Futurism logo

The suspense

Chapter one

By April Liao Published 2 years ago 3 min read
The suspense
Photo by Raul Angel on Unsplash

It was a cold summer morning . I knew it would get warmer later . But the moment I woke up it felt like ice on my arms . I was struggling to open my eyes . “Good morning and wake up everyone” Every morning Andrew gleefully woke us all. A very sarcastic humor but its always a good laugh in the mornings. We woke up got Ethan ready for school . “ I want to ride the bus myself .” Ethan groggily complained. “I’m only your mom once Ethan.” I complained, “I’ll miss you .” “I’m walking you to class.” I got my pink coat on . The zipper on it broke but it still had buttons . They always were mildly open, the spaces in between the buttons . I walked him there early . We even waited for a while .” I never expected to be in Illinois . I left here a long time ago . I was living in Florida the home of palm trees and the happiest places in the world . I’ll admit when I was there I had to pinch myself a lot .

Growing up in Illinois anytime we’d go on vacation me and my step brother would beg to live there. Whether it be the great wolf lodge at Wisconsin . The theme parks at universal but never was it as magical as life when I got older. I found the things I knew were there when I was a kid . That deep void I felt that was missing . It wasn’t missing anymore I found it . I found the eternal energy . I found a real true connection to god . I felt amazing and happy . I felt very different then I ever had . And I knew it would never be the same . So if you too are feeling that missing feeling know you will find it . Ethan deserves the best most elaborate birthday party . I want to throw it in orlando . And give him everything he wants . He’s been through a lot he deserves it . Both of us we both deserve the best . I know one day things will not be stressful again .

I’m slowly getting there slowly by slowly . I’m building a better life for the both of us . I want to get the biggest cake that’s vegan he’s ever seen and make the best life for him . I want him to have the best of everything I love him. Dreams sure do take time but will be worth it . I’m so ready for that great life. I’m happy now so I know I’ll appreciate it when it comes . I bet the vegan restaurants have multiplied so much since I’ve been there . They have Dixie dharma and that was so delicious and amazing . It was a southern themed barbecue restaurant. It is all vegan and the only ones are in Florida .

I look at pictures from the biscuit company it’s all vegan and just dream of their sandwiches . I love breakfast sandwiches and it has been so long . I want a delicious vegan breakfast biscuit more than anything . It’s called winter park biscuit company . It is pretty popular in Florida and I haven’t tried it . Go to ethos vegan restaurant and get vegan pancakes . It sounds so good to me . I want pancakes so bad I really do . I love pancakes. With syrup and vegan butter. All stacked nicely and uniform the pillowy pieces of dough . Intricacies of my deepest feeling of comfort . I would go on a eating spree . And spend my days with Ethan working out and eating . Maybe teaching him from home . That’s a great dream of mine . To be with my son everyday, all day with no disturbances. In a beautiful home . And helping people with their lives. I miss him when he’s in school. It is not my favorite time . I want us to play have fun and just enjoy life . So I’m thinking how can I change my life right now to benefit our future . I know I dont want it to be the same so I have to change . I have to do different things .

Still waiting to go get my best friend I’m waiting very impatiently . The clocks chirping is inevitably the marker of time. Slowly but surely going and going around until I get to see my beautiful son. My wonderful son . My treasure and peace .

fantasy

About the Creator

April Liao

I am a multi faceted person on a spiritual journey and learning on the way.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    April Liao Written by April Liao

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.