Futurism logo

Only Time Will Tell

"I'm just hoping we did some good for them as well."

By Michael CronePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I sit back and breathe easy as the Earth disappears below me. I swirl the absinth in my cup a few times before downing the rest.

"We did it." Jaku smiles. He reclines in his seat as the craft carrying us ascends higher.

"Yes we did." I murmur. I smile to myself. Proud of what we have accomplished. "Congratulations." I glance out of the window and watch as the clouds pass by. The city below turns to a glistening metal jungle in the midday sun.

"Now we only need to wait and hope that the Earthlings do what they are supposed to." Jaku pours himself a drink.

"It is out of our realm of worry at this point. We've done what was asked of us. Now it is time to return home."

"Correct." The light hum of the engines fills the silence between us. "I have been unable to see my family for four years. Only basic communication." Jaku smiles again. "I'm excited to see them all. Nervous as well." He takes a drink.

"Yes. It has been hard." I reply. "I've missed my family as well." I glance out of the window again. The sky has begun to fade from sky blue to navy.

"Do you ever think of the time we have missed?" Jaku gazes out of the window as well. "How our children have grown without us? How we might return as strangers?"

"Everyday." A jolt. I latch onto the arm of my chair, squeezing the leather in my grasp. Jaku laughs at me. A few more jolts and then, weightlessness. I grab my glass before it can float away and press a button on my watch. Everything in the cabin drops back to normal. "Sorry. I should have had that switched on already."

"No worries." Jaku is still chuckling. "It's been awhile. I'm surprised I did not throw up a belly full of absinth."

"I'm surprised and also thankful." We both chuckle before resting a bit in silence, watching as atmosphere turns to space. "I truly believe what we've done will be worth it. Even if we don't see it come to fruition in our lifetime... our children will have a sustainable future." Jaku sits back and thinks for a moment.

"I believe you are correct. It will be most beneficial for the future of our planet to establish this currency connection." He shrugs. "The least we get out of it is our names renowned."

"I'm not sure many average Jupitarians will take interest in such histories."

"They will when they are all rich." Jaku and I have a great laugh. Once we settle he continues. "You are most likely correct. Only the future will tell us if what we did was successful, but if you and I both have good feelings... I believe everything will be for the better." Nodding in agreement I rise and walk to the opposing window. I know there is a chance this last four years establishing our currency on Earth could all amount to nothing, but I wished not to spoil the celebration.

"This is always my favorite part." I gaze down upon the green planet as we continue to distance ourselves. "So beautiful."

"I'd rather have our peaceful society and our bad weather over their green hostile environment anyday." Jaku tosses back the remnants of his drink. "Everything wants to kill you down there." I chuckle lightly and return to my seat.

"I suppose you are correct." I open the absinth and pour us both another drink. "I'm just hoping we did some good for them as well." Jaku shrugs.

"Only time will tell, my friend. Only time will tell." He raises his glass. "To the future."

"To the future."

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michael Crone

Fiction, Poetry, and everything in between. Hints of life and love. The world we share comes to life within the words of the page. Thank you for taking the time to read. Enjoy <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.