Filthy logo

When a Man Loves A Woman

Chapters 5-9

By Mia Lashea Published 4 years ago 30 min read
1
Affair You Say

Chapter 5-Love is Blind (Diane)

“The latest body to wash up on the banks of the Nonchonna has been confirmed to be the remains of the missing Fayette County teacher Linda Whitmore.” The reporter from the news station stated. His voice was dejected. “Her body revealed the same incisions that the previous victims had on their bodies. The incisions indicate that a child had been born before the mother’s life was taken. As with the other cases, the newborn’s whereabouts are unknown.”

I silenced the television. The murderer had struck again. My face hardened as I looked at the deposit in my joint account with my husband. $70,000 was deposited around the same time this woman was reported missing. Just like the others. My nephew Malik walked into my study.

“Hey Auntie, why the long face?” He had a small smile on his face. I sighed and nodded towards the television. He took in a deep breath and immediately knew the cause of my frustration.

“I saw that in the case file today. Auntie, you’re really allowing this to take a toll on you.” He made more of a statement than a question. I looked at myself in the mirror. I looked exhausted but to everyone else, I looked fine. However, my nephew knew otherwise. That was one of the reasons he relocated to Memphis. The other reason was this case. He and I both had ties to this case. The original detective on the case thought that it was a copycat killer but once the deposits started back, both Malik and I knew that this was the original murderer resurfacing.

“You shouldn’t spend all of your time studying this case.” He grabbed me and we embraced. Then he closed my laptop and led me to the front porch where we sat down on the porch swing.

“H e’s striking more women, Malik and we know it’s him. Why is it taking so long?”

He sighed, “I understand your frustration, but working and worrying yourself to death is not going to help me or you with this case. She was my mother. He murdered her. I saw him do it. He didn’t know I was home but I saw him, remember? ”

“And she was my sister. I’ve forgiven her for what she did with him because I know that he is a master manipulator. I want him locked up because I don’t know how much more of these senseless killings I can take.”

“We’ll get him, I promise you we will. He will not get away this time.” He stated and a rouge tear fell from his eyes.

At that moment my husband Daniel pulled into the driveway. “It’s time to change the subject.” Malik did as I suggested and wiped the tear from his eyes. I instantaneously code switched and turned into the bubbly, supportive, and charming wife, my husband loved me to be. “My neighbor should be arriving home soon,” I stated. Malik side-eyed me. "Don’t look at me that way." I chuckled.

“I hope she doesn’t look like a bed bug.” He stated sounding unamused with my antics to hook him up.

I shook my head and erupted in laughter. “She does not!” I replied while laughing. “She’s actually quite beautiful.” Daniel stepped on the porch.

“Who’s beautiful?” He asked. I felt my mood shift again and it wasn’t a positive shift.

“Our neighbor Silvia.” I nodded towards her house across the street.

He looked over and just as he did, Silvia was pulling into her garage. “She is not as beautiful as you are my Love.” He mentioned and kissed my cheek. “However, she does look better than that bullfrog you married and thankfully divorced.” Daniel teased our nephew. Malik lifted his eyebrows.

I was now howling with laughter now. Malik sat still. He was not impressed by Daniel’s joke on his ex-wife. I was so tickled I didn’t notice the annoyed look on his face.

“Ya’ll let me marry her.” His voice was almost a whisper.

“We told you not to also…” I calmed down. “But hey, you got a handsome son out of the entire thing so that’s a win.”

He nodded in agreement. I noticed that Daniel was looking impatient. “Is there anything you need honey?” I asked.

“ Oh no, I’m just thinking about a patient we lost today.” He paused. “She bled out and nothing we tried stopped the bleeding... I’m going to rest my nerves.” He mentioned as he opened the screen door.

“I’m sorry to hear that Dannie. Well, you take a load off and I’ll start dinner in a few but first I’m going to introduce Malik to Silvia.” I stated.

