Futurism logo

The Metamorphosis of Amani

Part 2

By Set ZekPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
(chapter continued)

Dr. Gupta peered at me in confusion, "I'm Dr. Abi Gupta. You don't seem to be--"

"I know. We can't waste anymore time. Come with me."

Abi paused and hung her head, "I thought you were dead."

Dr. Gupta grabbed my hand before I could leave out the door. Her eyes widened and glossed over, "I never thought I would see you again since the project".

I stared back at her with confusion, "What are you talking about?"

"You don't remember?" Her eyes started to well up. "They tried to wipe your memories, didn't they. I just want to say forg--"

The VLF wipes their soldiers memories at the end of concluded missions to prevent officers from living with extreme PTSD. There were some soldiers as a result whom lost all memories of loved ones in the process.

I pulled the surgical mask from my face and pressed my lips against hers. A rush of ecstasy and adrenaline washes over us. Her eyes raise and her lips open to form "--give..." I trace my fingers around her lips and peered into her eyes. I let my hands fall down her bosom and lightly grab the base of her jeans. Pausing to breathe into her mouth, tasting her lower lip.

"Forgiveness is for the unworthy."

"So am I unworthy?" her lips part an inch from mine.

"I'm going to have to show you sometime again." I said with a grin. Abi smiled with relief and we headed out the Janitor's closet.

She huffed, "That's not funny. I thought they wiped you."

~~~

In the Republic of Koyna, I was transferred from Nairab's Astroid Station researching mithridatism in sea jellies and then later humans. The research lead them to splice the their genes in hopes of creating a superhuman immune to viruses, poisons and nuclear compounds. That's when I met Abi back in 2088 during a PEMF field assessment. I fell madly for her. She was the first person I met outside the pod aside from my other assigned doctors and my superiors. Our contracts to the government prohibits spliced organisms to copulate with humans. Abi and myself did become partners four years later but only on in the Republic of Ceres. They told us that it was a 'conflict of interest'.

I became a science experiment after the bombs fell in 3001 and on the brink of death from a recon mission in Naj that went badly. After managing to escape with an itch of my life. I flown out to our aerial base in near Kaya Forest and was rushed to the hospital. My pieces of my skin was decayed and dematerialized before their eyes. I was immediately put in the tank for an experiment they were conducting on sea jellies and asked if I wanted to join the case study. At that point in my life, I joined the military to support my sisters and serve my country before meeting Abi. I still believe this research was a part of that serving my country. I agreed and signed on the dotted line to be a part of my country's solution. I don't know how long I was put under but I remember opening my eyes from time to time in the pod immobile, weightless and watching the world past me by.

Scientists, came and went like years into the distant past. Then I was let out for rehab and saw her. She would come to the lab to visit me often and at night we would sneak out of the facility to get sometime to ourselves. Those moments in my life tasted bittersweet. I wasn't able to live a normal life. I was stuck training like a guinea pig for the government and I was turned into a weapon. I later broke out of the Institute and joined the VLF (Veterans Liberation Front) that frees veterans from government funded science experiments as it was on the rise after the War. This mission is different because I have to extract Abi from the institute that held me captive and Abi has been secretly working with the VLF for years. So yes, I still have memories. I remember the goal we have together.

~~~

We heard footsteps coming down the staircase so Abi lead me down a dark hall that had seemed to be closed off. Veils over equipment loomed with a heartbeat of glowing chromatic colours of vessels. After winding down a labyrinth of corridors, we came across an old lab room. When we headed inside it smelled like metal and wet rusting iron. There were three tall vessels of with a black sheets over them.

Abi approached a worktable and plugged in a lamp and began to search the drawers, "We're going to need supplies".

I looked at her, "YOU need supplies. Did you forget at that too?"

She turned to me with a blank look on her face and pursed lips, "Bae, go grab a bag." I roll my eyes as I started to pack, "Please."

I was distracted by the glowing purple vessel in front of me. Calling to me from under the black sheet. I asked Abi, "Hey, what is this" as I continue to pull on the sheet. She grabbed my hand and said "I don't think you want to know, Amani."

I stared at her with disbelief and pushed her behind me as I pulled the veil. A person stood there floating unconsciously in glowing purple solution. I started to pull the two others and the same. Clones. They were me. I looked over to the white board and there were formulas with a dark streak smeared on it revealed by the low dimmed lamp. I attempted to switch on the lab light on. The florescent lights flickered revealing rotting dead bodies and coagulated blood stretched across the room, including the whiteboard that read "Operation Talawah".

"What the hell is 'Operation Talawah', Abi?"

She stared at the tank. "A little after I helped you broke out, they made me clone your DNA after to make more soldiers."

"Why..." I said throwing the bag to the floor.

"They have Qwasi, Amani."

____________________________________________________

Follow me on the social media for more updates:

IG: @asetzek

Twitter: @asetzek

***Cover is designed by yours truly.

*** For business inquiries email me @[email protected]

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Set Zek

"In times of chaos the soul is immortal" - Wu Cheng'en

Chaos comes in Tides, so I write about it.

IG: @set.zek

Twitter: @setzek

linktr.ee/setzek

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.