Futurism logo

Scorpio: Pandora's box of the Zodiac

Hi, I'm complicated.

By Denise ElnajjarPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5

In the astrology world, there's a lot to be said about Scorpios. A LOT. I don't follow horoscopes at all, and I know nothing of what my rising or moon signs are. However, I do think the personality profiles and traits assigned to each zodiac sign are interesting. They can be fun as long as they're not taken completely seriously. We are more than that within the bounds of our star sign.

With all that being said, there's a lot of validity to me being a Scorpio. It makes sense. I'm kind of a jerk sometimes, so maybe the stars did align when I was born.

I was born a few days before Halloween, a festive time for me to celebrate my authenticity by pretending I'm someone else. I love the dark as much as I love light, so Halloween is a fun time to switch gears. I love authenticity, so I'll wear something that exudes a different side of me-- my humorous side, my fun and mischievous side, the side of me that wants to wear a dress in the cold autumn weather.

For someone who believes astrology is a historical artifact giving way to modern astronomical science, rather than itself being scientific fact, I've racked up quite a collection of Scorpio personality traits since I was a toddler. Is it a coincidence? Call it a hearty combination of nature and nurture. Trust issues in my childhood? Check. Quiet kid because of the aforementioned trust issues? Check. Happy alone and also miserable? Check. Social as a bee, but taking a break at a party's bathroom just so I can be alone for a sec? Check.

Now, not to scare you away-- there are many positive attributes that Scorpios and myself exhibit. Determination? You bet, no matter what discouraging thing you say. Loyalty? Undying, unless you mess with me. Intuitive? I'll see right through you, and I wouldn't have it any other way. Resourceful? I'll leave no rock unturned for me to find what I need. Ambitious? Even if I'm on the floor crying, with no more lemons to turn into lemonade.

During this cheery, not at all soul-crushing year of a pandemic, I recently took a personality test to determine which one of the 16 Myers-Briggs personality types I have. I ended up being an INTJ, one of the most rare types (2-4% of the population), as well as the rarest type for a woman (less than 0.5% of women). Congrats to me! I now had further validation, another category that explains the love I'm capable of giving coupled with the category's arduous ability of achieving it. As someone who values few and close relationships (rather than many), it makes sense all too well-- no matter what they say in the zodiac or personality tests! INTJ's are apparently the Scorpios of the Myers-Briggs personality types. 2-for-1 special.

Just playing on the sand.

Scorpios by reputation and description have been assigned a magnitude of depth. We are a water sign, rulers of the subconscious. I can vouch for Scorpios' notoriously emotional, intense, complex inner lives that they feel people might not understand. I have come off as aloof even if I'm secretly falling in love-- my defense mechanisms erecting walls around me. While these are things I'd need to transcend for my own sake, I'd say the rest is pretty okay with me.

Passionate, focused, and loving a certain kind of power-- all things that people that know me well have told me. I admire people with resolve, and whose principles lack hypocrisy. I am sure of who I am. I hate conformity and I'll never agree with something I think is stupid. I hate mediocrity and believe there's more out there for all of us. This too, might be on brand.

Though I've met a lot of great people over the years, I'm proud to know a close circle of friends. And when you have established long-term relationships based on trust, integrity, open communication, compatibility, and the same messed up humor as you, those relationships are for life. I'm quiet, unless I'm with people I love. I'm observant, perhaps even to a fault. And in much of my path I've had to find my way or fend for things in strange circumstances. Being a Scorpio-- if it bears any truths-- for all its faults, serves me right.

I'm usually afraid of arachnids, arthropods, or anything that looks like a giant bug. But when I see a picture of a scorpion and their tail, so specially reserved for the occasional venom, I kind of smile. Almost like I'm looking at a brother or sister, a kindred spirit. They're a little terrifying, and sometimes, I think I am too.

I think astrology has stuck around as long as it has because there's something romantic in finding ourselves and our destinies in the stars. We're not too different from our ancestors across the millennia in that regard, on an eternal pursuit of celestial answers to things we can't understand in our world. We are always in search of a tribe of people like us. We are always in search of our truths, and will always seek ways to understand our failures. Some things, such as these, never change.

astronomy
5

About the Creator

Denise Elnajjar

Fashion + Lifestyle Illustrator, Mixed Media Artist. Creator of The Painted Atlas- tour the world through art!

Love art, reading, music, travel. Here on Vocal I enjoy writing fiction and non-fiction.

IG: @deniseelnajjar

thepaintedatlas.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.