For a brief moment, he paused and then continued inside the house. Malik didn’t notice it but I sure did. I stood up and placed my hands on my hips. My nephew was scrolling on the newest I-phone. “Are you ready?” I questioned him. He looked up from his phone and stood up.

“I have no other choice do I?” He questioned.

“Nope!” I replied with a smirk. You don’t and I led him towards her house.

Chapter 6-We Both Know It's Wrong

​When I made it home. Mrs. Keaton was sitting on her porch swing with a young man. I couldn't really tell what he looked like all I saw were those dreadlocks running down his back “I bet those things keep his head warm when it gets really cold." I thought to myself as I pulled in the garage. My home phone was ringing when I got inside of the house. I looked at it and let the answering machine get it. It was onlyDaniel, letting me know he'll see me later tonight. I blushed at the thought. I hadn't had any of him in three days, so I was missing it a little. How sad was I, knowing that I really wanted this to end but a piece of me couldn’t get enough of this man. The doorbell rang and I ran over to open the door.

​It was Mrs. Keaton and the young man she was sitting on the porch with, and my God was he fine. He was chocolate, with almost black eyes, and a face of the Gods with a body that matched. I just stood there.

​​"Hello Silvia, this is my Nephew Malik. Malik this my neighbor, Doctor Silvia Fields." She introduced us. I just stood there with my jaw on the ground, utterly speechless about this sexy man standing in front of me.

He wore a white buttoned-down shirt. It accentuated every bicep, tricep, and muscle in his upper torso. The chino pants he wore were fitted perfectly and left little to the imagination. This man was toned and well taken care of. He had a neatly trimmed goatee and he smiled as his aunt introduced us. It’s like he knew he was gorgeous to look at.

"Silvia...Uhm Silvia" Diane called while she snapped her fingers in my face.

I blinked and replied, "Yes?"

​She glared at me, "Well, aren't you going to invite us in?"

​I came out of my trance. "Oh yes, my apologies for that Mrs. Keaton," I stated. They walked inside and sat in the living room. Malik was tall, he had to be at least 6'4. I usually didn't like dreadlocks but looking at him made me think they belonged with him. "Would you two like something to drink?" I asked nervously.

​​"No thanks, Dr. Fields," Malik responded. My body began to melt again. His voice was deep, yet smooth like a shot of Hennessy, and took over the room when he spoke. ​Even though I was a dark-skinned honey, I knew my cheeks turned red as I began to blush. "You can call me Silvia." Diane was sitting on the sofa with a Kool-aid smile plastered on her face. She didn't say a word. "Tell me about yourself Malik. What made you move from Atlanta to Memphis?"

​​ "Actually, I'm from Savannah and the crime honestly." He chuckled but I didn’t find it hilarious at all. My face must have gave it away that I did not enjoy the joke. "My bad and that's not funny…Well, it's true. Memphis has one of the country's highest crime rates. I'm just here to get in on the action." He walked over to the kitchen Island as he spoke. I began to get nervous. This man seemed like the type that knew what he wanted. He was bold and confident. He grabbed an apple out of the basket and bit into it while staring deep into my soul. ​I forgot Mrs. Keaton was even in the house. When she cleared her throat, I was able to break away from his eyes, he on the other hand continued to watch me. "So I will catch up with you two later." She said.

​I bucked my eyes at her, "Excuse me, where do you think you're going?"

​​ "Home." She replied.

​​“And you're taking him right?” I questioned while walking towards her.

​ She grinned, "No, you promised to take him out on the town."

"Diane, I don't know anything about him. You just can't leave him here with me like this..."

​​"Get to know him then," she laughed. "You're single and so is he, have fun you two. I will see you later Malik." She left out the door skipping and laughing.

​He shook his head and smiled. "That's my aunt Dye. She is something else."​He started looking at me again. I took a deep breath and walked out of the kitchen. I felt like I was cheating on Daniel by just being in the same room with Malik. Is it possible to cheat on a married man? That doesn't make any sense, he's married and I'm not. It couldn't be cheating. I went into my bathroom to freshen up. It was a good thing I wore an all-purpose dress to work today. I pulled my hair from the bun it was in, activated my natural curl pattern with some moose, put on some mascara, topped my look off with some red lipstick, and was ready to go.

