Futurism logo

Dark Matter

Through the Looking Glass

By Michael AndrewsPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
29
Dark Matter
Photo by Fabrizio Verrecchia on Unsplash

They say that every story has a beginning. That every life has a meaning. I didn't know this at first as I normally took life not so serious.

You see I'm just a simple man. Tried to become an influential streamer while gaming. Tried dating as well. Thought she was the love of my life. Things were on the up and up. Funny how quickly things can escalate and go wrong.

“Hurry up and get the hell out of here!” A young woman was heard screaming in the small urban duplex.

It was a nice modern neighborhood. The kind a person could settle into. The birds sang songs in the morning. The weather was nice and the people seemed to move about their business without a single worry. Yet for some the noise coming from this duplex was a constant reminder that things weren’t always so peachy.

“Are you just going to sit there? I want you out now!” My ex screamed at me. The echo's from her voice were certainly vibrating the walls of our home. I’m pretty sure everyone heard her.

For the first time in my life I felt defeated. While she screamed I heard nothing but a soft voice inside me urging me to remain calm. With my hand clinched Tears began to string down my eyes. I wiped them. She couldn't see me like this. I mean how could she do what she did to me with my best friend.

I zipped up my bag and began walking down the hallway turning towards the front door. My former best friend sat on the couch with his hands covering his face. Was he even phased? 20 years of a solid friendship or so I thought thrown away just like that.

No I didn't just lose my loved one but I lost a friend, my dignity and my home all in the same day. Talk about a golden trifecta of what the fuck.

I walked out the door vowing to never look back. As I walked down the porch steps I heard these words which I would never forget.

“Noah, you had to have known man. You weren’t a good friend and ignored her playing your video games. She needs a real man not some half adult half kid.”

So yea. Story of my life. I was half way hesitant on going into further details as the bartender of the local bar tried to offer a sages advice to me.

“Damn buddy. I didn't know it was that bad. First your girl and then your best friend?” He seemed to care. The kind of sincerity that one normally gets from a concerned parent.

“Look if it means anything I've heard these stories all to well. You just gotta punch through and move on.”

I gazed upon the bartender with a broken look.

“I suppose. I just don't have anything anymore.” I shrugged

As we talked a strange man approached us. Little did I know that this chance encounter would change my life forever. Or was it a pre determined encounter?

I remember him being dressed in business attire but there was something odd about this individual. His aura seemed off. He sat next to me and pierced me with his eyes.

“Hey I’ll have what Noah here is having.” The odd man politely asked.

The bartender looked slightly confused but offered the man a Gin and Tonic for good measure. As the bartender tended to the drinks the odd man looked at me again.

“So heard you had a rough night eh?”

In amazement I replied. “How do you know my name?”

“That really isn't important right now. Look you need to understand that all things happen for a reason. That everything leading up to this very moment is pre ordained.”

“Pre or what?” I responded with a confused look. Just what the hell was this guy saying and how the hell did he know my name?

The odd fellow placed his hand on My shoulder.

“Let me show you. Take that woman over there. The one on the phone.”

The odd man pointed and we both turned gazing upon a rather attractive young woman dressed in a scantily red dress. She's on her phone and giggles slightly.

“She’s talking to her husband but the truth is she’s meeting someone else and he should be here in about..“

The odd man begins to countdown from five. I was dumbfounded and looked upon him bewildered.

Just as the odd man predicted a fine younger gentleman walked in.

“How did you?”

“How did I know that?” The odd man slightly smirked and let out a giggle.

Nodding in agreement the only thing I could reply with was, “Mmhmm.”

“We see everything Noah.”

Just then he snapped his fingers and everything stopped. The bartender mixing the drinks froze. Even the drink itself froze as it was being poured into a small glass. It was as if time itself stood still.

I stood up frightened. Is this a dream I thought? Perhaps I've had too much to drink and I'm making these things up. I turned and the odd man was gone.

As these thoughts begin to race through my head the odd man appeared again and said.

“Noah this isn't a dream. This is reality. There is a world beyond your own that exists and we hold the keys to every one of those doors. You are special. So special indeed.”

“What, who are you?” I asked.

“In time these questions will be answered. If it truly is the answer you seek then I leave you with this.” As he spoke he reached into his coat and pulled out a small black book. Inside was an insignia. The insignia appeared to be an ornate sigil of some sort. The words ARTEMIS appeared engraved on it.

“What is Artemis?” I asked.

The odd man responded. “What is ARTEMIS” the odd man shrugged.

“It stands for Alternate Reality Tactical Encounter & Mission Intelligence Service.”

“The what?”

“Look Noah. I cant give you any more information. Inside that black book are the keys to the Evolving Universe, an answer to every question you ever had. However, I can’t open those doors for you. I am here simply to provide the key and show you the way. The rest is up to you.”

Before I could respond the odd man snapped his fingers and vanished.

“So I hope everything is going to be okay. Here is that double you wanted and don't worry. Its on the house. You've been through enough man.” The Bartender seemed un-phased by what had just happened.

“Thanks. Hey you didn't happen to see a gentleman just sitting here did you?”

“No, just us my friend. Save for that gal and her boyfriend.”

I turned and to my amazement I saw the lady in red with the same young man the odd man and I had witnessed walking in just moments ago. Was this a dream?

Okay I’m probably over thinking this. I laughed and took a sip of the double Gin and Tonic the bartender had made for me.

I felt some what at ease now. Trying to decipher the strange string of events which just took place. A serious case of Deja Vu I thought. I've heard of these kinds of incidents during one of my deep dives into YouTube lore.

Before I could come to terms with what just transpired I received a text notification. Thinking to myself that it’s probably my ex or my best friend rubbing it in. But it wasn’t. Gazing upon my phone in disbelief it read, “A deposit for $20,000 has been deposited into your account.

What in the hell was going on? This has got to be some sort of joke. Logging quickly into my account I saw the deposit and that it come from an unknown origin. All it said was Artemis.

“Blake, thanks for the drink but I really need to go. I have to sort some things out.” I placed a small tip down and headed out.

“Anytime Noah. Be safe man.” The bartender replied.

I reached into my pocket and there it was. The small black book. As I opened the book I again gazed upon the sigil on the inside as I walked out of the building.

Like I said. Every story has a beginning this was mine. I stormed out of that bar determined now to find out just what Artemis was. Who was the odd man and how was he able to manipulate time? My questions needed answers and considering what had just happened I was running out of patience and time.

As I looked more closely at the sigil I found that it wasn't just a mark. It was an actual key imbedded into the book.

I grabbed the key and as I held it in my hand a small piece of paper fell. It read. Go to the small apartment in the Gaslamp district at 1111 N Holland drive. Apt 11. It begins there.

With the key and small black book in hand I grabbed my phone and summoned an Uber. My story had just begun.

artificial intelligence
29

About the Creator

Michael Andrews

Author of Learning to Fly: Surviving Covid-19 and A Walk Among Shadows.

I write Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Action, and Horror and used to moonlight as an avid hunter of the strange and unusual.

Twitter: @so_severe

www.themichaelandrews.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.