Futurism logo

The Adventures of Shock Wave

Family Matters Part 2

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Adventures of Shock Wave
Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

Water drooping from the rusted pipes.

Opening up my eyes trying to make sense of my surroundings.

My gaze went up and I saw my family, chained in a cage. Looking emaciated and fighting for life.

The sight of them made my stomach turn in knots. My girls what have they down!

I tried rising to my feet but was pulled back down. As I glanced at my feet, I saw that I was chained to the ground.

It was no use for me to try to charge up, they drenched me and like we all know, electricity and water do not mix.

Life itself was like a vessel and slowly I was being poured through.

Didn’t ask for this power, now they want to pry me apart as if I’m a piece of paper.

But how did it come to this. One second I was fighting for a nation and the next the nation stabbed me in the back.

While I thought I was dead, I was fighting for the Doctor. Do not know what heinous acts I committed and hopefully I’m not in the wrong light with the public.

A nightmare in the reality and as I lay here, I think about the life I once had with my family. Seeing my daughters and wife now with tears falling and heart broken in pieces makes me wish this was just a nightmare and real life.

All of a sudden, I heard a bell and a door opened. In came the Doctor and his entourage. He wore dark shades and had a tooth pick in his mouth. Coming in as if he was the 21st century John Wayne.

My heart stopped as I thought this would be the last my family and I would be alive. This doctor was not a normal doctor. This monster was something out a scary movie. He needs to be rotting away in jail.

“Oh man oh man Clive, look at our boy!” The Doctor smiled and clapped his hands.

Clive and the other henchman came over and hit and kicked me.

The Doctor squatted down by my wife and grabbed her face forcibly as she tried to squirm away and forced a kiss on her lips. Anger boiled up inside me along with the pain I was experiencing from the punches and kicks.

“Aw come on now Mrs. James, you know I’m a better kisser than your low life piece of crap husband. Get ready for the show.” The Doctor said as he stood up and went over to his bodyguards.

Watching his every move, my eyes stayed on him.

“Mr. James here’s your chance to save your family. Just give me what I want. But there is a catch.” The Doctor coolly spoke. Waiting for his next speech, I was leaning on my imaginary seat.

He took off his suit and his shirt. This man trying to fight and he buff. Awww nawl, this is not what I signed up for.

“So, as you see we’re going to fight. With your powers gone it’s going to be an easy win for me and you’re going to die. You must not remember what happened do you. Let me jar your memory a bit. My last name is Jameson and on the mission during the war, I was ready to explode the town but you intervened and dismantle my bomb. You see death is the final result and you got awarded for something my antics and I was dismiss from the marines. Now it’s time to prove the type of leader you are.” The Doctor said.

I remembered him vividly and this man is out of his mind. Even when we were overseas, I noticed something off with him.

“Kids would have died, innocent people!” I managed to scream out before catching a right kick to my stomach. Spitting up blood and trying to stay awake.

“I do not think I told you to talk. Now It’s time to fight, let’s get to it then.” The Doctor chimed back.

Still dripping from the water, I was forced to get up and they cut off my chains.

“You could have just given me the power and had a painless death but I like this way also.” The Doctor said.

The fight commenced with his bodyguards standing on the parameter. Every time I got knocked to the side, they would hit me too and it was hard to fight them and this overly jacked up Doctor.

Regaining my composure, I gave everything I could. Thinking I was making progress by finally knocking him backwards, I was sadly mistaken.

He landed a roundhouse kick to my temple and I nearly blacked out as I hit the wall.

Eyes going in and out as they approached.

“Time to cut off your head. James family watched this.” The Doctor said in an evil tone as my family cried in the background. He held a sharp Katana sword in his head that Clive gave to him.

My life was dwindling away and I had little hope. Right before he swung the sword, I saw a spark from my hand.

Yes, my hand is dry now. Quickly I turned with the energy I had left and met him with an electric shot making him drop the sword.

As they were distraught, I quickly used my powers to get over to my family. Bullets ranged out as I created an electric shield to protect.

“If you catch him kill him!” The Doctor commanded from a distance.

Finally, outside, I managed to break into one of their cars and hot wire it. With my family inside we drove off.

“Dad, I want to go home!” My eldest Tabitha yelled out. Tears falling from her and her sister’s eyes.

Looking deeply into my wife’s teary tired eyes we both knew without saying a word. Holding each other’s hands, we knew that this was not going to be a regular war. I have to kill the Doctor and I have to get society to welcome me back again.

To be continued.

science fiction

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael J. HarrisWritten by Michael J. Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.