​​"Wow!" He stated when I walked back to the front. "It doesn't take much for you to go from amazing to jaw-dropping."

​​"Eat your heart out, sweet face." I winked at him and grabbed my purse. "Let's go. Your aunt wants me to show you the town and that I will."

​He gulped, "I think I will have that drink now." I laughed and grabbed his hand. We hopped in my car. I showed Malik a little of Germantown, the neighborhood I lived in. He mentioned how it seemed like a small town inside a little city. I agreed that it was. Then it was off to downtown Memphis. We went to Texas De Brazil and had a wonderful meal. Next, we went to a bar and had a couple of drinks. We even danced a little. After that, we walked on the river for a while.

​ I found out that he was a transferring detective. He moved up here because of the better pay. He needed it too, he had just gotten out of a messy divorce and custody battle of his son. This big guy had a soft heart. He loved his son so much, I could hear it in the way he talked about him. The mother of his child didn’t want to be a mother but she wanted the money that came from being an ex-wife with a child. However, the money she wanted was not awarded when Malik and his lawyers were able to prove she was an unfit mother and that she had cheated multiple times during their marriage. So here he was in Memphis now starting a new life again.

We finally headed home. The drive home was romantic in a corny first date way. He held my hand as if I was his and we listened to Keith Sweat play love songs on the radio. Not much was said, but I could feel the heat between the both of us.

​​"I had a great time tonight," he mentioned as he walked me to my door.

​​"So did I, Malik," I replied then there was a long silence. We both looked up at the stars. "They're beautiful aren’t they?"

​​"Yes and so are you." He responded while pushing a strand of hair out of my face. "I'd like to see you again."

​​"I’d like that," I blurted out not even thinking about my situation.

​He chuckled, "Somebody's had too much to drink..."

I raised my hand and laughed, then I turned to unlock the door. "Goodnight detective. Jones"

​ He kissed my forehead, "Goodnight Dr. Fields," and he walked away. I just melted when I closed the door.

​​"I see you enjoyed your night with Malik." Mr. Keaton said in an eerie voice. He was sitting in my recliner.I jumped because I wasn't expecting him to be in my house.

​​"The two of us, are not married Daniel." I joked. "You can't dictate who I go out with when you have a whole wife." I slipped out my pumps and glared at him. His eyes were full of anger.

​​"You're drunk."

​​ "So." I laughed. “How did you get in my house Danny Boy?"

​​ "You think this is funny?" He stood up and walked over to me. I was still standing by the door. I chuckled again and he pinned me to the door looking me in my eyes. If this had been any regular day, I would have been scared out of my mind but the alcohol was in full effect.

​​"I been drinking, I been drinking" I sang a lyric from Beyonce's Drunk in Love. "Now move." I pushed him away from me and stumbled into the kitchen dancing to Drunk in Love, which was playing in my head. I took an aspirin to prevent a headache in the morning and as I was washing it down with water when Daniel, walked in the kitchen, enclosed his hands around my waist, and slowly kissed my neck. His lips felt great on my skin. He took one hand and slid it under my dress. "We shouldn't be doing this." I moaned. He didn't pay me any attention. He just continued doing to me what he does best. The little lace panties I had on were ripped off as he dropped on his knees and ate my pussy from the back. I felt his tongue doing things to my girl parts that I only dreamed of. “Come in my mouth baby girl,” He demanded as he licked and sucked on my clit. I couldn’t do anything but obey because my body was on the edge already. As I came he took his fingers and played with me until he got his pants and boxers down. Then he entered me hard. His strokes were powerful and his grip around my waist was tight. I arched my back the way I knew he liked it and spread my legs so that I could take all of him inside of me. The pumps came harder, stronger, and faster. Daniel grabbed my hair and whispered in my ear, “You’re mine, Silvia. Don’t you ever forget that.” Then he released himself inside of me. I could feel his DNA dripping from my opening. After we finished he placed me in my bed and left. I couldn't do anything but roll over and hope that I could stop this before someone got hurt.

