Futurism logo

Day 11:New me

New me

By Jackson BlankPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Day 11:New me
Photo by carlos aranda on Unsplash

The time away was significant. Time lost its purpose. I was stuck in one room, listening to the words drilled into my skull.

Black room, one screen. Education, words, ways of behaving beamed into here all night, all day.

Food given when I wake up, never when I wanted it. Mandated to learn, to think, air smells odd, relaxing easing me into it.

The word is moving, mixing into chaos and thoughts that seem so far. The past is no longer an object at my touch.

Thoughts drift quickly. Time is means nothing; only the opinions and learning. Doing what is needed is floating through this twilight haze of the world.

Old me fading faster, losing my grip on myself. What is my name.....what is my purpose.....why....I'm here.

How to be a good citizen, how to be good for the new bosses. How to speak, how to dress, how to eat. What that fork was, what that bowl is for, education for the masses.

Anti-corporate words were removed, replaced with a new me.

Years, Days, Months, it did not matter. The world would be my oyster when I graduated.

Freedom is a four-letter word of the poor—a dream of those that have no power. True freedom is submitting to get ahead.

I am watching it flashback at me, watching it blink along the strobes of my mind. In my dreams, I was still learning, visions of the words, dreams of the ad, and the world that is coming.

New me, for a new purpose. To find the weak to mold them stronger, to make them better than they could be.

Loyal to my new master, he had saved me from the old world.

The day would come when I leave this prison, able to be free. To serve, to work, to see the truth of the world.

The door opens into that world I go. Dressed in a brand new suit, with new gear, new everything as I stumble out of this room into my new penthouse, a new life, overlooking the dome.

This is my home, been here forever. I did my work last night, did a good job. Got an all-star review, now to reap the benefits. Dinner on the boss, aint' nothing better in this whole fucking city, got to get there but first check the term for news.

I walk forward to my term, sitting down, logging into it quickly. My fingers were flying over the keys, starting to work now, catching up on three years of news, drinking my coffee. I have arrived at the new place. I will take on this city.

This is my new world. This is my kingdom. Reading over these dossiers, borning, weak, traitors, all of them starting to find my team. Nothing worth onboarding yet. I'll find the right peons in time, but for now, time to get to work.

Reading, Reading, Reading. Secrets public, hidden emails, everything at my fingertips, flying throughout the digital. Never felt so quick, so clean, storing data in my brain been so easy.

As I see the article on a dead man, the name almost triggers a memory, but it fades. Nothing there three years ago, is all criminals attacking the powerful. Failing, dying like all scums does when they step up to the mighty, long ago news.

Logging out, time to get food. The air taxi is outside, to bring me to the finest of dining. Lunch date with my boss. He is treating for work well done. I need the pat on my back. For, praise is why we do it and that fat fucking check.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jackson Blank

I do short stories, tried to do a serial life did not allow me to keep on going.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.