Futurism logo

My Review of "Time Trap"

A Sci-Fi Netflix exclusive that believes they are going to get a sequel.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

This whole weekend I've been binging on what Netflix has to offer in terms of science fiction movies. I'm actually surprised at the amount of films they had available. Especially since they were interesting concepts of movies.

I found Time Trap on my suggestions list as I've been watching a lot of Sci-Fi lately. This one came out in 2017. It seemed fairly interesting, I'm always a sucker for time travel movies.

Time Trap is sort of like a Goonies advanture. It's about a group of kids: Cara, played by Cassidy Gifford, Jackie, played by Brianne Howey, Taylor, played by Reiley McClendon, Veeves, played by Olivia Draguicevich, and Furby, played by Max Wright. They're out in the middle of nowhere to explore a cave that their teacher, Hopper, played by Andrew Wilson, had disappeared from. The only clue that they have is that his car had been abandoned near the cave for a while.

Right out of the gates this movie kind of got into a mess. I didn't really see the real significance of inviting the two kids, Veeves and Furby. Veeves is Cara's younger sister so I guess she tagged along but really I didn't understand why Furby had to go with them. I guess because he was Veeves' friend? It all necessary for the story I guess but it was kind of weird that they were there in the first place.

So the kids all descend into this cave and somehow the rope gets severed when they all arrive into the cave. This is also kind of weird if you know why the rope was severed. There are a lot of holes in the story and I just went with it.

They all get trapped into the cave and they realize only after they find their dead friend Furby (I know it's pretty confusing at times) They discover that the cave is in fact a time trap. I guess that's the meaning behind the name. Time moves incredibly slow in this cave compared to the rest of the world. They realize they've been there for ages despite the fact that they've only been there for a few hours.

Soon they encounter some hostiles in the cave who they have to fight off. They even find certain individuals that they didn't expect to find in this cave. It kind of goes everywhere and yet some of it works.

They were right to add certain hostiles in the cave as this cave has been on earth for ages. The healing process that they discover in the cave is kind of works too conveniently for their own advantage.

The whole story is about the group of friends trying to get out of the time trapping cave and figuring out what to do next since years have passed by since they've entered the cave.

Luckily this movie ends with a proper ending however it kind of ends off with a cliffhanger as well. It's as if they were betting on themselves to have another movie after this one.

I have to admit that they had some interesting ideas in this movie and some of it was well done. The acting in the movie for the most part are good because they brought some life to their characters. However, the overall feel of the movie felt like it was a made for TV movie or at least should have been a TV series instead of a movie. This could have been a good pilot for a TV show but it was it's own movie.

I still enjoyed watching the movie though. The only thing about this movie was that it had a few holes in it. The water healing people was a bit of a hole on its own. Especially with the ending. There was even a scene where Hopper gets out of the cave and the next thing we know he's down for the count in the cave. They never explained anything. Why were certain people saved but others weren't? Actually, the ending itself brought up so many questions.

The special effects were kind of Dr. Who like special effects. They're pretty acceptable in a modern TV show kind of way. I didn't expect much though. They did well with what budget they got for this movie.

Overall, I thought this movie had pretty interesting concepts that I would like them to play more on. The only thing is I don't know if they'll be getting a sequel. It was a fun time despite the massive holes in the story. I wished they kind of reviewed the movie before releasing it on Netflix so early. I have to give this movie a 6 out of 10. It's got good concepts but it was a really muddy effort overall.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.