Chapter 7- I want nobody but you

"Why the hell is my body shaking?" I thought to myself with my eyes still closed. I could hear someone's muffled voice but I couldn't open my eyes to see who or where it was coming from. The sounds stopped. I dozed back off into a dream about Malik and I. He was running his fingers through my curly hair while looking into my eyes. It seemed like we were in love. Next thing you know, a wave comes out of nowhere and soaks us. I hopped out my sleep dripping wet. My mother was standing there with an empty bowl and a smug look on her face.

​​"So that's how he leaves you? Naked, hungover, and missing money." She stated.

​​"Mother!" I screamed. She rolled her eyes. "What the fuck?"

​​"Watch your mouth Silvia Hope Fields. I brought you into this world and I will take you out." She walked over to my closet, grabbed my robe, and tossed it at me. "Put this on. I really don't want to see you naked."

​​ "Mother, what are you doing here this early?" She rolled her eyes again, went to sit on my bed, thought about it, and decided to sit in a chair by the window.

​​"First off, it's a little after two in the afternoon. Secondly, you didn't call into work today, you had poor Lisa so fucking worried about you, and lastly why the hell is Mr. Keaton leaving messages on your DAMN ANSWERING MACHINE?" She yelled at me. I was afraid now because my mother never yelled let alone cursed. I walked into the bathroom not saying anything to her. My face began to turn red again. Mother was not stupid by a long shot and she could put two and two together perfectly. I started the shower and got in. I could hear her fussing in the room. When I got out of the shower I pulled my damp hair in a ponytail and put on some sweatpants.

​​"So you're a homewrecker now?" She questioned.

​​"Mother no...I don't know" I said with tears in my eyes. "It just happened. I don't even know what I did to start it."

​​"It doesn't take much Silvia. I've told you, your entire life that you are unbelievably beautiful. I don't know why you don't see that." She said to me. Her voice was now calm and concerned.

​​"If that's the case, why haven't I found someone yet? Why is it that when I do fall for a man he is Mr. Wrong, he doesn't support my dreams, or he belongs to someone else...?" I was now crying. I knew what I had been doing was wrong and Mrs. Keaton didn't deserve this. She was such a sweet woman. Mother walked over and wrapped her arms around me. Her embrace was so comforting. She could be nagging most of the time but she meant well. She only wanted the best for her children.

"I know honey, just let it out. Let it all out, baby girl." She spoke softly.

It seemed like I cried about everything that had happened over the past years. Mother just rocked me. I really believed she understood my tears. They were deeper than the situation I was in with Daniel. These tears were me finally letting all this baggage go. I cried for my broken heart, my failed relationships, and the marriage I was ruining. I let all of my hurt go. When I finally stopped sounding like a dog howling, she grabbed my face and looked me in my eyes.

"You are so beautiful, Silvia. Do you know why I named you Silvia?" I shook my head. I felt like I had a frog in my throat. "I named you Silvia because when you were born you were dark like cocoa powder but your eyes were the color of Silver, the same as mine. I was originally going to name you Earnesta but your father saw your eyes and agreed that Silvia should be your name. As you got older you went from milk chocolate to dark chocolate but one thing stayed the same...your eyes. They never changed. You have always been a wise girl and you hardly ever made mistakes. Use this situation as a learning experience and move on. Leave that man alone Silvia. You are too smart, too successful, and beautiful to be some man's good time. You understand me?"

I nodded agreeing with her. She kissed my temple and left. I got myself together, called Lisa, and apologized for my absence. I also told her to order flowers and restaurant gift cards, send them to the clients that I missed today, and to reschedule their appointments. I knew now that this situation had gotten out of hand. It was time for it to end.

