Futurism logo

Project Sol

Will the Sun ever shine again?

By KingSanIIIPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

I shuddered awake. Not from a dream, though I wish it were one. The air was chill against my skin even under all these quilts. It was like icicles forming in my lungs. Little shards speckling my dark curled eyelashes. Through the window only meager sunlight filtered in; weak as if straining to warm the earth. The twinkle of a once radiant smile, now blurred by frost. The glass...its like a slowly shattering prism. The crackle of my fireplace alerted me to the dwindling of the last embers of life sustaining flames.

I scrambled across the busted up floor. Most of it I'd pulled up to use as kindling. Only a few pieces of furniture was left. I chucked a chair leg in and stared. Thankfully the small glow grew, illuminating the room once more. I breathed a sigh of relief, even my breath was startling, I could see the mist come from my lips. I rubbed my gloves together gathering the heat.

My eyes cast onto an old wooden picture frame. Inside sat a photo of my grandfather Oson, a now frail and elder gentleman of tanned complexion, peppered hair, and hazel eyes. Alongside him in the photo was a team of four other scientist and he was holding up a plague for the Sol Project.

My name is Abeni, I'm sixteen years old, and I have dark skin but grey eyes. I've been living in Africa ever since being separated from my family at the start of the incident. It's been ninety days since the sun finally gave out. There was a spectacular moment of awe on the TV. The sky was an impressive light show. As beautiful as it was, over half the planet was devastated with boiling heat as Earth was pushed out of orbit. Before the power failed I got a phone call from Pappy. He told me that we just got clear of our entire planet being engulfed by her. We were lucky but far from out of the woods yet. The scientists had predicted this would happen millions of years ago. There had been countless books on climate change and the sun's lifespan. But nothing can truly prepare you for the day it actually happens. Safe hubs had been erected around the equator, the warmest spots on the planet for survivors to go to. However, Pappy didn't know just how fast it would all happen. What was said to take millennia took months. The sun quickly became a white dwarf, there was hardly any light left in her. But they had a plan. Just like when a person just dies there is still energy left in them. Sometimes with the right source and a little hope you can use a defibrillator and jump start them again. They were going to bring the sun back to life.

Right now they are working on stabilizing the ozone which had taken a massive beating from the sun's rays burning giant holes through it. All that icy blackness from space can just touch us; Earth was like a child without it's blankie.

My only companion right now is Jack. A white Shepherd dog. A whistle called him from under the covers. Around his neck there was a black leather collar and twisted around it was the locket Pappy had given me. It was a delicate piece of silver with intricate filigree. I never understood the pattern on it. It was just strange and nothing I've seen on a piece of jewelry before. Inside was a picture of him and my family. Adoptive mother, father, brother, and Pappy, all smiling back at me. "I'm going to see you all again soon." I said aloud to the picture. Burying my face into Jack's neck fluff. He loves that.

It was time to check the thermometers and log the weather. I plucked ice covered reader from behind the glass. -42F. The temp was scribbled into a notebook. This was a remarkable improvement from two weeks ago when the temperature broke the lowest record in Russia at -90F. Can you believe that? Russian type cold in Africa? I remember what pappy said, to wait until the weather leveled out and make a break for the hub. It could drop again at any moment... I might only get this one shot to be reunited with everyone.

My breathing was heavy and my hands were shaking with nerves. It was time. I had to pack my survival supplies and get to the NASA station, a whooping eighty five miles away. The sack was soon full with all the food and supplies I needed. "One last warm meal before we go." I told Jack. I only had a few cans of beans left in my storage. I hated beans...but it was the only thing left that hadn't expired. Afterwards Jack was suited up in a harness and I wrapped some thick booties around each of his paws. I attached him to a sled and tied the pack down just like Pappy taught me. He was always trying to teach me about science, survival and how to be independent. I thank him every day for those lessons.

The door had to be pried open with a crowbar. It was sealed shut from all that frost and ice. For the first time in so long, I was outside. It was dawn but the sun barely shined. Everything had a grey appearance. Snow was heavy on the ground. Everything was mostly covered. Cars were frozen in place and all you could make out was the shape. Unfortunately, people too; they stood around frozen like statues. They seemed to repel being covered by the snow. Their skin had faded to a pale bluish tint and was eerily translucent. Down to the details of their veins, like dark blue strings. They probably would have been seen as a masterpiece sculpture had they not been actual humans. A shiver ran through me as I looked at them. Each posed and holding their last moments. This is what happened when the first freeze came without warning. It swept through and those not in their homes or at the hub were all turned to ice like this. I was crying but we had to move on. "I have to get to the hub." I kept telling myself. I was wrapped in space blankets underneath a down feathered coat. Hood up, scarf, turtleneck, and three layers of shirts under it, five pairs of thick socks, boots, googles, and gloves.

