Futurism logo

Post Pandemic II

Headquarters Awaits

By Elijah DavisPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Post Pandemic II
Photo by Jeremy Straub on Unsplash

Even though my father was extremely prominent and elite, I would not be allowed to stay on the base world with my dad.

To say I was bummed would be an understatement. I knew no amount of begging would get my father to agree to allow me to apply for perfect placement. It was entirely too late according to the deadlines put in place by the government.

My father explained that ALL the elite families would be enrolled in the first ever long term living headquarters. It was a space craft the size of a yacht that has all the best equipment to support several members on a "semi- permanent" existence in the simulated world

As you may remember the body of a base universe human has to stay in the base universe world, however the consciousness of the base universe person becomes linked to the physical body in the simulated world. So the truth being I'd forget entirely that I was the base human because of the "semi-permanent" dosage.

The idea of being hooked up to technology while being confused that I was living a real life in a simulated world was quite ALOT for me.

You know hier to the largest real estate investment fund ever yeah now I'd forget that and assume the next world was real.

The simulated world has great reviews and I was excited about going BUT it was meant to be entertaining to feel just real enough for people to get through the experience in our decaying base world.

As dark and terrible as things have become in the base world it was still the only real world in my book.

Forgetting who I was and the base world was the biggest issue to me. I could imagine myself feeling humiliated not knowing the world I thought was real was completely fake.

Against all my wishes I was enrolled in the process. In three days it would be completed and I would forget my parents and every experience I had ever had in the base universe.

Once I was in the simulated world that world would seem completely real to me.

As my Dad negotiated economic territory for himself and his businesses within the bubble, pod and block communities, I was facing the harshest reality alone.

The night before I headed to headquarters I had a knot in my tummy.

I knew my wishes were selfish because everyone had the same wish. I wished things could go back to normal.

But my dad's annoying famous quote came to mind he must've said it 1000 times as I've complained about head quarters.

"The first one to embrace change is the first one to take advantage of it"

I couldn't even imagine losing the memory of my dad, it's like losing myself.

Of course anytime any one asked me if I was excited for headquarters I would fake my best smile and nod enthusiastically.

Nobody would agree or understand my hesitation. The worst part was that there was such a long waiting list of so many prospects and only half of us were accepted.

I was considered immensely lucky to get my spot. To be honest it had less to do with luck than it did my family. I couldn't help but ponder for a moment if that had anything to do with the way things were going in the base world.

With all the hype on the perfection of the simulated world I would've sounded crazy to tell anyone but my dad the truth. Also it was such a highly anticipated program that if news would've gotten out about my hesitation all the people who were not accepted would have been begging me to give up my spot.

Or worse the way crime was on the rise I could've been in serious danger if my true feelings came out in public.

Eventually I slept the night away.

artificial intelligencehumanityevolution
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.