A little after I calmed down. I decided I wanted to go to work off some of this stress. As I was pulling out, Malik flagged me down.

"Hey Miss Lady, where are you headed?" He asked with a smirk on his face.

"Why do you want to know?" I questioned him, ignoring his question.

"Well, I need to hit the gym. I'm a little nervous about work tomorrow. This case I’m working on is a huge one."

I shook my head understandingly. "I'm headed to mine right now. You can hop in the car with me if you like or follow me."

"I think I will follow you. When I'm finished with this workout I am going to smell worse than a bus full of smelly teenage basketball players, just leaving a basketball jamboree." He replied. Then he ran into the house, came back out with his keys, hopped in his Range Rover, and followed me to ATC fitness.

He looked so good working out. I tried to pay attention to my workout but it was hard. His tight-fitting workout gear didn't leave too much to my imagination. I could see the beads of sweat running down his face, some of them glistening on his goatee like the dew on the morning grass. I could lick his face because he looked so good. Then he took his shirt off and I lost my thoughts in the chisels in his abdomen. I guess he figured I was watching him, he smirked and went back to working out. An hour later we were heading out.

"I would like to see you later on tonight." He stated. I wasn't expecting him to say that. I looked at him with a blank expression. "Is that ok with you?"

"What are we doing?" I asked while unlocking my door and throwing my duffle bag in the passenger seat.

"We can just chill. I don't care what we do, just as long as I'm with you." He responded.

I rolled my eyes. "Great line, Malik... Ok but don't expect anything fancy. We are just kickin it." He kissed my forehead and ushered me in the car. I pulled off amazed that his funk didn't make me puke. It actually mixed very nicely with his cologne. The more time I spent with Malik, the more I wished I had never smiled at Mr. Keaton that dreadful night.

Chapter 8- Lovers & Friends

“Tell me why have you been single for so long?” Malik questioned with my feet between his hands. He was giving me a heavenly foot massage. I took a sip of my wine and exhaled.

​​“Most men don’t like ambitious women, that’s why.”

​He looked at me like I was insane. “What do you mean? I need you to elaborate Silvia.”

​​“You know what I’m talking about. You men, can’t stand when a woman has dreams of her own. It’s like we have to cater our goals and aspirations around your dreams. We’re always made to compromise and it’s never the other way around.” I removed my foot away from him and pulled myself off the sofa to pour me another glass of wine. I could feel his eyes watching me.

​​“Naturally that’s how it is supposed to be Silvia. In the bible, a wife is to submit to her husband.”

​I rolled my eyes, “Well I’m nobody’s wife.” He sat his glass on the coffee table and looked at me slightly annoyed.

​​“You’re nobody’s wife yet because you’re going to be mine, Silvia.” He paused and I took a huge gulp of my wine.

​​“You don’t even know me Malik. Don’t make lifelong decisions based off of infatuation.” I headed back toward the sofa and sat down next to him. He grabbed my hand and kissed it.

` ​​“I’m not saying we’re getting married now. I’m saying that I would like to get to know you and one day marry you. I’m not going to pressure you because I want to get to understand you and I want to learn everything about this beautiful woman in front of me. I won’t waste your time or lead you down a path of deception. You’re absolutely amazing from what my Aunt tells me and what I’ve seen, and it would be an honor to date you.” He was still holding my hand and digging into my soul with his piercing eyes.

​I cleared my throat and pulled my hand away, it was now cold and sweaty. I wiped my hand on the pajama pants I had on, cleared my throat, and glanced at the time on the wall. I guess he noticed that I was nervous. ​​“I don’t want to make you uncomfortable. But I mean everything, I’m saying.” He stood up and grabbed his keys. “It’s getting late and I need to get some rest. My son’s probably already asleep by now.”

