Futurism logo

Guerilla Island

Two survivors plot a revolt against artificial intelligence on a distant island.

By Ace HowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Guerilla Island
Photo by Hitoshi Namura on Unsplash

Day 38.

The year?

Don't know, although I can assume it's within the near future.

Still don't understand how the hell I got here and where exactly on the planet this island is located. If we're even still on Earth for that matter. This may as well be the jungle. I woke up early this morning for the fresh catch. I was a good day, caught ten of em. Never seen this fish before but they look bomb.

It ain't haddock but it'll have to do for now.

Oh yeah, I go by Zeek.

Carved out a nice space on the island. Now it's time to ready my fire. As I got closer towards my refuge spotted a big ass cat from afar. Peeped him on a tree looking down on me.

What kind of cat you ask? A leopard.

How did it get there? Still searching for that answer.

I know it doesn't think I'm giving up my catch that easily. If this was day three he might have stood a chance but I'm just too damn hungry today. I had my fish all hooked on a branch as I kept it beside me. The leopard made it's way to the end on the branch gazing down on me. I sat my fish down and withdrew a large spear head I constructed.

WAITING.

The leopard vaulted down and landed before me. It's growls were aggressive and I could hear it's belly from where I stood. Just as ready as it was.

Suddenly....the leopard stands down and walks away.

A woman appears. A recognizable face at that.

I glance closer.

"Alicia?" I asked.

She stood in silence.

"It's me, Ezekiel. I got coffee from your shop every morning on State Street. You remember me?" I stated.

She wore the same attire as me. A black thermal wetsuit. It's what everyone wore, except we were the only two.

"Thought I was alone." I stated.

Alicia stared to me and said "Follow me."

She walked towards a more secluded part of the island as I followed with my fish. This area was nicer, calmer, more peaceful. We sat down near a fire.

A few moments passed.

We ate the fresh catch together.

"I saw your coffee shop close down all of sudden. How long you been here? How did you get here" I asked.

"Six months. I volunteered." Alicia stated.

"You what?!" I said.

"Didn't you?" Alicia asked.

"Nah. I just woke up and I was here. Almost forty days now. Thirty eight to be exact." I said.

I ate more of my meal and thought to myself.

"How did you do that? With the leopard?" I asked.

"Being here brought out the best of my powers. There's no distractions, no technology, no capitalism. They have no clue back in civilization what's about to take place. That's why I chose you." Alicia said.

I glanced up in confusion.

"I picked you Zeek. I have a few friends on the inside who went rogue. Big tech industry people. We're gonna need your leadership." Alicia said.

"Yo you fucking serious?" I asked.

A long pause between us. I needed time to refocus my head.

"You act as if you got better things to do. Your life, your career, it was all bullshit and you know it. I saw the kind of books you read with your morning coffee." Alicia stated.

"I can't even debate with her. She called me out. She's right." I told myself.

So when is all this going down?" I asked.

Alicia finished her meal.

"Matter of fact, who run this island?" I asked.

"All that obtained information and you still don't get it?. Zeek, seventy five percent of the planet is controlled by A.I. There's a ship on the horizon.

They come about once a month. It'll be here in three days so we need to utilize our time wisely. They'll arrive with a boat full of new gladiators that were captured. They'll be ready." Alicia said.

"And you know this how?" I asked.

"Communication. The same way I stopped that leopard from eating yo ass." Alicia said.

I had to smirk about that.

"Why now?" I asked.

"Because we have you." Alicia said.

I nodded to myself with extreme confidence.

"Let's get it!" I said.

TO BE CONTINUED.

science fiction
3

About the Creator

Ace Howell

The Pen.

A weapon for defense, a tool for building, or an instrument of destruction.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.