Futurism logo

Environ-MENTAL

My Environment-My Nightmare

By Brenda K. SandersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Environ-MENTAL
Photo by Ryan Stone on Unsplash

I did not realize until recently that there would be a day when civil rights, women’s rights or even my constitutional rights would take a back seat to my environmental rights. I mean Rosa Parks stood up when she sat down, but I do not believe she saw a day when a seat at the back of the bus would take a back seat to environmental survival and environmental injustice. I am here to report that as a victim of environmental injustice, I can quickly draw the parallels to violations of rights of any kind. It is very strange to wake up in the morning and ponder whether or not I am going to breathe today. It is even more strange and peculiar to see other people still acting and talking in a normal way that are not plagued with such a problem. I now count it strange when I do not have to think about breathing or think about the air that I am breathing. There is nothing so gruesome! Who can enjoy a day off from work when one is concerned about whether the environment in which one lives is safe and sound? Who can enjoy a walk with one’s dog or perhaps, just a walk, when one is concerned about the environment?

My problems began before the coronavirus pandemic! My problems with environmental oppression began in 2015. I actually was in awe when I first saw the planes making Xs and polluting my immediate environment. I am not talking about the coronavirus outbreak, I am talking about military inspired attacks on my right to breathe, along with my right to freely associate with others and my right to exercise my religious freedoms. I have come to learn that my plight began long-ago and I was well, unaware, of its consequences.

In 2007, I had a visitation from the Spirit of God. I really did! I could hear the voice of God. I started to write down everything that I heard that day. I know that it was a day in June or July when I wrote down God’s Word to me. He told me that “He was making turns in the air and that He was making turns in the area of electronics. He said that he was going to create laughter to ease the stress or pain of these turns. I thought the voice was talking about someone else. I actually emailed what was said to me, to someone else. I did not realize that such a communication would instead, foretell my future.

When I first started seeing the planes in the air around me, I actually thought that they were on a mission to save me or a mission to rescue me. I was suffering from discrimination and racial injustice and just barely surviving a cataclysmic hit. I had already involved myself in social distancing. I distanced myself from my friends, my family and my former judicial colleagues. I experienced unimaginable suffering at the hands of the very people that have executed my suffering at this very present place and time. As the plane attacks continued, I began to realize, mentally, that my right to breathe and live a free existence was lost. It was compromised. Although, I did not initially connect air attacks with the words I heard in 2007, I began to think differently about what I once took for granted. The photos and videos that I am sharing with this submission are real and they are products of my environmental nightmare. I am still praying that the militarily inspired attacks cease. I have become a regular visitor of the Environmental Protection Agency and a person that focuses on what is above me! I have become a crusader for environmental justice by default.

Nevertheless, I will not end my fight for clean air and even clean water. I will continue my fight until I don’t I have to be conscientiously aware of my environment. I will continue my fight until I can take my environment for granted once again. I will continue the fight until my environment is sound once again. Until then, I remind myself of the life that I once took for granted. It was a life of “environmental freedom, environment soundness and environmental justice!

habitat

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BKSWritten by Brenda K. Sanders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.