He was walking toward the door and I don’t know what prompted me to do so, but I grabbed his massive arm. He turned around with a shocked expression on his face. For a moment, both of us just stared at one another. Then it happened, I smiled, bit my lip, and I kissed him as if I had never kissed a man before. The instant heat that I felt between us two intensified. His tongue was thick and his lips were smooth and sweet. I pressed my breasts close to him but I felt as if I wasn’t as close as I needed to be. That’s when he pulled me closer to him and took the lead of the make-out session. All the sparks started to fly. I was into it and I could tell he was too. His dick even started to swell. I found myself with my legs around him and the massive extension of him was trying to burst through his pants and into me. We both were moaning and groaning but we still had our clothes on. And just when I thought he was about to make me come by kissing and dry humping me, he stopped and pulled away.

​​“Silvia, I want to make love to you but I’m abstaining from sex at this moment.” I bucked my eyes and wiped my mouth with my fingers. “I only make love when I’m in love with someone. I’m sure I'll get there with you but it’s not our time.”

​I smiled at him and kissed his lips again, “Can you at least hold me while I sleep? I haven’t had a man hold me in my sleep in years.”

​​ “That’s all I wanted to do tonight was hold you.” We turned the lights off, made sure the doors were locked, and went to bed. I forgot how good it felt for a man to hold me. Damn, I really have to drop this shit with Mr. Keaton.

Chapter 9- I Rather Live Wrong, Doing Life

When I woke up the next morning Malik was gone. He left a note on the nightstand. His handwriting was almost perfect. The notepaper smelled just like him. That Perry Ellis Red 360 fits him well. Goodness, this man was everything I’ve ever dreamt of. He massaged my scalp last night as I dozed off into oblivion. Eventually, he wrapped his huge arms around my body and he went to sleep too. The two of us did not switch positions at all. The night could not have been any better. I sat up in my bed and grabbed the note, it read,

​​​“Until the next time I get to hold you, remember the way I held you.”

​ That word, “Remember,” sent chills down my spine. They were both good and bad. The good ones wanted me to open up to Malik and tell him about his Uncle, the affair, and how I wanted to end it all for him. The bad chills made me wonder how would Mr. Keaton react to me breaking everything off. I ran my hands through my natural hair, doing this always eased my mind. I jumped out of bed, turned on my coffee pot, and headed into the shower. I was enjoying my shower when everything went black.

​ When I came to, I was in a dark place. It was cold, and I had something on that was itchy. The material felt like a paper sack. It was cold, very cold, and there was nothing but a window to illuminate the cold room I was in. I wondered where was I and would I ever find my way back home, hear my mother’s nagging voice, or listen to my clients’ problems? All could do was cry, I wanted my mama, I wanted my daddy, and I wanted to go home. In the midst of crying, I fell back asleep.

​ Someone opening a door made me jump out of my sleep and crawl backward. I couldn’t see the persons’ face, but I could tell it was a man because my eyes started to adjust to the darkness. “I told that damn wife of mine to leave Malik’s love life alone but no she had to fix him up with someone… Well damn it, she should have chosen better.” My heart sank down to the pit of my stomach.

​​ “Mr. Keaton?” I asked in a hoarse voice. I hadn’t had anything to drink all day and from the small window, I could tell it was nighttime. ​

“Didn’t I tell you to call me Daniel?” He snapped and pulled me up by my collar. I shrieked and began to cry. He slapped me down and I hit the concrete floor face first. This had to be an unfinished basement. I could taste the blood in my mouth. My attacker pulled me back off the floor and seized me by the hair as he turned on a dim light in the room. I continued weeping. “So, you just go and fuck my nephew right after you screw me huh?”

​​ “No, No, No Mr. Kea…I mean Daniel. I haven’t had sex with anyone but you.” I wept. I hoped he could see my innocence but all that did was land me a punch in the nose. Blood began to pour from my face.

