Filthy logo

Stranded In Denver

Monica and James

By D. SeanPublished about a year ago 20 min read
1
Stranded In Denver
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The announcement of canceled flights for the day came after four hours of delays for James Morgan. He slung his backpack over his shoulder and headed for the airport exit. His trip home from a seminar in Phoenix would be delayed by at least a day. James took out his iPhone.

“Morgan and Lang, how may I help you?”

“Jill, it’s James.”

“Hello Mr. Morgan. Are you on the plane?”

“No. All flights are cancelled for the day; I need you to get me a flight for early tomorrow, the earlier the better. Also, cancel all of my appointments for tomorrow; I have a feeling it’s going to be a long day.”

“Is there anything else sir? Would you like me to find you a hotel suite or anything?”

“No, Jill, thank you. I will just stay some place close to the airport for the night. Email me as soon as the flight’s booked. I’ll see you tomorrow.”

“Get some rest Mr. Morgan.”

He turned off the phone and slid it back into his leather coat. As he walked through the terminal, he heard the clip clop of heels behind him. They were getting faster as he moved along.

“Jimmy? Jimmy? Jimmy Morgan!” a voice called. James stopped and turned around to see who was calling him.

“Holy shit! Monica...hello...how are you doing?” Their embrace was short and awkward.

“I’m doing well; it’s been a little while.”

“It has been a while.”

“I guess that’s what happens when you get a divorce from someone.”

“If it’s any consolation I don’t see my brother much either. Where are you headed?”

“I’m meeting Mom, Ilana, and a couple of friends in Maui for a Hawaiian vacation.”

“Now you’re stranded in Denver.”

“Not a good start to the vacation. What are you doing out here?”

“I had a seminar in Phoenix and now I’m headed back home.”

“How is your law firm?”

“Business is going well. We’re small, but we’re starting to grow.”

“That’s great to hear.” Monica tugged on the sleeve to her jacket to keep it from riding up her arm.

“I’m not used to you with short hair,” James said awkwardly.

“I cut my hair after the divorce, I felt like I needed a change. I got a lot of compliments. I’m thinking of dyeing it light brown.”

“It looks good, very adult.” Monica looked at her phone to check the time. James looked around the airport for someone to rescue him from the conversation, but knew that he didn’t know anyone in Denver who could save him.

“So what are you doing now?” Monica asked.

“What do you mean?”

“I mean, are you going to get a hotel room or get some food or get a drink? Do you mind keeping me company?”

“I don’t know if that’s a good idea.”

“I’m not married to Felix anymore. Let’s catch up, what else is there to do for the day. I don’t know anyone else in town. Let’s have some fun.” James’ phone vibrated twice in his pocket. He checked it to find an email from Jill telling him that she had booked him on a 9 am flight. He checked the time to see that it was nearly 2 pm. He nodded toward Monica.

“Let’s get a cab and book a room for the night,” he said. They continued walking toward the exit to go hail a cab.

********************

Monica sat topless in the chair as James sketched a picture of her.

“I’ve worked on some of my skills giving head, did they translate?” he asked.

“You’re not as rushed as you were back in the day. You were good then, but now…I mean, wow.”

“Don’t move I don’t want to blur any lines.”

“Can I take a sip of my drink?” she smiled as she grabbed the glass of whiskey and Coke. “I wish I had a joint right now.”

“We could go look for some.”

“Where? Do you know where to go to get a hit of something?”

“It can’t be that tough, right?”

“It’s not a big deal; just finish your sketch so I can fuck you again.”

********************

“So how long has it been since we saw each other?” Monica asked. They were standing in the lobby of a Ramada waiting for the clerk to return from a phone call.

“At least three years, right?”

“You’re probably right; my divorce went final three years ago in May. Wow, it’s been that long?”

“Have you spoken to Felix since the divorce?”

“We’ve spoken a couple of times. We had to sell the house and we had to agree on an offer. I called him when Callie died.”

“He hated that cat.”

“It’s why I called him,” Monica chuckled. James smiled.

“Okay folks, here is your key, sorry for the delay. You’ll be in room 176, just down the hall there. It’s a smoking room with two queen beds. Is that okay?”

“Perfect,” James said. He handed the man his corporate credit card.

“Will you need a wakeup call?”

“I will. Can you set it for 6:45?” James replied. “What time is your flight tomorrow?”

“Not until 3:00. Can I get a late checkout?”

“That won’t be a problem, ma’am.” He typed some directions into his computer and then handed the credit card back to James. “Will that be all?”

“I think we’re good. Oh, is there a good place to eat nearby?”

“Well sir, what are you looking for? Are you interested in going downtown?”

“Not really. I just want some place close.”

“There are a few restaurants about two blocks away, you can cab it, but it may take some time for a cab to get here in this weather.”

“It’s early, perhaps we’ll just walk. Thanks,” Monica added as they headed to their room.

********************

“Did you hear that?” James asked.

“Hmm?”

“I heard something. Are you sure Felix isn’t coming home?”

“He’s in Las Vegas at a bachelor party with his buddies. I spoke to him just an hour before you got here.” Monica stood up; the dragon tattoo disappeared in a curtain of thick reddish brown hair. James used the moon’s light to watch her nude body move out of the room. He was fully erect when she returned to the bedroom with a baseball bat. She placed the bat on the floor near the bed.

