Futurism logo

The Sun and Moon

A romantic fantasy

By J WilsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I find an oasis so easily it's like fate led me here. This is fortunate because I could've easily gotten lost running through the jungle blindly. It's not like I planned on making a dramatic exit from my palace, but when I saw him... I despise that my heart races at the memory. In the dim night, a golden glow emits from my copper skin in the form of stylized suns. They're tattoo-like markings I've had since birth, a visual embodiment of my heritage. They're the embodiment of why we can never be.

I kneel in front of the waterfall and splash my face, my heated body causing it to sizzle. I have to return home soon, or my family will worry. I left in the middle of a celebration, which I usually revel in. It doesn't look good for the kingdom when the prince disappears. Not that I'm much of one.

I hear the foliage rustle, and stand quickly, arms raised and glowing with Sun magic. I relax when I see umber skin and pale blue eyes, even though I shouldn't. He's the enemy. But, the rival prince holds such an aura of refinery and gentleness it's difficult not to let my guard down.

"Why are you here?" I ask, scowling as if I plan to attack him. As if I could ever attack him.

"I've never known you to run from a party, so I wanted to make sure you were okay," he replies calmly, so subdued I can't tell if he's teasing or sincere.

"Worried about me?" I tease. "Your father would be outraged to see us together. You should go back."

"My father would be outraged if I smiled in his presence."

The words come so suddenly, delivered with such stoicism, I can't help but laugh. As if in defiance of his father, he smiles at me. I regain my composure and am reminded once again of our situation. My joy disappears and with it, the glowing tattoos over my skin. The Moon prince takes note of this as he looks down at me, and I cover myself self-consciously. I have nothing to hide, Sun clothing is made for showing off our markings. But, when he looks at me, I feel vulnerable.

"Your markings are gone," he says, confused.

"They're influenced by my emotions, when I feel strongly about something, I glow," I explain.

He approaches me, and before I can step back, he touches my arm. "Did I upset you then? You left the celebration after I arrived. I know our families don't get along, but I was hoping we were different."

"I shouldn't be around you. I shouldn't like you. Suns and Moons are rivals, two opposites that could never understand each other."

"I don't see why that has to be. Your magic fascinates me. I'll show you mine, you show me yours. Perhaps we can learn from each other."

He demonstrates by keeping hold of me, his eyes glow brighter as he focuses. They're mesmerizing. Once I tear my gaze away from his, I realize we're floating off the ground, the jungle undergrowth far below our feet. I grip onto him, worried I'll fall.

"Don't panic," he says slowly. "Moon magic takes deep concentration and a clear mind."

Even as he says this, I can feel his pulse race. I sense I'm making him flustered by my closeness. I smirk as he lowers us, the landing less smooth than the ascent.

"No wonder you're so boring, you're not allowed to emote!" I say, chuckling. "Sun magic thrives on emotion. And so do I."

I step away from him and focus on thoughts that make me happy. Dancing, singing, entertaining others, a certain rival prince. I try to shake the last thought away, but it gives the best result. My markings return, empowered by my inner warmth, and in my hands, I form a small ball of light. I gently push it into the night sky. Our sun floats close above us. The Moon prince gawks at it, then at me, and I feel myself blush.

He smiles and pushes his arms forward. Nothing happens to me, but I turn around and notice the water has separated into an arch, the waterfall now flowing up over the rocks sitting below. Though I'm not familiar with Moon magic, I can tell it's not a simple feat. The prince doesn't show any sign of strain unless he's ignoring it to impress me. He goes to stand under the water arch.

He gestures for me to join him, then points to the light I created. I lower it and bring it under the water with me. As I do, it creates a kaleidoscope of color around us, which I marvel at. The Moon prince doesn't take his eyes off me. He smiles warmly at my reaction, the brightest I've ever seen.

"See," he says. "Why be at odds, when we create such beauty together?"

I step closer to him, pressing my hand to his chest. Droplets fall as a hitch in his breathing disturbs his concentration. I look up at him with a sad smile.

"We have to go back to our kingdoms," I say. "Back to being rivals."

"Eventually," he admits. "But, for a few more moments, stay with me. No celebration matches being right here with you."

The light and color reflect off of us, giving us unique markings that don't belong to Suns or Moons. The rainbow arch makes us feel like we're the only two that matter in the world. At this moment, we're not a Sun and Moon. We're just two united souls who made something truly magical together.

"I agree."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

J Wilson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.