Futurism logo

I Am You & You Are I

See You In History

By PoetrybylaviePublished 4 years ago 23 min read
Like

Hello! my name is Kangè. I am the son of Juma and Fatou and today is the day i join the Ancestors. I know you may be asking what i mean . i will tell you but first this is my story....

Many years ago i was a boy hunting through the forest with my father when we saw her in the trees. She was looking at us with fear in her heart, she looked the same age as me. Her eyes as the purest jewel, her smile tamed our hearts. My father asked "who are you?" But she fled. I tried to follow her but father said " No" and i asked "did you not see her eyes?"  he responded " i did" and he told me how chasing things that isn't mine is wrong and if it was not given to me it does not belong to me. "See how she gazed and fled as the gazelle from the lion" Father said.

"Will we see her again" i asked, "if it is given to your eyes than you will" said father. On our way back he spoke to me about one day going to battle with my brothers and sisters and how one day i must learn to walk with beast of the land. I asked him "will we not hunt today" he said "No". "Why" i asked, and father smiled. I became lost.

When we got back to the tribe, i spoke with mother. I told her everything that i saw, she looked at my father in shock as though there was something i was not meant to see . Mother than looked to me, she said "You mustn't tell anyone of what you saw today, do you hear me?" "Yes mother" i responded. "Go to your brothers and sisters"said father, so i stood up and went to them and i wanted to ask about what i saw but not doing as my mother is dishonourable to the family, but i told myself i must see her again

Father passed away in his sleep the day we saw her. Mother told me that it was because he was very sick but i still don't believe he's gone and i know he's with the ancestors.

I fear that I'm still not a man, father left me without the knowledge of how to fight the battles of my life. My brothers and sisters are going for war with the Songhay kingdom, i begged mother to let me go with my brothers and sisters but she told me that i am still lost and don't know the way. I became angry with her and decided that at nightfall i will leave.

Sunset arrived and i collected my brothers Bow and arrow as well as the sword, though i didn't know how to use the bow i collected it anyways. When the family went to sleep, i left and i asked the ancestors guide me and prayed to God for protection. I fled on the horse like the wind, through the forest, the moon was my guide, i stopped at nothing till i came a cross the Sahara. I didn't Know if i was strong enough to cross it but i trusted the ancestors and tied my Tagelmust

I continued to the land of Timbuktu. To my new beginning. Tired, without sleep i collapsed at Dawn on the sand and closed my eyes. The horse fled.

When i opened my eyes i saw camels riders surrounding me about six of them, they wore tagelmust like me so i couldn't see there faces and I thought they were just passing by so i closed my eyes. They carried me all the way to the land of Timbuktu and when i opened my eyes i saw her.

"Its you" i said but she couldn't here me because of my Tagelmust rapped around my face. i took of my Tagelmust and she looked into my face but i seemed as if she didn't know who i was. I asked "where am i?" She responded " The Kingdom of Timbuktu". "Wait what" . Her response was the same, i asked "when did we arrive here?" and a man answered "yesterday", he looked very high and mighty with gold on his body, never in all the dawns have i ever seen gold as much as he carries. I asked her"who are you" and she said "i am Fati Quali and this is Mansa Mahmud , the lord of the mines". Mansa than spoke and asked who i was, i told him i am Kangè son of Juma and Fatou. Fati asked where i was going and i told her that i was coming to Timbuktu to work in the army. When i said that they started talking to each other and i was afraid that this was going to be the end of me but I'm glad that it wasn't. because they agreed. They offered me a place to stay near the palace so they could keep an eye on me in case of anything. Fati asked if i was a fighter and i said "No".

Fati agreed to teach me the way of the people, how to be skilled with the bow. Mansa walked away. Just when i was about to ask "do you remember me?" She interrupted with "we start at dawn" and left as well.

We started training the next day, i was amazed at how skilled she was with the bow, how much she knew. She taught me everything she knew with the bow but her eyes i couldn't stop staring. She was like a Goddess of War, strong without fear. I saw why Mansa made her the general of his army.

I also offered to train her with the sword, she agreed. I taught her everything father taught me, she learnt it so fast i became to wonder if she was a Goddess.

After a few months of training it was time to go to war with Kingdoms that wasn't in alliance with Mansa's reign. For years we fought in the army, side by side, the more we fought the stronger our bond. Our bond was so deep we fell in love.

Mansa gave us his blessings that we may marry. it was wonderful to have the Kings blessing. I married her and Mansa gave us a room in the palace, due to us being fierce and victorious on the battlefield.

