Futurism logo

Descriptive not Prescriptive

A personal look at astrology

By Chynia NortonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Descriptive not Prescriptive
Photo by Matteo Badini on Unsplash

At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to enter this challenge. I wasn’t sure how I could write a piece long enough about a subject I do not have a deep intimate knowledge of. I am not new to astrology but I’ve never really followed it because everyone I know that is into it makes it into a way to judge people and prescribe who the other person is based off what they know about the other’s sign without really taking the time to get to know the person. But I thought hey what can it hurt to join the challenge and practice writing. I love writing and I have denied myself the opportunity long enough.

I am a libra and though I do not know much about libras, I know that the traits I have heard about and looked up are descriptive of some of the habits I have formed. I’ve been on a journey of transformation for the last five years and one thing that I can say is that when I look at the traits of the different signs I can see myself in different aspects of each one though. I think that is because I look at the astrology signs as descriptive and not prescriptive. At any point in time anyone can cultivate the traits of a different sign. I see my sign as a libra as a road map to help me on my journey of transformation.

It is said that libra strengths are that they are cooperative, diplomatic, gracious, fair-minded, and social. While they are weak at making decisions, they avoid confrontation, will carry a grudge, and indulge in self-pity. I feel that these are true to an extent. I had my time where these ways of thinking and interacting with the world were true for me, I stand before you today decisive. I decided to write this and participate in this challenge. I don’t worry about confrontations because I am sovereign and I am willing to state my boundaries. I am the most forgiving I have been in my life right now too. I also no longer indulge in self-pity. I am not a victim of circumstance I am the creator of my life. I have stopped trying to be fair- minded and seek harmony because really deep down I was people pleasing.

These words are only attempting to point at the complex human being I am and make my complexity understandable. Of course there are things that I love about being recognized as a libra, like the love of beauty and art. I also believe that this isn’t unique to libras though. Humans like beautiful things and symmetry. Why else would there be art, plastic surgery, and fan bases for beautiful women like Kim Kardashian. The human eye likes to see those things.

I read somewhere that libras are most compatible with Aries and Sagittarius. Well I am in a unique position when it comes to being in relationship. I am married to another libras born the same day as me two years apart. He is older too. I say all this to say I take responsibility for my character. According to astrology this is a relationship that would take a lot of conscious engagement to make work because of how similar they are. It’s all about personal responsibility. Without taking responsibility you give your power over to what is said about you instead of being the author of your own story. The stars may describe an aspect of me but truly get to know me and see all the ways the stars don’t describe m

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Chynia Norton

I am a woman, wife, mother, and writer through and through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.