Futurism logo

Day 12:Best Life

Living my best

By Jackson BlankPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Day 12:Best Life
Photo by Alex Knight on Unsplash

7 pm

Dinner was fine, perfect not much talk. But the powerful do not need words, now waking up in the evening, with a blinking of my alarm.

Standing on my penthouse balcony looking over the dome. My right hand is resting around the thin strap of glass on my wine glass, bringing it upwards to my lips. That neon glow of a city at rest greeting my eyes as I look out over the sectors. Right hand brings that empty glass down the table, resting it there, as the twilight glow from above and the neon mix over the glass into perfect chaos.

The weather master promised a mild night. With perfect viewing of the stars, and the world is supposed to be for watching tonight. They hired the best holo painter tonight, so I'll watch it and enjoy it. The world is your oyster, Saturday night. Nothing going on yet, in this vast city.

My feed is scrolling at the bottom of my cyber eye, watching the news. Watching the names, as my real left, one is watching the sky. As my right-hand moves to scroll, information flowing, nothing of note, no trouble, no fun, nothing needing my full attention.

When one works for counter, one must be ready to move and analyze, and attack quickly. As the world blinks slowly, red and strobing right hand is rising quickly, as I open the document. It is urgent. As I scroll through it, Terrorist attack planned, for 6 days it seems, got word from a now-dead contact.

My left hand is taking out a black death cigarette, placing it between my lips, as it fishes over my desk for a lighter. Strike one, it's on leaning into the flames, as I read details are the death and death is in the details.

A long inhale of the smoke into my lungs, as I fire it out with a wicked little chuckle. Right flicking through it highlighting the words, I'll need to research names, places, dates, events.

Images, pictures, bio, floating in front of me reading, find the loop, find the common, link them. As I scan, one thing stands out this music venue, down in sector 4. All of them go the same night, once a week, Thursday, all night. But, never a show than, always just a bar.

Lowest id scanned in night too, maybe. I play up more people that go in at that time. Some have been arrested for protesting. Others, never seen from again, this is a good link..

Send info to security, watch the club, and hit it around 12 pm next Thursday. They will find them in the depths of the beast, waiting to strike. I'll check Friday if I'm right.

Swiping my hand to the left, balling it up, throwing the hand as if shooting a basket. It is gone. These thought images, and all of it purged from my head.

The ding of the oven, food, and wine. The telly clicks on as I move into the living room. Action movie starting up as I sink into that large couch, as my food is brought over by Mary-Anna, with her little metal legs, and then my wine.

Classic simple action movie, can zone out as I watch. The city is burning down in the slums, the richest idly enjoy, and those truly blessed get to relax and lose themselves in true freedom. This is the big time, the real-life in this city, so high above.

Life is good. Work is over. Now to relax, logging out, and I hope the scum leaves the taste of boot and blood. Cause that is what is waiting for them in the darkness, riot shield, baton, boot pressed to them for even thinking they mattered in this world, fucking fools.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jackson Blank

I do short stories, tried to do a serial life did not allow me to keep on going.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.