There came a day when i and Fati asked the king if its okay if we didn't go to war on that day. Mansa accepted our permission to stay in the kingdom and let soldiers go to war,so they did. Fati decided that she wanted to show me something, so we took the horses to the forest, when we arrived i asked " what are we doing here" she responded "You'll see".

 As we continue to journey through the forest, i started to recognise it more and more. I told her "this is where me and my father used to hunt", she smiled. she said "i know, i used to come here and watch you hunt when i was young. Your eyes was as the blazing sun" "and yours as the midnight moon" i responded.

I told her about how my father died that night right after we saw her. She to told me that it was her father who was a warrior who adored her and that he wanted to hide her from the world because of his brutality on the battlefield. It was forbidden for him to fall in love but he did. it was mostly forbidden for him to have a child due to his heart becoming as the ocean. So when they had her, she was told to stay home, that no eyes should see her but she love adventures. When she came home that day her father raged in anger when she told him a man and a boy had saw her. He wanted to punish her but he loved her very much, so he thought the easiest way to deal with this is to go to the voodoo people. The voodoo people first refused to kill anyone. their powers are strictly for healing and help but he bribed them with Gold and the finest jewels. Not knowing there will be consequences. When my father died the king, the elders found out, the ancestors and almighty God witnessed. Her father was then brought to the king and elders, he was tried and sentenced to death. The voodoo people was executed with him. Her mother was innocent so she wasn't harmed. Few dawns went by the king found out about Fati, he told her mother to train her to fight with love and fearlessness.

Years went by she became the general of the Army and was also given the role of protection over the mines.

When she told me all this i wept. "I'm sorry" she said. I asked her "why am i still here though because i saw you like my father did" she told me that her father couldn't kill a child.

"I'm sorry once more" she said. "All is forgiven" i replied.

Than all of a sudden a Beast came our way, it was lion. I pulled out my knife, but she told me to to stop and should put it away. I did as she told me. Fati got on her knees and bowed, i was confused but i did everything she did. The beast than bowed and departed.

 We got up and she said "You mustn't enter someone's home and declare war. You will be killed" she told me that beast are the guardians of the forest and they should never be harmed "What if they attack first" i asked

She replied " Strengthen your heart, calm your body and bow. The will not harm you".

I pulled her close and fell into her eyes, i asked her "are you sure you're not a Goddess" she smiled. I kissed her and we made love under the stars.

Than during our love making i heard noise in the bushes and what i was thinking is that it was another beast and i was prepared to do as Fati told me, even Fati was alert. Suddenly we heard voices whispering in the bushes, so we got up as quick as we could to prepare for a fight. Not know that we were still naked. We ran to bushes that we heard the voices in. we were shocked. To our belief there were a hundred people from the Songhay Kingdom. I smiled at Fati and she smiled back, we fought with them. We slaughtered them all but one, we decided to leave one to ask questions. after we wore our clothes.

"Who are you? Who sent you? What are you doing here" Fati asked, "i have a message for your king" he said. "Why will you need over a hundred men to deliver a message to the king" i asked. He didn't respond to my question so i said "if you don't tell is immediately we will kill you". We discussed how we are protectors and general of the army so in order to speak with the king he must speak with us. All he said was "Take me to the king".

Me and fati discussed on the dangers of taking him to the king but if its that important that he wouldn't tell us than we must take him to the king. I picked him up and put him on my horse, we rode all the way to the kingdom. Going to through the kingdom our people looked afraid when they saw him. They knew that he didn't belong. When we finally got to the king we sat him down at the front of the King and bowed.

"My king, this man is from the Songhay kingdom and he has a message for you. He wouldn't tell us what it was so we had to bring him to you" Fati said. We also told the king how they attacked us. The king wasn't pleased when he heard that. "What is your message that you refused to discuss with my generals?" The king angrily asked.

"King Mansa! Every morning , a gazelle wakes up. It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed. Every morning a lion wakes up. It knows it must outrun the slowest gazelle or it will starve to death, prepare for us we are coming" the messenger said.

"Kill him" said the king, without hesitation my beloved Fati killed the messenger

Than out of nowhere a woman with gold all over her body with beautiful jewels walked to stand beside the king her name was Mansarico also known as Magbete Qouli she was The sister of the King. It was my first time meeting her but it seemed as if i was the only person who's never met her. Everyone bowed to her so i bowed not knowing if she was royalty. "Brother there is a war coming from the songhay kingdom, many of people are coming to you for protection" said her majesty. "My king there is so too many people, i don't know if our soldiers can protect them all including our own people" said Fati. "How many soldiers do we have here?" Said the king. "We have twenty thousand" i said. "The other cities?" The King Asked, "Less than ten thousand together" i said. "The people entering our cities?" The king asked. "More than fifteen thousand" said her Majesty. The king decided to speak with the elders and told us to leave and he'll speak to us the next dawn.

