Futurism logo

Because I Have A Pixel

A Seven Days In Post From 2017 Than May Interest Geeks, Bowie, Philip Glass and Velvet Underground Fans

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

Introduction

I have shared a few of my diary entries from my Seven Days In blog and they have generally got a good reception. This is another one which gives you a little insight into my pre-Vocal writing and daily life.

This is a 2017 post from the blog which contains observations on moving to a phone with no option for a micro SD card (A Google Pixel which like Apple phones has no option to expand the memory). Apparently, other companies have to pay Microsoft a premium if they include the micro sd card, I don't know how true that is but I dealt with it fine.

The Actual Blog Entry (You can see it here with all the spelling mistakes)

.. that's a Google Pixel phone, I have now got to rationalise what I download and put on the phone. No 50Gb of music like I could have on my Sony or Samsung because they have an SD card, no lots of photos and videos, I need to utilise the space more judiciously. I could plug a stick in but that would be so asking for trouble.

Every app uses up space, every picture, every Instagram video, and all the music.

But say I limit the music to 10Gb, that's like fifteen to twenty albums, so isn't that enough, really?

I can only listen to one album at a time and twenty albums should see me through a week. I remember a friend telling me how they had looked after a vicar's house for four days, there was him, two girls, one record player and four albums including the first Velvet Underground album. If four albums were enough for three people for four days, then fifteen albums should be ok for me for five days.

So today's album was not the Velvet Underground, but David Bowie's "Low", the first of the Berlin trilogy. When it came out I remember thinking that the melody of the opening song "Speed of Life" was very similar to Deep Purple's "Woman From Tokyo" and I still think that today.

For some reason. I thought that side one only had five tracks ( along with side two's four, the psychedelic Krautrock influence coming to the fore there), and there were actually five songs bookended by two instrumentals. Whether it's me or my age, Bowie's music is timeless and sounds as fresh now as when it first came out.

Some of side two was appropriated for Philip Glass for his "Low Symphony", very atmospheric feating vocals in a non-existent language, though "Weeping Wall" borrows the melody from "Scarborough Fair". Incidentally, Philip Glass scored the film "Candyman" based on a Clive Barker short story and the music enhances an excellent nighties horror film.

I'll leave you with a live take on the opener from "Low" in 1978, enjoy your day.

Conclusion

I am quite pleased that some of the things I have written are worth revisiting, well they are for me. I had always hoped that Seven Days In would give me the inspiration to write a book, so I kept writing and writing and although I started two or three I could not even get them properly started.

I am capable of writing a short story, and as I have stated many times, every story that I write is meant as a stand-alone piece. There are two reasons for this, my extreme laziness, my inability to take things further, and the desire for my audience to reach their own conclusions (though this goes hand in hand with my own laziness).

However positive pressure from my audience has resulted in several mini-series that are peppered throughout my Vocal Fiction which you can look for here.

Thank you so much for reading again. I hope you have enjoyed this and below is the start of one of my series stories.

celebritiestechpop culturehumanityhow toevolution
2

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Love anything about music. I have 5 turntables in my house lol

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You are my go to person for music and it’s history . Thanks for sharing you personal journey with music. I am sure you put all your stories together you got a very thick book. Hugs and love 🥰♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.