​​ “You are fucking cunt liar. That young buck fucked you. I know he did. I know.” His blue eyes were now a sinister dark blue, they almost looked black. My eyes were watery, and everything was blurry and then I noticed the medical bed with stirrups. There were mounds of boxes and old medical supplies in the room. Daniel was now pacing back and forth. He noticed the blood on the gown. “Damnit, take that off.” I did as I was told. I didn’t want to risk being hit again. He yanked me by the arm and pushed me to the medical bed. He then pushed me back on the table and inserted his fingers inside of me. I was not in the mood, so it was not pleasant. “What the fuck?” He asked, while he stood up, adjusted his posture, and pressed his other hand on my abdomen. “FUCK!” He yelled as he snatched his hands off and out of me, he stormed out the door, locked it, and continued yelling, “Fuck,” until I could not hear it anymore.

​ I didn’t know why he was so upset. I hadn’t slept with Malik and I didn’t have plans on doing so until I ended it with Daniel. I knew Daniel, liked things his way but I didn’t find what he was doing alright at all. This side of him was full of rage and envy. I don’t know what he had up his sleeves and I did not want to find out. I continued thinking about how crazy this situation had become when Daniel burst back into the room. He was dragging a cart that had a small sonogram machine on top of it.

​​“Lay back down.” He demanded. I complied with his rude request. He placed some jelly on my stomach and turned the machine on. What I saw and heard next made my heart drop and Danny boy’s face turn whiter than before. “Do you know what’s that Silvia?”

` ​​“A heartbeat and it’s, not mine.” I replied with a cracked voice. I could feel the tears swelling back up in my eyes. He placed the tool down and stared at me. He looked confused. His face did not show a lick of anger anymore but more so compassion and regret.

​​“I’m sorry Silvia. I’m so sorry.” He said to me as he walked back out of the room. I did not know what to think at that moment. I just sat in the dimly lit room and prayed that I could get myself out of this situation.

​It had to be the next morning. I must have cried myself to sleep. I hadn’t had anything to drink and there was a rusted sink on the other side of the room. I limped over to the sink and turned the water on. The pipes rumbled and the water came out in patches for a brief moment. Once it started to run properly, I placed my hands under the stream and drank from it. It was the only refreshing part of this entire ordeal. I hoped dearly that my mother or my assistant figured something was not right. I never thought I’d say but I missed my mother’s nagging.

“Lord, I’ll never ignore mama’s calls again if you get me out of this mess,” I thought to myself. Daniel entered the room holding a tray of breakfast. The tray had a vase with a single rose.

“Good morning Silvia. I brought you breakfast.” He sat the tray on the table and brought in a small dining table and chair. He then placed the tray of food on the table. “You should eat. Our child needs nourishment.”

The phrase, “Our child,” made bile rise up in my throat. I looked at the food and thought to myself. I eased into the chair and looked at the plate of bacon, scrambled eggs, grits, 3 pancakes, and mixed fruit in front of me.

“I can actually cook well for a physician. My children love it when I cook breakfast for them.” He was standing there with a wide grin on his face.

I didn’t know what to say to him. He was standing in front of me as if he did not kick my ass yesterday.

“Are you going to let me go?” I questioned him. “I won’t tell anyone.”

“Eat your food, Silvia. Our child needs nourishment.” His happy tone was erased with something sinister.

I didn’t want to upset him, so I did as I was told. He stood there watching me eat for about five minutes and then he disappeared. I didn’t notice it but I was hardly breathing and when he exited, I let out a deep breath. Not having him around me was satisfying. That was the only peace I could take from this situation. I finished my meal and went back to the sink to wash my hands. I had nothing else to do but sleep so that’s what I decided to do. I laid down on the medical bed and instead of drifting straight asleep, I thought of the child that was growing on the inside of me. How far along was I in this pregnancy? I had a small cycle but didn’t last long. I closed my eyes and tried to imagine the baby but I couldn’t. Eventually, sleep settled in and dozed off.

erotic
1

About the Creator

Mia Lashea

Who is Mia Lashea? Just another girl from Memphis, TN. I'm a aspiring writer, a mother, and a wonderful cook. The majority of the stories I've written come from a very creative and active imagination. I hope you enjoy them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.