create for myself mentally, because Pisceans are also dreamers. Sometimes, fantasy and reality can blend to the point that I don’t really know what’s real.

So it seems dichotomous that Pisceans also enjoy company, and the reward of charming and flirting with others is something devoutly desired. I find it hard to understand the motivations of other people, and this is a way of exploring them, learning about them. And I’ve come to realise that if I strike up a conversation with someone else and find them instantly engaging and easy to be with, they are almost certainly also Piscean. Like seeks like, I guess.

All these things come together to make Piscean men the best lovers. I don’t say this to brag, and I don’t mean just sex. I want to connect to my partner on every conceivable level, and the vulnerability inherent in a loving, sexual experience simply helps to expose all those thoughts and feelings that we tend to hide, so we come together, body and soul. Of course, another Pisces always makes the best partner: a poem of physical, spiritual and emotional synergy expressed so completely as only a Pisces can.

I’m lucky enough to share my life with another Pisces, and whilst this means we both find negotiating and caring for each other’s emotional wellbeing can be hazardous at times, it also means we share an understanding of the deep abiding love we feel for each other, and I can’t imagine life any other way being near so fulfilling.

So that's me. A Pisces. And if astrology has me so accurately pegged, it can’t all be nonsense.

Can it?

astronomy
2

About the Creator

BananaMan

dty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.