Futurism logo

I'll Do It From Hell 2

Or Maybe Not

By Om Prakash John GilmorePublished 3 months ago 4 min read
Like
by Ricky Esquivel: https://www.pexels.com/photo/brown-field-under-blue-sky-2986509/

I sat in the park watching the children play. I couldn't tell the difference between the children from other planets and the children of what seemed to be Earth, even though I knew it was no Earth I had ever been on . Firstly, everything wasn’t bombed out like the Earth I was from. We were at constant war. There were no parks, no cities, mostly underground tunnels and holes we live in with very few buildings left. Living above ground involved a measure of recklessness.

I had been part of a movement trying to reclaim the surface. The war had slowed down, there had been treaties, and in our area, not even a country anymore, but an area, we were supposed to be in a safety zone. Like every other treaty though, it was a lie. A wall falling on me told me that. But…this other stuff, all of this weird stuff with jumping timelines, dimension, Hell and all of that…I had never even imagined any of that. I wondered if I was dead. Maybe this was Hell. Maybe it all was Hell.

Had I ever seen a place that wasn’t Hell? It was harder to believe in a heaven than a Hell, because that is all that I had ever known. Even so, when sometimes I would seem to get a glimpse of heaven it would be snatched away to disappoint me more than if I had not seen it. What was this madness? What was it all for?

We were on a world of blood suckers, but it seemed that my world had always been one of blood suckers, except on this one they were more honest. They were really sucking your blood. The other Earth, if there was really such a thing, was just sucking your life force in a different way. I continued to watch the children play wondering which were the humans and which were the strange aliens who had taken over.

As I sat there watching I noticed some people cruising around the area. I only noticed because I still had the memories of living in a war torn city where one always had to keep one’s eyes open and be aware. There was a tall black man and a white woman with red hair standing near some bushes just at the edge of the playground straight across from me. A very tall woman with blond hair stood to the left of me, far away. She was constantly looking around and moving. I saw her glance at the two people at the end of the playground. They gave her a slight nod.

She looked at me and began to walk in my direction. She reminded me of someone. She reminded me of a crazy woman I dreamed about while in my coma who claimed to be Uriel, an angel. I wondered what was happening. The park was full of people so I didn’t think she would attack me, yet again, I was living in a world where sucking people’s blood was seen as being normal. What could be more tragic than that. She stood over me, looked down, and smiled. She took a seat.

“I know you remember me,” she said. She looked at the children playing. “They almost look normal, don’t they?” She turned to me and smiled… a twinkle in her eye. “Well, here we are again. Why do you always have to do it the hard way?”

“Who are you?”

“Don’t ask that. You know exactly who I am. I should be asking the questions like, what’s your plan for getting out of this? You are really screwed. You’ll die though, if that’s any consolation, and then start over someone else. Hell though? Yuk. Never thought I’d see the place.”

“And you are… supposedly an angel in Hell. How does that work?”

“I’m your guardian angel, Dummy. Where you go I go.”

“But to Hell. That’s ridiculous.”

“Yeah, isn’t it?” She asked with a grin. “Truth is, you don’t belong here. You’re not a citizen, so I am still here as your guardian.”

“You haven’t done such a good job yet.”

“I’ve just started. You’re the one who requested to be in Hell. Don’t get all testy with me!”

“I don’t remember such a request.”

“You said you’d rather carry out your life mission in Hell. Well here it is. Now what will you do?”

“Nothing.”

“You’ll do something or things will just get worse. I can see them eating your entrails in the future and letting them grow back. This is Hell, not an alternate Earth. Don’t you get that?”

“I’m starting to. Should I become a Buddhist or something? Maybe a born again Christian?”

“You’re in Hell. That ship has already left. You better find a like minded group of people and try to create something pleasant here. That’s all you can do. You’re on your own now, unless…unless you want to change your mind.”

“I do!”

“I thought you would.” She looked across the field at the two standing there and gave them a nod. Everything blanked out and I found myself sitting in a chair in front of the long table across from them. I had been gone for months. I brought my hand up and covered my face. I almost wept until a big outburst of anger swept over me. They really didn’t care.

End Part 2

humanityfuture
Like

About the Creator

Om Prakash John Gilmore

John (Om Prakash) Gilmore, is a Retired Unitarian Universalist Minister, a Licensed Massage Therapist and Reiki Master Teacher, and a student and teacher of Tai-Chi, Qigong, and Nada Yoga. Om Prakash loves reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.