At the break of dawn the king came knocking on our door “wake up”. We asked him what was wrong he said we needed to come immediately so we got ready and followed the king. When we got to the throne we sat with him and his sister. They told us that they have spoken with the elders and they want you to train some of our people like never before. I and Fati agreed to train them but we decided to train them in different groups. I chose to train my group with the sword and fati will train hers group with the bow.

At day we gathered all the men, women in the army and to come for training because we have a war coming. We also got some men and women who weren’t in the army to join and so they did. For about three months we trained the people. The soldiers we taught them all the element of war.

Than one day the king requested our presence to the palace. When we arrived, his sister, himself and the elders were there waiting for us. We were confused with the look on their faces. "Fati and Kangè, My generals. What we are about to tell you is a decision that was hard to make" said the king. He proceeded to tell us that we will need to travel away from the kingdom and that its not safe here. He told us how her majesty Magbete Quali will lead the people and elders from Timbuktu to the south. The other cities will head to Egypt with the king. "Will you follow us?" Said the king. "No. I will stay here and fight" i said, before fati could say “so will i” she started vomiting. and ran to our room, “excuse us your majesty” i said, I ran after her "I will stay and fight with you my love" said Fati, "your not okay" i said. 

Fati told me that she is pregnant. My Heart was filled with happiness but i realized that i wasn't going see Fati because i will not allow her to fight in this war. "Why did you just go unhappy my love" she asked and i told her that she will need to leave with her majesty and she can't stay back to fight for the good of the baby. She understood, "Come with me" she said. "As much as i wish to travel with you, i must stay and fight or many lives will be lost, “I'm sorry " i said. "No, I'm sorry i can't go to war with you" she said

At sunrise the king left to Egypt with some soldiers for protection.

Couple of dawns later her majesty was preparing to leave to the south with the people and elders. Her majesty now known as the Queen and was a fierce warrior and leader that i knew will protect Fati.

The horse was ready for Fati's Journey.

Fati called the beast to follow her for protection and God for Guidance. We said our Goodbyes. "I wish i could stay here and fight with you" she said, "oh how i wish that as well". We told each other how much we love each other, i vowed to find her no matter wherever she may go and that I'll be there for our child's birth "Till we meet again" . "Till we meet again" i responded.

After the people left. We waited for months and we saw no one. We the soldier were planning to leave and that there was going to be no attack. Three dawns later we packed all our swords and bow and decided that we were leaving. Suddenly we heard sounds, when we looked to our left there were thousands of soldiers running and on horses. "Men women our time has come where we fight for our people, our family, the elders, the Ancestors and God and if we die. We die with honour" I said to the army.

So everyone got on their horses and rode for battle. My wife's voice chanting within my heart gave me strength.

We fought for three dawns and on the fourth dawn the war was over. many lives were lost. there were only a few thousand of us left. So we decided to rest the next dawn. so we did.

Early the next morning we fed our horses and prepared ourselves for the journey. Some headed to west, some headed to the east, some to Egypt and some just decide to stay back to lead and protect the land. Before we all departed we came together and said a final prayer to God. We said our Farewell. I got on my horse with couple hundreds soldiers. We departed to the south.

On the first couple of days of our journey we battled the rain and the cold, some of us got sick from wounds inflicted and died. however us who were alive carried the dead. We ate fruits and drank the rain given to us. we started to see the spirits of the ancestors through the forest. Some went mad and ran away. Those who were left held strong. The only thing that kept me strong was the love within my heart for my Goddess wife and my child. The last day we saw many beast and animals heading towards us with anger in their hearts, we were about to fight but i remember the teachings of my wife. I told everyone to get off their horses and bow. We dropped our weapons and bowed. They granted us passage so we walked with our horses through.

We arrived in what is now known as Liberia and the tribes that lives there pointed us to direction of where our people went. We headed in that direction, when we arrived, i saw our people. Joy filled our hearts. I asked someone "Where is Fati?". "She is in labor" they responded. "Where" i asked "The Palace". "In what direction?" "That way" she pointed out.

Weak and tired, I ran as fast as my legs could carry me could while tears fell from my eyes. When i got to the palace i wasn't allowed to enter where she was giving birth so i waited in the other room. Few moments went by and i was delivered the news that my child is a Girl. We named her Gbemisola, which means carry me into Honor. I, fati and Magbete the queen was really happy that she decided to have a celebration to thank God for our safe journey. The celebration lasted for six days.

A month later the Queen gave positions to some of the royals that came down with her, she also created societies. The Poro and The Sandè, Poro for men only and the Sandè for women. These group were there to teach them the art of medicine, heal and many more. Me and my wife Fati were still generals of the army but now we needed more soldiers but in order to do that we had to unite the tribe.

