Futurism logo

Missing our pets

The loss of special beings in life

By April Liao Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Missing our pets
Photo by Jay Wennington on Unsplash

I went to pick up Ethan finally the happiest thing in my day . Everytime I drop him off one of two things happen. I cry or get angry. With that being my best friend . I just always miss his presence. I miss his smile and his laugh . I miss his sassy attitude and the way he has a mole on his ear. His smile brings me joy . His life is the biggest blessing I’ve ever been given . Having him was one defining moment in my faith of god. It was the first time I looked at someone and my soul felt so happy . My estaticism is never low with him . I love him . He is such a big hearted person and I never met someone with as big a heart as he has . The holding from his little fingers. The joy when he says my name . My heart is overwhelming happy to be called his mom .

Blessed is a understatement. It’s big blessed with him . When I go to get him I can’t wait to see him . Those things make my life happy . My biggest treasure and my life . I walk outside and was using my pad for writing . I forgot what I was doing . I usually use the Google maps to get directions . I kept asking “ Where am I ?” Looking and thinking on it it’s very funny . I laughed about it later . What a good question though where was I . I went to the bus and asked her . “Just get on the bus .” She said I got on worried I would miss the stop. We were there . On time and everything was ok. It goes to show you everything eventually works out in somehow . Someway things piece together even when you think it won’t . I finally saw my son and immediately I was happy . So happy I couldn’t even contain my joy.

What a life what a blessing I am so lucky . “ How was school?” I grabbed his cute little hand and held it . Overzealous and estatic how did it happen?How did I get such a miracle ? I look at the way his hair sticks up in one place and I smile . I look at his teeth when he smiles . And I think wow this person is so beautiful. I’m so proud to know him . His intelligence alone sometimes has me in a place of awe. But him just being him is even more magical. The synapses of him and I the growth of our minds and learning together . The love of a mother and son is the most boundless love . And thank god for his love . The only person who is like that . He got upset . “Get away from me .” “ What happened ?” Always my first question . I always check first that he is ok. “Nothing happened .” He looked down sadly . “I miss my pets.” We had two beautiful dogs and three cats before . Undoubtedly the cutest and funniest pets who ever existed. “We will get new pets and they might not be the same .” “But I promise you’ll love them” The talk of missing pets happens off and on all through the weeks. We really loved our pets . My dog Emma who had long floppy ears and would always bite us . She reminded me of a lanky long uncordinated but free spirited person . I always pictured her carrying serving trays and wearing roller blades. We got Emma after our dog sugar and she was so cute and chubby. She would always look at us like really this was the bright idea . Getting this dog . She reminded me of a teenager . Only needing me when it stormed .

Emma always would bite us off and on . I would look over she had the hugest smile on her face. I’d say, “Are you a dog or a dinosaur ?” An understanding makes the world go round . Brings people together and animals alike . Our cats Jimbo, Nano, and Quincy. Jimbo was the youngest and biggest cat. He had orange and dark orange stripes and would train like he was a part of the cat Olympics. I could always find him popping out of places. Zooming back and forth all the rooms . Running upstairs and then downstairs . I’ll never forget nano he was my soul cat . I miss him so much . That was a hard time losing my cat . Quincy jones was a white and black cat it was like a little moustache. I would call him funicy jones . I would pick him up and go to give him a kiss. He would push my face away with his hands in the funniest way . He would smirk and I’d give him another and he’d smile even bigger. These animals were so precious . I loved them so much . So I understand exactly how he feels .

Nothing but pure love radiated from those animals . I miss them . He said , “We will have lots of animals .” “Can we have a bunny I asked?” He looked at me with a huge smile . “Only if I can have a dog.” We agree to disagree to have a dog. I always end up obsessed with them but know the work they entail. And I plan on traveling a lot . Me and my son hand and hand exploring . Eating all the best foods , creating and loving life.

future
Like

About the Creator

April Liao

I am a multi faceted person on a spiritual journey and learning on the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.