Futurism logo

Into Darkness

Who Am I?

By Ashley ShiflettPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
13
Into Darkness
Photo by Nowshad Arefin on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I can hear everything. A vibration of noises sings a disturbing melody all around me. I feel as though something terrible has happened, but my mind is entrapped in confusion.

Am I sitting or standing; I hardly know. Everything is numb, and all I can see is darkness. I still have my memories. Fragments of a life before. A life I knew and loved.

I can remember sun flowers and their sweet smell drifting through the air. I recall the warmth of summer on my face. As I am pulled into the memories, I begin to visualize others that where there. Loved ones? I can hear laughing and singing. I see someone posted at the grill. The smell of caramelized sugars and roasting meat dance in the air. This is someone I knew, someone I loved.

Dad?

Slowly, the smell of fire begins to grow. The yard gets brighter as flames envelop everything around us. All of my comforting emotions are consumed by the fear for the people I hardly know. I immediately turn to them.

They are gone. No one is there with me. The smells are gone and colors fade to black. I am back where I began. I smell nothing. I hear nothing.

I try to move my body, but I cant. Am I paralyzed?

Out of the silence, an orchestra of noises consumes my senses. Buzzing, scraping, grinding. I begin to feel emotion again. What is this? For a moment I feel that I am not supposed to be here. Then, the whispers start.

I hear thousands of voices whisper in repetition. What they say I hardly know, but I feel the words as though I can understand them. They speak calmness. They speak peace. But it all seems wrong. A flash of light bursts through my subconscious and suddenly, I'm there once again.

I remember. The brightness of fire surrounds me. The earth is burning, and with it, peoples' ashes drift through the air. The earth around me is covered in blinding light. As meteors fall, I close my eyes and let the light take me. In this stillness in my mind, I sense something is there. I feel the rush of calmness settle around me.

I need to open my eyes. I have to see the end.

It's not something that is there but someone. I try to recognize who they are. They are cloaked and covered in white. I then realize a midst the chaos that they aren't human. Slowly, gliding across the scorched ground there are dozens of these same figures ushering people to safety. Is this real?

As the fragments of my memories begin to pull together, everything stops.

And then, I fall.

Into darkness I am plunged. I fall for what seems like a lifetime. And then suddenly I can hear everything all at once. The screams consume the void surrounding me; they're so loud. While I don't understand, I begin to feel anger, fear, and sadness. All of these emotions form into one encompassing me.

The whispers begin again. This time, they are different. They tell me to move. Somehow, without any control of my body, I stand for them. "Open", a whisper echoes throughout my mind. My eyes open effortlessly and I can see. I attempt to turn my head or move my eyes but I cannot. I can only look forward. I try to scream but my mouth won't open. I begin to reach for my mouth, but my arms won't move. I'm stuck in this battle with my body. However, through all of this, I'm still moving forward. I walk through a long, unfamiliar hallway. Everything is white but the lights are dim. A doorway stands open in front of me, and something in my mind makes me enter it. Rows of human parts are laid out before me. I want to be afraid, but somehow, I feel nothing. My body continues walking and my head looks to the left. I see something unnatural. Humans that no longer have flesh; They are metal. A man screams, clawing at a metallic plate where his arm once was. A machine lowers from above and begins to scorch off parts of him. After a few moments, nothing remains.

"Last moments", I hear another whisper. My head turns to the right, and there's a large glass pane. I peer through and see space. Swirling lights move across the darkness. Is this beauty? I can't remember. I take it all in hoping to feel any emotion at all. I press on, staring into the void; yet I remain numb.

My mind is pulled towards it.

Is this the end? I wonder.

"No."

extraterrestrialhumanityscience fictionspacetranshumanismbody modifications
13

About the Creator

Ashley Shiflett

I have always had a passion for writing.

I hope to share my love for stories with everyone that I meet. I'm hopeful that in some way they will motivate you, help you smile, or even encourage you through a difficult time.

All are welcome!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • wow...

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!💖😊💕

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    I loved the opening and wanted more.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Angel Whelan2 years ago

    Creepy and scary and emotive. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    I’m certainly intrigued with the happenings. ❤️

  • I love the concept of this and enjoyed it, you have a subscription too

  • Brin J.2 years ago

    You use every sensory perception available and it really makes the reader relate to the experience. I’m just so mind blown over this. It’s incredible.

  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    The end of this reminded me of a recurring dream I have! It was a great read!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading your story! I was intrigued by the concept and wanted to keep going with it. You brought up a lot of great questions that kept me engaged. Well done :)

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Great job, loved the imagery!

  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    This very easy to read and to follow. But yet the journey is a mystery that will keep many wondering well past the end. Like the persistent flavour of a fine wine.well done my friend. Thank you for the experience. Best wishes and good luck 👍

  • Danielle Tittle2 years ago

    Love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.