Futurism logo

Space Girl

Prologue for a book.

By Juan ManuelPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
google picture not mine. 

2533 - 3/10 – Space Journal – Swimming Bird.

It has been a month after I finished studying at Mars I University. I was able to get a decent grade, since then, I’ve been floating around earth. My mother sent me a message the other day, it was about another stupid family reunion.I really don’t want to go. Not because of my parents but because of the rest of the family, aunts and uncles, cousins, waiting for grandma to die.

Grandma told me the story long ago. My grandpa was a British soldier in WW4, he even won a medal, it's the one framed above the fireplace in the living room. They met in one of the campaigns in Japan. She grew up in this small town, there was a school, a hospital, a corner shop where she used to buy candy and a park where her parents would take her after school, it was in the middle of a valley, everything around there was green, lots of trees and mountains.

When she moved to the city to continue her studies, the war had started. The city was half in ruins, but there was a part where the joined army gathered to aid soldiers with their wounds. My grandma was studying to be a nurse at the time, so that's how he met my grandpa.

- Hey Tomoko, how are you? Your mother told me that you have finished University, what are you going to do now?

I hate those conversations, I really do, but my mother insist that I keep coming to this stupid family reunions. She knows that I hate when people ask me about stuff they don't even care. They don't call me throughout the year but they start asking questions now. Are you dating someone? Are you thinking about getting married? Having children? I don’t want a white dress and a fancy party, I don’t want a gentleman, I just want someone that’s weird, and accepts my weirdness as a part of the relationship, is it that hard to find?

Oh well, at least they've made hamburgers, I guess I'll go inside.

This place hasn't change a bit. The fireplace, the picture of grandma and grandpa next to the medal. The dark purple bookcase where my grandpa stored all of the books he used to read me, the white old framed mirror where my grandma use to brush my hair.

(she smiled and sat down at the sofa, she kept looking around when suddenly grandma came in)

Hey sweetie, how are you? give me a hug.

(she hugs her)

Hi grandma.

My god, you look more beautiful everyday.

Thanks (smiles)

Well, how do you feel?

I'm going to miss him, grandma, but enough of me, how are you doing?

Well, I feel alone now, I'm going to miss your grandpa so much but, time will pass and things will feel better you know?

And the house?

Hmm.. well, I've been thinking about what you brother told me, I might sell it but, it has to be a good offer, or it won't happened.

(tomoko dries her nose and tears with a tissue grandma gives her)

let's go outside, say hi to the rest.

Do I really have to do this?

Yes, dear, go.

Ok..eii...

I went outside, I went through the whole thing, the burguer was good tho but I would've preferred some fries with ketchup.

4/10 - Tuesday - It's raining ... ugh. 8.53am

(she wakes up, she makes her bed, goes to the bathroom, ... , brushes her teeth, showers, and gets some toast bread with coffee. Opens the laptop, plays some music. Dances for a bit, while drinking coffee and takes a bite to the toast.) This is a spaceship, yes.

(A message comes to her phone, she goes to her bedroom, takes it and comes back)

From Elise:

Hey Tomoko, how are you?

I have to tell you, I'm still waiting for my uni results, hopefully everything goes fine. We are going to celebrate with the rest of the class to that new place between Jupiter and Venus. If you want to come, let me know and I will add you to the group chat.

xoxo, Elise.

I’ve been thinking about this all week. What am I going to do after I finish University? It feels like an emptiness inside me, I was able to keep some friends from those weeks of stress and work, they thought I was dead or something worst, blind dating? Oh, hell no.

About the restaurant, well, I checked on my phone and it says they make food from early 2000's from countries they no longer exist. (music and decoration accordingly).

From Tomoko:

Hey Elise, I hope you are fine, I'm just writing to let you know I'll be going with you guys, I can't wait to go to this new place.

Kisses,

Tomoko.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Juan Manuel

I've decided to create a profile on this platform to upload some of my work and see if I can make of this my job one day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.