Futurism logo

Elusively Aquarius

Not a team player

By Cleo BPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Catch me if you can.

Several years ago, a man who couldn’t take a hint wagered that he could guess my friend group’s respective professional fields. If he succeeded, he could buy us all a drink. For the record, we never agreed to the stakes, but he proceeded to guess. Legal (Andrea - correct), marketing (Diana - correct), marketing (Aanya - correct), and librarian (me - incorrect - OMG). I worked in investor relations at a Hedge Fund at the time, although I would say that I spiritually love the idea of being a prescriptive librarian and that I look very sexy in my glasses.

Rewind four years, and I am in the south of Spain staying with a cranky Irish hippie named Ruth. I work in her shop in exchange for room and board, and she rations my meals to halved bananas claiming that she can’t afford my American appetite. She is very into astrology and asks if she can guess our Zodiac signs (mine and my travel companion’s). She immediately guesses the Virgo as a Virgo. Predictably, I no longer speak to critical and insecure Ms. Virgo these days. Ruth turns to me and says that I have her completely stumped. I tell her that I am an Aquarius, to which she responds “how very Aquarius of you.” I don’t remember what her sign was, only that she made me wash all of her shop crystals in the town fountain in order to recharge them (ouch to soggy hands versus sharp crystals) and that she tried to give me Giardia . On second thought, she was a Gemini, but her place was beautiful!

^Never try to define an Aquarius.

A former colleague, whom I disliked due to her pushiness, often told me that she just couldn’t read me. In truth, I’m very easy to read. Some people just prefer to live in denial.

^Don’t get on the wrong side of an Aquarius. I don’t forgive, but I will probably forget if it’s not worth my energy. In the case that I don’t forget, you should run and hide immediately.

My smartest, coolest friend is a fellow Aquarius (no, it isn’t myself, even though I am my favorite company). We met in college. She is trilingual and eats books (or croissants) for breakfast. She is slow to respond over text, and I love that about her.

In case you missed it, I absolutely identify as an independent and idealistic Aquarius. Give me a solo adventure and organic vegan cheeze any day of the week. I know whether or not to trust someone within five minutes of meeting them (more like 30 seconds, but I do TRY to give people a chance), and I can count my inner circle on one hand. The only thing that’s wrong is not trusting one’s intuition. Quarantine has been some much needed quality time with my personal library and vintage Italian films. If I am not enjoying a conversation, I mentally transport myself to my happy place: where I am alone in a formerly Yugoslavian seaside forest drinking wine. It’s a beautiful place.

Does my resume reflect issues with authority or maybe just a really low tolerance for bullshit? Rather, I would say that it is a reflection of my adaptability (marketing, client relations, administration, let’s give it a go). I prefer creative endeavors in my solitude because I can’t explain what should already be understood. Team projects are my worst nightmare. It can make things difficult, but it is better to be the GOAT than a sheep. Too bad we can’t all be Aquarians!

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Cleo B

Vegan in the heartland

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.