Futurism logo

Human Parts

Part I: All discoveries happen at school.

By E.K. SandovalPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
Copyrighted by The Irregular at Magic High School anime. Uniforms are similar to what the children wear at Plasmeridia History School.

I was around seven, of course going to school in the Plasmeridia History School, Seraphobin district. Everyone goes to the history school when they are a child to learn the basic fundamentals of this disgusting gluttonous society we live in. Obviously after that you go to the chosen career school, but that is not what this entry is about.

I was seven definitely. I had been running around free on the playground getting chased by girls. One of them thought I was cute, I think, but she had her friends corner me so she could come up and give me her cooties. Of course, learning from every one of the rumors of my schoolmates that cooties are definitely not something you want, I squirmed.

I still don’t understand why they chased me. I just wanted to monkey around and imagine I was in my far off adventure world with my hero, Metus. But no, they had to grotesquely spoil it with their dangerous threats of cooties.

Anyway, I got cornered and all of her friends thought I would get away so they held my arms against the wall. I tried my best but it was no use, I was stuck in this group of girls. I was thoroughly embarrassed until one of them—the one that thought I was “dreamy”—stepped forward. My heart pumped loudly, my cheeks turned hot. I thought everyone could hear it. What was happening to me?

She put her hands on the wall of either side of me, stared me straight in the eye and then smiled brightly, and said, “Got ya!”

At that instant, I feared that there would be murder all over the news tonight about a schoolboy who died from a girl’s cooties. How stupid of me. She did the most peculiar thing though. She closed her eyes and pouted her lips out.

After her eyes stayed closed for a couple seconds, I asked, “What are you doing?”

Understanding that I would not get it anytime soon she very quickly laid her lips right on mine. This pissed me off. My cheeks grew more hot. My heart pumped even louder.

This is how you must die from cooties I thought and immediately pushed her back with both arms said to her something my father often said to my mother, “What the HELL are you doing?”

Of course I didn’t know what hell meant, but it definitely added that extra oomph I needed to surprise her.

“Are you trying to kill me?” I said. A bright grin flashed across her face and opened her mouth to say something, but what came out wasn’t her voice.

It was not girly at all. It was a little deeper but not much, and very dark. Very familiar as well, “I am,” said the voice.

I turned to see the school bully named Nathan Forsythe. We usually stay away from each other due to the fact our fathers work together and we generally both have bad attitudes. It was our fathers’ suggestions. His family was the richest, so he looked it on the playground; your uniform at school described your family’s rank in society. Look at him! With the most elegant one completely fitted to his indulgent form. God! He was so disgusting I wanted to punch him every time I saw him. With me being tiny, I was scared to lose. The only courageous act I had done so far was to move this girl away from me. That was only because I didn’t want to die. But, I think one act was good enough for one day. I knew he wouldn’t actually kill me, but I decided not to risk it, and replied with nothing.

He asked, “What are you doing kissing on my girl?” So that’s what this is called, I thought, kissing. I made a note of that to avoid in the future.

I still agree with my former naïve child self, because what follows is a storm of annoying.

“She kissed me. You think I would willingly want to die?” I exclaimed, trying not to keep my pride inside. However, what I said had the opposite effect on the crowd that had gathered. They soon were all laughing and pointing.

After Nathan was done sniggering, he quieted everyone down and simply stated, “You must be the dumbest kid on Earth. You cannot die from cooties, you moron.”

Again, everyone burst out into laughter. The girl tried to console me and took me away from the crowd, this again made me feel weak and stupid. I shrugged her off. Man, she was good at makin’ me mad. So was Nathan.

“Hey, I’m not done with you!” As he jogged up to me and pushed me down. This was the moment that changed everything in my life. As I was falling I felt nothing but anguish. I tried catching myself causing scrapes on my hands and right knee. I sat up looking at my hands and knee. I had never felt pain like this before. My hands were bleeding too, but not blood. It was only there for a second on my hands and then instantly gone almost as fast as I had gotten the scrapes and they were gone too.

I swear to this day in that instant this is what I saw. It was this purple liquid with the consistency of blood and it glowed. It was bright over my scars and then faded into the wound. And just like that my skin appeared again.

I was astounded and confused, I had seen flash screens before and most of the time when a person gets cuts or scrapes, their blood is red and they have it for a long time. The cut doesn’t heal right away. But maybe flash screens were just as untrue as cooties, I pondered. How stupid of me.

However, it was smart of me to try an experiment. I came to the hypothesis if red blood was false then we could fight all day and I would never get hurt.

Maybe I couldn’t die. So I got up and walked slowly over to Nathan and simply stated, “Well that was uncalled for,” right before I dropped him. I could feel the fire burning in my hands, and I wanted more so I jumped on top of him and just kept swinging. An adult finally pulled me off after his face was good and bloody, but his blood didn’t glow. It was red. Why didn’t it glow?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

E.K. Sandoval

Hi! I'm just a guy writing about this thing we call life. I journal about my exp and struggles with mental health and life in general. I occasionally dabble in Sci-Fi and Fantasy. Stay hopeful reader and may your wildest dream come true!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.