Futurism logo

My Review of 'Lucy'

An interesting science fiction idea. Does it work for me? Or did I hate it?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I've wanted to watch the movie Lucy for quite some time and it's been out for ages. I just never got the chance to. I believe it was on Netflix soon after it had exited theaters. I remember being very excited about that and put it on my watch list. Sadly, I never had the opportunity to watch it and it was removed from Netflix not too long after. Recently, it's been placed back into the Netflix rotation and I decided I wasn't going to wait for it to be removed again.

Lucy is obviously about a girl named Lucy. She's played by Scarlett Johansson. Lucy is a girl struggling with her studies in Taiwan. I know that just sounds weird already, but I'm going with it. It could possibly because they got investors from Taiwan to fund the film or something. Much of the beginning is filmed in Taipei and which is weird but I just went with it. So Lucy has this scumbag of a boyfriend that somehow gets her to bring this suitcase of drugs to some Korean mobster kingpin. The movie continues to get crazy. Again, just go with it, or else there's no story. Everyone involved gets killed except for her and they decide to use her as a mule to distribute the new drug that she's carrying.

In order to mule this new drug, these mobsters decide to sew the drugs into their human mules and fly them to different destinations around the world. Lucy is so lucky to be one of these mules. She's now a mobster's prisoner. One of the mobsters somehow fails to sexually assault Lucy despite the fact that she's restrained and everything and he becomes so angry he decides to beat her down. During the beat down, Lucy absorbs the new drugs into her, giving her the supernatural ability to use the full capacity of her brain. I also found it funny that while she gains these super abilities, the mobsters suddenly disappear and do not notice that she's emitting light making crazy noises and floats in mid-air.

It's a lot to take in. There is a lot of craziness that is going on in this movie. I think this movie came out not too long after the movie Limitless, which is also about a movie where the main character utilizes the full capacity of his brain as a result of a new drug and has mobsters looking to take back their drug.

I don't know what to make of this movie. I find that it's an interesting concept but it wasn't entirely executed nicely for me in this movie. Yes, the whole movie was coherent and kind of fun to watch but it wants to do so much. In some ways, it feels like it's supposed to be a music video or YouTube video and not a movie with all of the cutscenes that keep popping up. They continually do this throughout the movie and at times it is very distracting. I understand the concept and why they did it but to me, it felt really out of place.

The scenarios that happen to Lucy at times seemed a little far fetched. She has all of these powers and sometimes she does some weird stuff that doesn't seem consistent with the way that she's been acting throughout the movie. She's so powerful yet she doesn't use her powers to her full potential. Despite being super smart, she does some (in my personal opinion) really stupid things.

I can see back when this movie first opened there was a ton of eye candy to see in this movie but today some of the visuals can seem somewhat dated as well. Some of the concepts can seem kind of corny to today's standards as well. That's not to say that they don't have some interesting concepts—they do. Just that the majority of the movie can seem like they were trying a little too hard and by today's standards, it can seem kind of amateur.

Overall it's all about whether the movie is entertaining or not. Yes, it was entertaining. I did have a good time despite all of the craziness and all of the cornball moments. The problem is that this movie doesn't age that well. I would have to give this movie a 7 out of 10. I think for those that haven't seen it yet, it's worth a shot to give it a try. Don't let my review scare you from watching it. I think you can still have a good time but you'll probably understand what I'm talking about by the time you finish the movie.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.