Futurism logo

The devil is knocking(Merlot wins in the end)

Spain Original

By Roberta RussellPublished 3 years ago 17 min read
1
The devil is knocking(Merlot wins in the end)
Photo by Ferdinand studio on Unsplash

There I was in the most compromising position...I new my gut was right, This latest mark was suspicious! At first I couldn't wrap my head around why I felt so un-easy the truth was more obvious than i'd realised, I got smacked full speed in the face, one almighty blow & I was out cold, I woke up prostrated on a bed completely bare! As naked as a new born! Disguise removed feeling like a bloody amateur... For the first time ever I'd let my guard down & I was about to pay the price, how dearly depended on who was doing the interrogating. All the years I'd been an assassin I was always thorough! it didn't prepare me for what happened, I'd always prided myself on my work, my attention to detail, gathering of intel, I'd fucked up royally... especially on my lack of judgement & not following my own original instincts, I was feeling rather annoyed with myself I was royally pissed off, something so simple! it had been staring me in the face all this time & I completely missed the bloody obvious what an utter fuck up, I was beyond the point of being irritated I was pissed! I was seething... when I make it out, this mistake will never be repeated. Fuck how could I not see this one coming damn he was good.... I totally under estimated this Man, I didn't see the enormous picture I doubt anyone would have! Except for one? Igor you fucking snake! He'd kept this major detail out of the files he'd relinquished, A well guarded secret... you wait you filthy little man! There'll be know place on this earth where you'll be able to hide, I'm coming for you... not even the deepest darkest hole will save you this time. I don't know how long I'd been out for it could have been an hour or even longer? Was I underground & how deep Mmmmm the ringing in my ears still rather loud & I couldn't distinguish any sounds, Their were no windows from what I could tell, The light above my head made it hard to see my surroundings the heat coming off it though kept my naked body warm...what hit me a Mac Truck? Whatever it was it hurt like hell my head & jaw were throbbing, It was stinking hot but when bearing your all who gives a damn! As time went on I become more & more thirsty, lucid my lips were becoming dry & starting to crack I made sure not to lick them they'd get worse. I needed a plan! I needed to get the fuck out of here, What were my surroundings? How far underground was I? If that was even the case! All these Un-answered questions... I needed to find a way out, I seemed to be getting weaker, I learn't a technique while being trained when I was younger it's pretty basic really, I started counting from the time I woke up so far I was at 960 which meant it had been 16 hours give or take a few? If I'd been out for an extra 5 that mean't I'd been here for nearly 24hrs! If I wasn't of value they would have knocked me off already & I wouldn't be strapped to a bed... They were after info or they were just some sadistic twisted mother fuckers either way I was still incapacitated unless I got my shit together I wasn't going any where, I'd already spent way to much time lying around & I needed to come up with a full-proof plan.

I was trying to slowly check my surroundings without looking obvious I couldn't ascertain wether or not their were cameras? My wrist's were bound by leather strapping? This was good the more I sweat the softer the leather would become I could work on them, It was imperative to stretch my restraints & hold that position as the light would dry them out & if not done properly they'd shrink making it even harder to get loose, What was on the the floor definitely in some kind of bunker the floor looked grey & sandy, what else could I see...BANG the noise just rang straight through my body along with the cold gust of wind that followed, I might as well be chained to whatever it was that caused the vibration & moved the bed, here we go who is my interrogator? I waited & like before I counted, 200 before this person walked toward me all the while staying away from the light creeping in the shadows so I couldn't see them, I could make out a rough shape, the person looked tall, it definitely wasn't a female to masculine bulky & the walk gave me the impression it was a man well unless I was coming face to face with an Amazon, who knows anything was possible their was complete silence.... Next thing I felt a piece of rag being forced over my eye's from behind I nearly choked from the fumes coming off it, the smell was intense one of dirt & smoke it was pulled tight so I couldn't see anything their was another person trying to trickle something into my mouth no way was I opening up, who the hell knew what they were trying to shove down my throat, what felt rough & masculine were hands shoving a metal prob between my gums not caring if they damaged my teeth, It plied my mouth open enough to get any liquid down, I couldn't spit! All I could do was hold the liquid like a pool the more that was poured the more it ran down my cheeks, then I felt this slap across my throat I had know choice but to swallow this foul tasting fluid, who ever these people were they certainly weren't messing around! I noticed an extremely strong smell of burn't ash, oil & metal under the pungent stench of body odour, their was complete silence...It took to the count of 10 before I blacked out.

