Futurism logo

My Review of "Psychokinesis"

A great Korean superhero movie that I'm surprised I haven't heard of.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was perusing the Netflix library for some Sci-Fi movies and the title Psychokinesis showed up. The trailer looked pretty funny but it was all in Korean. Whatever. I thought I'd give it a try anyways and I'm actually really happy I gave it a chance.

All I knew about it was that there would be this guy that gains superhero powers but I didn't think they'd have such a good story to follow this character.

The movie actually starts with character named Roo-Mi, played by Eun Kyung Shim. She and her mother have a fried chicken restaurant and it's done fairly well. At least it did well a few years back. Fast forward to present day and the restaurant is in this district that they're trying to demolish for bigger commercial buildings. Roo-Mi and her neighbors are fighting these thugs that are trying to force them out so that some bigger corporation can take over. Unfortunately because of one of their scuffles Roo-Mi's mother gets into an unfortunate accident that results in her death.

Meanwhile, there's this guy named Seok-Heon, played by Seung-Ryong Ryu. He's a janitor that doesn't seem to have much in his life. He's a middle aged man stuck in a dead end job with nothing to look forward to. He doesn't have much money so he does what he can. While he was hiking one day he drank some spring water that had been tainted by a meteorite. He gets sick and then discovers he has telekinetic powers.

Roo-Mi calls Seok-Heon to let him know that well Roo-Mi is his daughter and her mother just died. She was wondering if he'd want to go to the funeral. He decides to go to the funeral and that's when a whole bunch of drama starts. He wants to start fresh with his daughter however after years of neglect his daughter isn't necessarily receptive of his affections.

Pretty soon he realizes that he can use his powers not only to make money but to help his daughter and their neighbors. That's when the story bends into a different area.

I like how Seok-Heon is very innocent to the powers that he has and still seems to be an honorable man. He's pretty much an idiot but that's one of the endearing qualities about his character.

It was very nice to see that they had the villains in this movie use the media to go against the hero. They try to make a statement that superhero powers are great but they are no match to the power of social media and the press. They're able to play around with public opinion on things and they had fun with it.

Of course, this isn't a super serious movie either. There are a lot of funny scenes to this movie. I liked the joke where they claimed that Seok-Heon was given his power by the North Koreans. I know it was in Korean but I even laughed when they pulled that joke out of their bag.

This is a very charismatic and enjoyable film. It's got a lot of love and life in it. I cared about all of the characters, even the minor characters. They all seemed to be genuine and I liked how innocent this whole adventure was. All the characters had their faults, keeping them from being one dimensional characters. I really hope that they have a sequel to this one but they don't really need to have one though.

Overall, this was a fun ride from start to finish. I enjoyed the fact that the hero was never in full control of his power. He struggles with his powers and only uses it when he really must. All of the characters in this movie are great. It's a great time to be had by all. I have to give this movie an 8 out of 10. For those that are looking for a superhero movie with a little twist. I think this is perfect for you even though you don't recognize anyone.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.