Futurism logo

Could Astrology be based in reality?

I do not believe in horoscopes or astrology but I do believe our minds and stimulus are powerful tools.

By Matthew KeoghPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Could Astrology be based in reality?
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

As the subtitle says I do not believe personally in horoscopes or astrology, but I implore you to not disregard my article. In the idea of horoscopes, I do not believe in a mythical force or connection between my personality, my actions and the star’s alignment. However, our mind are incredible machines. Simply believing you will get better has been proven to benefit health when your body is suffering from illness. I think this kind of reinforcement could be in play with horoscopes and zodiac signs.

Take me, for example, I am a Taurus. The common attributes for someone who is a Taurus are strength and stubbornness, and personally I would say this is a rather apt description of me, but what if it can be explained in a more down-to-earth way (pardon the pun)? What if instead of mythical forces, we, our parents and all those around us are in fact those who influence personality and create these Taurus personalities? Now, I am not saying those around you manipulate you into being one person. I think of it more as a subconscious influencing. When you are born obviously dictates the period of a year in which you first experience the world. The world changes depending on the time of year and events during that time. My argument is perhaps the state of the world as you first start absorbing information solidifies these attributes we have associated with whenever you were born.

A very simple example would be someone who is born at the beginning of winter. They witness a lot more separation in the open, but more mingling in closed places. Maybe this action trickles into their brain and builds the foundations for a personality of someone who has a few very close friends. I think it is way more intricate than my example, but this would make horoscopes somewhat accurate. While the alignment of the stars does not influence the mind, the period in which a child begins absorbing information does. We cannot predict a person because of stars in the sky, but perhaps we can predict them through intricate and seemingly insignificant moments in their childhood. We can look at the spiderweb that is someone’s life and maybe draw conclusions on just where their personality comes from, and I will say that those born around the same time would have similarities.

This helps explain why all children born around a certain time may have the same personalities, and why people born in that time may not have the predetermined personality. If the circumstances of one’s upbringing alter for whatever reason, then they may not fit the personality associated with their star sign. This would tell us that only those who were exposed to a set of circumstances would fit the zodiac’s mold. Also, these personalities are not set in stone. With enough effort, the brain can be retrained and thus a Taurus may lose his strength or stubbornness. My theory, I guess, sounds almost identical to the butterfly effect, but what if it is just that? What if everything is just that?

I think we can explain a lot of mythical anomalies with complex analysis, but this doesn’t disprove them it simply shows us the cause may not be exactly what we thought it was. This is just my take on the idea of astrology. Our brains are so incredibly complex the slightest influence could have dramatic changes or have no changes at all to the brain’s structure. I think my theory couldn’t be proven right until we have some impressive technology to map the brain. A second ‘lesson’ I would hope you can take away from my brief article is magic exists. Even when science proves how it is done. Drinking water to live, loving someone and singing are still works of magic even though we know how and why they happen.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.