Futurism logo

The Book of Mark

My Thoughts on Mark's Tale of Jesus

By Holly Smith, PastoressPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have always considered myself a spiritual person, never religious though. To me, the words religious and religion sound more descriptive of rituals and traditions; which the Holy Bible speaks against. Being a believer in Jehovah as the true God and Jesus as the Son of God and the Messiah, the Holy Bible is the religious book I choose to live my life by. Where the concept of God intrigues me, the story of Jesus (his life, his purpose, his divinity, and his relationship with God) fills me with fascination.

Where there are many "books" that make up the Bible as a whole; only four of them give detailed accounts of the life of Jesus; they are collectively referred to as the Gospels. Of the Gospels, the Book of Mark is the main one that depicts more of Jesus’ ministry than anything else. Giving direction and encouragement to a specific people, I feel that Mark’s overall message, and tale of the life of Jesus, is like no other. Being said to have been written between AD 65 and AD 68, it is most likely set within the Christian community of Rome and directed at the gentiles or Roman believers. It arranged topically as well as chronologically. (Thomas Nelson Inc, 2006), Mark gives a vivid insight in to Jesus.

The focus of the Book of Mark was not obvious to me at first. My Woman’s Study Bible by Thomas Nelson Inc (2006) says that Jesus’ death and resurrection [as part of His ministry] are essential and central. Mark tells the story of Jesus as if he is giving directions on how truly live Christlike and follow his example. By portraying Jesus in a way that shows strength, yet submission to God, Mark's words are proof to me that a Christlike life truly is possible. Though Mark’s overall message was to spread the ministry of Christ, my understanding of the underlying story is even more intriguing. The attack on Roman Christians was as real as the attack against Christ; and through His example I feel that I have been given the opportunity overcome anything life throws my way. Mark 14:36 (New King James Version) quotes Jesus in His weakest moment; “And he said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for you. Take this cup away from me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what you will.” Where Jesus does ask his Father in heaven to intervene, he also acknowledges that God’s will is what needs to happen, regardless of what it is. This is something that is a concept that I take seriously because it reminds me daily that I am living by and for the will of God and not by my own will.

Though his life on earth was short, the life he lived is an example I choose to follow. From his miraculous birth to his death-defeating resurrection, I view his story as one of courage, faith, and submission to the Father in heaven. In Mark 16:15 (New King James Version) Jesus is quoted as saying “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature” when speaking to the 11 remaining apostles. Looking back, it is obvious to me that this concept and instruction is meant for followers of Christ Jesus today. Striving to run my ministry as was the ministry of Jesus, I have concluded that verse 15 is instructions I should apply to my daily life. Using my ministry to tell others of the goodness of Jesus and his sacrifice is something I refuse to fail at; for as Jesus commands, I shall do. I will go forth into the world and tell his story; baptizing in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit and making disciples of all men (and women).

religion
Like

About the Creator

Holly Smith, Pastoress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.