I wouldn't have a clue how long I'd been under... when I woke still strapped to the bed it felt like I had a light slip covering my body, There was a cannula in my arm attached to a drip of sorts? Whatever was in it was anyones guess? I felt an unusual sensation between my legs, what the fuck did they do to me when I was out? How long had I been in this state? I had know idea or clue, My eye's were uncovered so I could semi see around me! Once they had adjusted, the light above me didn't seem as hash or bright as before, I was know-longer sweating like earlier. Whatever was being filtered through the drip was making me incoherent & dizzy while keeping me conscious it was fucking with all my sense's & making it hard for me to focus, I was really in the shit! I kept thinking to myself wish they'd just hurry up & get this over with however I'd been through something every similar when I was being conditioned as an assassin maybe not to this extreme, not that I'd remember it was many years ago, That sensation between my legs was a catheter I only came to that conclusion when I'd pissed myself, I remained dry well that was my best speculation. I could have been in this place for days weeks or even month's, Whoever was caring for me was doing their utmost to keep me semi lucid, hydrated, warm & fed, It can only be called caring what kind of nut-job goes to this extreme to protect or even consider a potential threat's well being? If it had of been me I would have completely starved & dehydrated my victim as this made it easier to gather information, anyone who's put under this much duress is more likely to reveal any info! In-fact they'd give up anything if they new they were going to-be rewarded with food or drink, This technique I had always used it worked in my favour when interrogating. This was a completely new interrogation method to me, I wasn't in any condition to complain or to voice my distain as I was kept druged, the whole situation was just absurd to my semi conscious mind. My right arm & legs were released from my restraints however they made sure to keep my left arm strapped so I couldn't pull out the canular or worse, I figured they know-longer saw me as a major threat or thought I was capable of running.... I was hooked up to a constant supply of drugs! I could feel someone around me! My bodies instincts were extremely heightened, I felt them checking my vitals, I was know-longer thirsty or hungry, As fucked up as this seems or sounds I actually felt relaxed and content? Bloody hell I must be loosing my mind....I wouldn't have a clue how long I'd been like this! I woke not as Un-balanced or drugged up like previously, I could actually make out shapes & see movement, a well toned, tan, masculine man approached the bed however his face was covered, what a dickhead his hands were exposed & looking at them I knew who my captor was! It was my bloody contract, he looked me up & down then for the first time spoke "I'll ask a question you answer! if you have a question, You can ask but wether I respond to it or not is another matter, Do you understand" I looked at him with what must have been an expression of confusion as he asked "Can you speak english?" I replied with a squeaky rough voice "Why bother wearing the mask ya bloody toss pot I'm already aware of who you are! You should have covered your arm's as well, I can see the callouses on your hands from hammering iron in your forge" Like that he let out an almighty laugh! Quite frankly I didn't see the humour in my comment it actually annoyed me! The more exasperated I must of looked the more he seemed to find it amusing when he finally composed himself he replied

"Their's obviously nothing wrong with your voice & your english is very explicit, well lets get to it then, I know all about you I've also done my own recon while you've been under, so you were hired by Igor I'm pretty sure you were sent to take me out! what I'm unsure of is why you waited several weeks? according to my source's you don't fuck around, If I've got anything wrong just interject" before he could continue I spoke " Ain't you gonna take that fucken mask off or am I expected to converse with someone who looks like the scarecrow out of that bloody movie, it seems completely pointless & yes so far your on point with your info" he kept looking at me, well I couldn't really tell if he was looking or not...that thing covering his head made it hard to distingush! Seemed like forever before he responded.

This time he didn't seem so calm... I must have hit a nerve! " Everything has a process at the moment the mask stay's on, so you can either continue to answer questions or we'll call it a day it's entirely up to you" I started to wonder why continue to cover his head with that gward awful thing? I already knew who he was or did I? A conclusion I came too, Someone was feeding him information, however there were a-lot easier more tech savvy ways of retrieving intel without having to hide your face though? Was I wrong? Was the person in front of me not whom I was sent to kill? He must have heard the cogs working in my head or my expression's were giving me away! I was pretty good with a poker face so I doubt that was it, however the drugs I'd been under could have altered my perceptions anything at this stage was possible. I needed to keep talking long enough for me to become more aware & focused... " Fine just get to the bloody point will ya, if you've done your research properly you are also aware I don't converse with people unless I'm Fucking them or fucking them up! And your starting to bore me"

"It's a good thing you don't talk much as you've got a filthy mouth, what took so long to take me out" I gave a disparaging snicker "What you couldn't get that info? I wasn't sure if the info package I'd received was accurate and wanted to clarify a few things before I went ahead with the hit, Plus as an added bonus I was enjoying the view! I found you rather amusing at times, I guess you could say I was curious as to why Igor wanted you wasted & why he was willing to pay such an exuberant price for your head....Which was a massive fuck up on my part."

"That still doesn't explain why you spent so much time observing me, why were you hesitating? According to my source's you have never spent this much time on a mark, you've usually got the job over & done with in a matter of weeks from the time you receive the contract & your supposed to be the best! However you spent a-lot longer watching me, Why?"