It was evening by the time we came upon a bridge. We were nearly there but we were both exhausted. Much like the neighborhoods we'd been through, everything was silent and frozen over. Abandoned cars and more unfortunate frozen people. Seeing them gave me goosebumps, they were creepy. My boots crushed over the frosted surface as I cautiously moved across. I couldn't tell what the integrity of this structure was, I knew cold can cause metal to snap in two.

Suddenly, a gurgling sound came from behind one of the cars. I was quick with the flashlight, aiming the stream of light towards where I thought I heard something. An intimidating growl rumbled the snow underneath my feet. I gasped and took a step back as a huge black mass with a orange splash under it's neck came padding into view. It was a Sun bear...but they aren't native to this area. I think a lot of animals that survived must have been displaced as they searched for warmth. A lump formed in my throat and my heart pounded in my ears. It looked hungry. The bear noticed Jack, roared, and charged. Poor Jack!

I scrambled to him to cut his harness off, grabbing his collar and trying to run away with him. The bear was right behind us! As we ran, the bridge squealed, metal against metal like nails on a chalk board; a support beam had given way and a fissure broke rapidly across the surface. I tried to grab Jack...I tried... but all I had left in my hand was his collar. While I was left swinging from the end of my grappling hook over the newly formed chasm. The bear was gone, probably had fallen off the side. It took a lot of effort to pull myself up, it would have been so easy just to let go. Sorrow weighed heavily on my heart. My best friend gone in an instant.

I set the tent up on the other side of the bridge now that I was across and wept for what felt like hours. Night set over the land lowering the temperature. I lost my pack and I was only able to grab a single flare wrapped up in a space blanket. I cut the insides of the extra space blanket and stuffed my clothes to trap my heat. I checked my hands and limbs and noticed signs of frostbite. If I go to sleep here I don't think I would wake up. "I gotta keep moving." Letting loose some final tears I moved on.

I don't know how I made it. Everything was numb and I was half frozen when I reached the sanctuary and let my flare soar over the fortified door. I felt my body hit the snow face first, then sounds, and I was being lifted. Warm hands took me in, cradled my head, heaters were put around me. I cried with joy but also pain. I made it! I was just starting to gather myself when someone rushed up to me and pointed to my locket. "Do you have the algorithm?" I was so confused. "What are you talking about? Why are you pointing at my locket? Pappy gave it to me." I gripped it tightly to my heart. "Oh he didn't tell you did he? Probably for your own safety. It is etched with Project Sol's launch codes. We've been waiting for your arrival." The white haired lady said. I felt my head spinning. "What? Wh...where is my grandfather?" My body felt like it was on fire; the burn from thawing out, but my mind raced. Why hadn't he told me before? "If you are speaking of Dr. Oson. I am sorry dear he went out the gates to try and get you and never returned." My hand clutched at my heart as tears yet again welled in my eyes. "No...I was supposed to see him. He was supposed to be here." The lady frowned and rubbed my back some. "I'm really sorry. But you are the only one who can help us now. You and him will save the world." Sniffle noises and sobbing finally dissipated, I reluctantly passed her the locket.

Some hours later after I collected myself, I was shown into a part of the building where the team was working. There was a giant shuttle in the middle of the room with launching posts all around it. Huge computer screens surrounded it. They had their own generators that had maintained electric power. The lady who I spoke with opened a panel and inserted the locket into the machine. The etched pattern fit perfectly...it was a key. The mechanisms came to life. They explained that inside the capsule was a new core for the sun. They would fire it into space right into the white dwarf and the energy would be transferred and hopefully rekindle the sun. The ceiling panels slid away and just as the countdown was beginning I heard a familiar bark. "Oh look who we found outside." One of the men said with a wide smile. "Ohh Jack you made it!" I crumbled to my knees and grabbed his throat and buried my face in his fur. Above us the capsule shot off into space. Hope glistened in everyone's eyes.

space
Like

About the Creator

KingSanIII

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.