So we spoke to the Queen and she agreed, she also wanted to come with us on our journey, we had no problem. We knew what she was capable of.

So we packed up on our journey and headed for the west of Liberia, when we got there we managed to speak with the tribes and they  agreed to unite under Queens Magbete Qauli's rule. Heading south of Liberia they desired war, the queen did not want to fight but the chief of the tribe tried to attack when she was not looking but Queen felt him heading towards her so she fought him. she killed the chief and his soldiers bowed to the queen. Words of our arrival in Liberia spread and tribes were to afraid to fight and they were all for her rule.

The Manè Empire was now huge and we had thousands of soldiers. I and fati trained them so did the queen. The people were shocked to see how the Queen decided to participate in this training for war.

A year later we were ordered to go on a journey to the north and so we did with the queen conquering all kingdoms in our way, we fought hard but the queen was fierce and strong. It took several months but we conquered and her majesty's kingdom was great.

On our way back to the palace the queen fell pregnant she never told us who it was by but when we got to the palace we decided to hide it from the people and to only tell them that she was not well. The people fell into tears and prayed.

Few months later the queen gave birth, it was a boy. he was named Flansir. he was a fine young prince.

Later that year i was riding my horse through the kingdom when i saw my brothers and sisters roaming.

I ran up to them but they didn't recognise me, i told them who i was and we fell into tears i went and introduced them to my wife and the queen and she made sure they were taken care of. I asked where mama was and they told me that she had join the ancestors. I fell into despair.

My brothers and sisters joined the army with me.

Gbemisola and flansire were growing fast and so we started to train them at a young age that they may also be fierce in battle and we did for years.

There came a day i, fati, Gbemisola and flansir decided to go to see the the ocean and what we saw was something we've never seen before.

It was made completely of wood, it floated on the on the sea, It was big and it was coming towards us. When we look closely it was a man but he was not like us, his skin was different. Than they stopped and got in a smaller wooden thing and continued heading toward us. "prepare for a fight" i said to my wife and the children. when they got to the sand they got out and i asked " who are you" but they look to each other and looked at me and i don't think they understood me. "where do you come from" they didn't respond, they looked amazed. "papa what is that" said Gbemisola. i pointed to the ship and asked "What is that" and they said " Navio" which means ship. Fati and i told them to follow us while we took them to the Queen. i told fati to lead the way and i, Gbemisola and flansir will follow. "uncle" said Flansir " Yes", "i don't trust them", 'why would you say that" and Gbemisola said "because they have swords" "don't worry, Nothing will happen' I responded. 

When we arrived to the kingdom, we took them directly to the queen.

The Queen was in shock to see people so similar  but so different, before she began her questioning she called the elders that walked this land before us.

The elders spoke to the queen and told her that they have been stealing our people and taking their possessions.

When she heard that news she was not impressed, than an unexpected thing happen. We heard the mourning of the people. “Go and see what is wrong and if it is the thieves from the seas kill them” said the Queen. we ran outside to their need to see that it was the thieves and we did exactly what our queen told us.We then returned to the palace to see one of the elders speaking a language to the invader that they understand.

We asked them if they know where they were and they responded with Costa da Pimenta, which means pepper Coast Then we asked where they are from. “Espanha” they responded.

”Disarm them and lock them up” said the queen. We took away there swords and surprisingly they did not try to fight with us. 

months turned to years of us discussing with the queen and elders to see if the invaders should take us to where they come from. We came to a conclusion three years later that the invaders will take us to where they came from to rescue the people of our land and to know the reason for why they are thieves. The elders taught us the language, the Queen told me and fati to fast and bathe in milk for three days and on the third we must summon two spirits. The bird of the air and the lion of the land. The whole kingdom gathered around us and chanted the song of the ancestors...when we were done, we got the invaders out. We told them that if they take us to where they come from we will set them free but if they don’t we will kill them. they agreed to take us.We gathered on the sand with the invaders and gave a speech.

“My people today is the day me and my wife take a journey to the unknown. If we die may our spirits return to God, The creator of all things but remember this WE SHALL RETURN”

The soldiers that are coming with us on this journey said their goodbyes to their families

We kissed our daughter and hugged her as tears fell from her eyes. 

”Gbemisola, The Queen is now your mother. She will care for you and you are now a princess” said fati

“Farewell little prince”

”Farewell My Queen”

Us an our soldiers got on the ship with the bird, the lion and the invaders.

when we started to sail away our People chanted the war cry.

“journey well” said the Queen 

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Poetrybylavie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.