WTF how did he know i'd been watching him & for how long? There's know way he could have known I was casing him unless......… He had someone observing me & watching my every move, but how? I was thorougher I checked my surroundings for unusual unnecessary attention, I always made sure I wasn't followed! Was there someone out there that was more meticulous than me, a new player on the board that I wasn't aware of? I had all these question's with know answer's, I was becoming more perplexed with every thought, Who the fuck is this man? Better still who was the new player? The longer we conversed the more conscious I became, then it occurred to me i'd forgotten about the other person behind the scene's the one who helped put me in a drug induced state, the one who was asking questions or giving this fella info, I'd almost erased them from my thought's.

Now I had a shitload of Un-answered queries Awwww fuck me I was getting know where, this was so tedious, monotonous it must have shown, he must have been getting just as mentally exhausted as he suddenly got up and went to walk away I yelled "Hey mother fucker we haven't finished yet, where do ya think your going i've got questions and I want answers."

He turned around and replied "Do you really think you're in a position to be demanding anything! Your not going any where and I've got all the time in the world... you on the other hand might not have as long as you may think...It all depends on your behaviour, so if I was you I would try to stay calm & do what I ask" with that he walked out. A few minutes later he re-entered strolled back to the bed and turned my drip up "You'll be asleep again soon, try not to fight it just let it happen that way it will be an easier process" "Yeah whatever you reckon" i retorted with contempt, "How about we swap places and see how you cope with this fucked up situation" he just strolled off all the while laughing, I screamed out "You gutless bastard take me off the drugs and fight me fairly i'll guarantee the only one walking away will be me.... Why are you wasting fucking time get this shit over and done with already" what a waste of verbal abuse it was becoming extremely irritating, I don't know what happened after that outburst! When I woke this time I was really groggy worse than earlier & I was cold in-fact freezing I could see the warm air escaping from my mouth every time i'd breath out, this must be my punishment for my earlier tantrum, Something had to give sooner or later & later had arrived in the form of being frozen to death. Even though I was freezing my arse off the drugs were still doing their job and knocking me out.... At least when I was unconscious I couldn't feel anything which was probably a bonus. I seemed to be in and out of consciousness it felt like several hours but it could have been days, I wasn't able to think or focus I was numb.... I don't reckon I needed the drugs anymore if I could feel, hear, think or talk I would have! The last time I was lucid I thought this is it! I'm dying there done with me and i'm gonna die in this shithole i'll look like a frozen human popsicle, it wouldn't matter i had know one to mourn my passing or to even give a damn, ahhhh my boys they'd be the only one's that might pine for me but then they had the monk so they wouldn't be lonely for long at least the monk would take good care of them they'd never have to worry about money i always made sure that deaf mute old bugger was aware of my secret emergency fund and how to access it just incase, that would keep them well and truly supplied with as much dog chow and food to last a life time, i can't remember what lead me to trust the man i'd known as the monk? i just always new i could. My subconscious was telling me to hang on if that is even possible?

I was semi lucid and I felt like I was floating surrounded by a bath of warmth! While in this state I became aware of arms someone strong they were carrying me, I could hear muffled sounds! I made out part of a conversation "I bloody told you not to go this far we almost lost her to your aggressive technique, your too impatient you fool! Why do I always cleaning up your mess or correcting your fuck-ups" another voice spoke "Shut your trap the bitch is semi lucid, anyway this will teach the cunt for being so cocky" with that I was out again? I felt like i was on a bed of cotton wool covered with something extremely soft and furry or was i just dreaming....It was a nice illusion whatever it was! my eyes slowly opened they felt sore and dry, like i had a bucket of sand thrown in them, i felt someone pull back my eyelids some kind of liquid was placed in then a deep voice gently spoke "Don't panic i've just placed some drops in your eye's this will help with the irritation and help you to focus better.... Some of the side effects of the drugs you've been subjected to can cause some minor issues nothing permanent! however it will take a little time, i wouldn't recommend trying to talk till your completely conscious you'll notice your throat will feel raw, irritated and extremely sore, just take it slowly i'll be looking after you! i know you've got a lot of question's and they'll be answered in time, for now just focus on sleeping your gonna need your strength, before i forget don't try anything stupid... your still confined theirs no way out we've made sure and please be a good little girl the last thing i want is my brother to get involved again, you already know how that nearly ended up, i'll be back soon so sleep"

Brother.... Was the only thing I remember hearing before I drifted off for the thousandth time?

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Roberta Russell

Nothing extremly special about me, i'm a loving mother of two with one grandson, i enjoy life and what it has to offer, i try to be non-judgemental, honest, reliable & open minded

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.