Futurism logo

Daughter of Saturn

Seeing my reflection in the Water Bearer’s river

By Haley ClairePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Saying that I’m an Aquarius is too short of a description. There are so many complex pieces to the human puzzle, and the month in which someone is born is far from the most important detail about someone’s existence.

That being said, I am, in the deepest of my depths, an Aquarian through and through. I’ve written only three sentences, and, for anyone that knows about Aquarius’s qualities, I’m sure that’s apparent, already.

I was born on Groundhog’s Day, 1994 to parents ruled by Mercury and the Moon. Respectively, my father is a Gemini, my mother a Cancer. My moon sign is in Scorpio and Capricorn was on the horizon when I entered this life. My Mercury is in Pisces, Mars and Venus in Aquarius.

In order to understand me, these pieces of me must be taken into consideration. As I have gotten older, and have lived more life, I have learned about the stars and their role in shaping my spirit. When I was young, I always felt I aligned with the stereotypical descriptions about Aquarius that I read in my mother’s copies of Cosmo magazine. I didn’t know why it resonated until a few years ago, though.

Allow me to break my self down, bit by bit.

Aquarius is represented by the Water Bearer, although its element is Air. Air is the element of intellect, concepts, communication, analysis, inquisition, and the abstract. Water is the element of emotion, instinct, mood, sensitivity, flow, and nurture. Symbolically, the Water Bearer is physically detached from the water by holding it, understanding it, and releasing it. In this way, Aquarius is considered a level-headed, objective, and compassionate sign that is capable of understanding on an intellectual level while simultaneously allowing space for emotional depth.

Literally, the objective Air qualities of Aquarius allow it to nurture the Water it is entrusted with.

This has been true for me for the majority of my life.

When I meet new people, I am often entrusted with their deepest secrets and fears, without having to ask for it. It’s as though I have a sign on my forehead that says “Please, tell me with your life story” in massive, neon lights. My friends come to me when they need an ear to listen or arms to hold them, knowing I won’t pass judgment on their vulnerable parts and that I am a safe bay for them to float in.

Many people comment on the consistent calm in my energy. My younger sister (an Aries) has called me zen more times than I can count. Take that with a grain of salt. Juxtaposed next to her chaos, a chihuahua could be considered zen.

Traditionally, Saturn rules Aquarius and gives it its stability, perseverance, diligence, concentration, and desire for justice. In modern astrology, Uranus, the planet of upheaval, awakening, and innovation, also rules Aquarius. Combining the two gives us the understanding of Aquarius that we have in today’s complex astrology. I choose to stick with the traditional planetary assignments, generally, though.

Aquarius is the sign of revolution and humanitarianism, although it is often marked as cold and hyper-rational simultaneously. Honestly, I think all of that is accurate in its own way, however another person’s perception and how they receive certain behaviors can determine whether those traits are good or bad characteristics. I am an avid proponent of social justice movements, regularly participating and contributing to movements like Black Lives Matter, Me Too, and Pride. On the other side of that coin, I’m not going to be the person at the protest that’s screaming or leading a chant.

I’m happy to participate, but most happy to observe and quietly support.

Because my Mars and Venus are also in Aquarius, my instincts and ways of loving are also ruled by cool, collected Saturnian mannerisms. If I’m upset, I have to take time alone to collect my feelings, assess my reactions, and put into words the the reason why I am upset and what can be done to fix it. When I am in love, I am open to holding another person’s heart in my hands, yet I rarely ever feel comfortable giving my heart away. I enjoy being a safe space for others, but in knowing I am a safe space for the people around me, I also know that I am the safest space for myself.

The other parts of my natal chart emphasize and accent my Aquarian roots in many ways.

My Scorpio Moon deepens my lack of trust in other people’s abilities, and emboldens my independence. It has allowed me to master my empathy and intuitively see through the sub-text of what is going on around me.

My Capricorn ascendant compounds on my predisposition to be serious, bordering on melancholic, or zen, as my sister would say. It propels my ambition and desire to work hard at things that inspire me, so when I find something that moves me, I can follow through.

My Pisces Mercury allows me to communicate my dreams effortlessly, and gives me the ability to deeply discuss my feelings once I have taken the time to collect them all. It has helped me when I am trying to make other people understand the things I care about.

I am grateful to know myself as well as I do, aided by my research and knowledge of the planets and stars (along with therapy, of course). It is absolutely impossible to concisely sum up any one person, regardless of their planetary placements, but I believe that my own placements have allowed me to at least come close to grasping the complexity of the human existence and those that I interact with. The knowledge I have has given me the ability to witness my own predispositions, then adjust and alter my actions in order to more closely align with what is socially appropriate and responsible.

My Saturnian, Aquarian qualities are something to be proud of. I am kind and compassionate, diligent and industrious, wise and intellectual, and above all else, a calm presence that makes others feel comfortable and safe.

It’s true that I am more than my Sun sign. I am all of my placements, all of my experiences, all of the generations that preceded me. All of us are heady cocktails composed of stardust, trauma, and life experience.

Regardless, I am deeply proud of who my Sun sign has given me the tools to be.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Haley Claire

flight attendant, traveler, artist, diver, lover. she/her.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.