Futurism logo

The Metamorphosis of Amani

Part 1

By Set ZekPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Meeting Dr. Abimori Gupta that was responsible for regenerating the gene asexual splicing amongst humans was supposed to be a cake-walk. She was located in the Research Centre of Bayview Valley Hospital waiting on our arranged but discreet meeting. My contact had told me the only way into the high secured hospital was as a patient. I woke up in an isolated room facing a Nabil Kanso Faust painting. The Encounter with Margeret. The drugs dripping into my IV was just that. An encounter with the abyss. Sinking deeper into the depths of depravity and the unknown. 'Focus.' I thought. The doctor walks in with her shoulder length afro bouncing with the clacking of her 6 inch heels.

"You had quite a long nap, there." She said with a warm grin.

"Who are you?" I stared at her in the pause before she answered.

"I'm the head of our Correctional Clinic of Mithridatic Research, Dr. Peabody. You seem to be poisoned with large doses of urushiol. I'm here to asses you myself."

She approached my IV bag, glanced at the chart and watched her pen move back and forth below her bosom; scratching notes on her clipboard. She then lifted her chocolate maroon eyes and hooked the pen in the apex of her unbuttoned shirt without breaking eye contact. Sweat dripped from my forehead down my temples and attempted to form words only to be stunted by the weight of my upper lip. I could barely speak.

Dr. Peabody removed a handkerchief from her pocket which smelled of ethanol and sat at the side of my bed tracing the sweat from my crown to behind my neck. Absorbed by the disequilibrium from the pools of her irises to the intoxication of her perfume, I managed to grab her wrist and utter, "What are you doing to me..."

A grimace smile crept along her face. She whispered in my ear while grabbing my neck, "S369, you are in my domain. You think I wouldn't find out about you breaking your little girlfriend out of here? She's on an indefinite contract, my dear. You can consider Abi dead."

I struck her head first and knocked her to the floor attempting to pull out my catheter. She got back up and we struggled back and forth on the bed. She was attempting to pin me down and knocked over the IV fluid and finding out the fluid was corrosive, slowly burning a hole into the ground. I kicked her in the chest and pulled out the catheter; bolting out of the room pushing every obstacle in her way. She yelled at security, "Get her!"

I took left and hid in an office closet. Hasty running past the office and yelling continued, "Make sure she or Abi doesn't leave this facility alive!" I grabbed the nurse's uniform, hairnet and a mask, 'I have to find Dr. Gupta.' I searched the halls and all the offices including her office. No sign of her. An automated voice cut on the PA system, "Code Orange. Be on high alert for subject S369. They are highly dangerous and life-threatening. Do not approach. Report to your nearest Board Member, Security Personnel or Medical Official on the whereabouts of this subject. Thank you."

Two security guards approached the other end of the hall and began to walk in my direction. I grabbed a clipboard from off the wall and pretended to glance through it. They ran right pass and watched them leave from my peripheral.

As I proceeded to head down to the basement, I got pulled into a dark maintenance closet at the foot of the stairs. Hot breath emitted from behind my neck. I turned around to come face to face with them. Our bodies conjugated in the confinement of uncongenial silence, fear and anonymity. We hear footsteps patter down the steps. I hold their mouth shut. The person's footsteps come to a stop followed by the door opening to pattering fading in the distance. We leave the closet relieved and gasping for air. "That was a close one.", She said as I turned to face who had appeared to be Dr. Gupta. "I'm Abi. You don't seem to be--"

"I know. We can't waste anymore time. Come with me."

____________________________________________________

Follow me on the social media for more updates:

IG: @aset.zekeria

Twitter: @asetonyx

***Cover is designed by yours truly. Hit me up Onyx Studios for all your branding and design needs.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Set Zek

"In times of chaos the soul is immortal" - Wu Cheng'en

Chaos comes in Tides, so I write about it.

IG: @set.zek

Twitter: @setzek

linktr.ee/setzek

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.