“If there’s an intruder you can use your former All-American swing to knock his head off.” Monica slid into bed and snuggled her back side against James’ warm body and erection, which he nestled in between her legs and inside of her, encouraging a delightful moan before he had the opportunity to give her a complete thrust. He kissed the back of her neck as one hand played with her breasts, cupping them as he continued in and out. His other hand reached around and played with her exposed clit, inducing an immediate orgasm from Monica.

“Keep fucking me, baby, don’t stop!” she moaned as her body tensed for another wave. James bit and sucked on her neck, leaving a large purplish mark where the neck met the shoulder blade. Her squeal was a mixture of pleasure and pain. He came soon after as she tightened the muscles around him to coax an intense orgasm with a guttural belch of a groan from deep inside his belly.

********************

The walk to the restaurants was painfully cold. The snow and wind had reduced visibility to a few inches and neither of them had clothes to brave the weather. They walked hugged against each other like a couple of young lovers, but it was survival for the walk, it was Monica’s suggestion to maintain some body heat. They stumbled two blocks and went inside the first restaurant they came to.

The TGIFridays was mostly empty. Nobody would dare brave the weather just to have Jack Daniels Chicken. They grabbed a table near the bar.

“Hello, my name is Cassidy and I’ll be your server today. Wow, you’re like only the third customer I’ve had all day. The weather sucks, huh?”

“It’s pretty shitty out there,” Monica replied as she rubbed her hands to return the feeling to them.

“Can we get a couple of shots of whiskey?”

“Okay, you got it. Any preference?”

“The best you got, bring four shots,” James said impatiently. Cassidy left the table and put in the order.

“New York has made you impatient.”

“I don’t think so. I’m just a little cranky today.”

“What, you didn’t expect to spend a cold Tuesday at a Ramada in Denver, eating and drinking at a Friday’s?”

“Not what the plan was, but, I guess those weren’t your plans either?”

“Nope, I’m supposed to be on my way to a beach in Maui right now.”

“And you’re stuck here with me.”

“Let’s just make the best of it. I’m glad that I’m with someone I know and not cooped up in that room with nothing to do.” Cassidy brought back the four shots to the table.

“Hey Cassidy, sorry that I was so curt with you a couple of moments ago, I’m just…I have no excuse.”

“Hey no problem, I have dealt with bigger assholes than you,” she said grinning. James chuckled and Monica laughed.

“Can we get this appetizer sampler thing? Is it any good?”

“It’s just four different samples of our apps.”

“Sounds amazing, we’ll take that. We’re here for a while anyway.”

“I’ll go place the order.”

“Thanks,” Monica and James both chimed.

“Bottoms up,” James took both shots in succession effortlessly, Monica took the first shot immediately, but let the other one sit.

“Are you waiting for it to warm?” James asked. Monica smiled and then laughed. “It wasn’t that funny.”

“No, but I didn’t expect your response. Why are you trying to get me drunk so soon? What’s the rush?”

********************

James began a new sketch of Monica as she slept. He pulled the sheets back to see her full figure. She breathed lightly in her sleep, but did not stir when the sheets were removed. James stood over her body with a tall and thin book resting on his right arm holding a piece of paper. He began the sketch by drawing an outline of Monica’s figure. He stuck his tongue out as he drew, concentrating on every curve and crevice. His favorite feature of her body was the dimple on the hip sides of her butt cheeks and her sexy hip bone. Monica was toned, her skin the complexion of desert sand, she worked out twice a week, but took those workout seriously. Her arm and leg muscles flinched when cold air rushed through the room. She felt for the covers, but couldn’t find them. She groaned and James drew furiously. He drew the outline to her face, including her nose that was long and flat, pointing northward at the tip. He drew her breasts and navel with a slight paunch at her tummy. Monica stirred more as James drew in her legs and the outline of her landing strip and trail that led to her belly button. He drew in the toe ring on her left big toe, the only detail he completed when she looked up at him with her big brown eyes.

“How long was I out?” she asked and then stretched and yawned like a lioness waking up after sleeping off a good meal, or a woman sleeping off good sex.

“Almost an hour.”

“Why are you drawing me? I’m ugly.”

“You know I don’t think that. I love drawing you.”

“Why?”

“I like seeing you naked. If I sketch you nude I can see you any time I want.” James continued to draw as he spoke. He had moved to the chair in the corner to fill in the picture.

“How many sketches of me do you have?” Monica stood up and walked over to where James sat. She sat on his lap and watched. She smelled like sex, James breathed her in.

“I don’t know, a dozen…maybe a baker’s dozen,” James chuckled. Monica kissed him on the side of his neck and continued to move around to the front, licking his Adam’s apple; James grinned and dropped his pencil.

“Don’t stop baby.”

*********************

Monica dunked a fistful of fries into a mixture of catsup and mayonnaise before stuffing them in her mouth. She washed it down with her third shot of whiskey. James watched quietly.

“That’s not attractive,” she quipped.

“You have a little mayo on the side of your mouth.” Monica took her napkin and wiped her mouth.

“Are you seeing anyone?”

“It only took three whiskeys to loosen up the questions?”

“Are you seeing anyone?” she asked urgently.

“Sure. Nobody serious, but I date, I guess. I mean, I have options.”

“Are you too busy to settle down?”

“Work can be hectic, it’s not a lifestyle conducive to the habits of a successful long term relationship; not now anyway. What about you?”

“I was seeing a pediatrician for a few months, but I broke it off about a month ago.”

“Why?”

“It was getting too serious for me. I wasn’t looking to marry, and he was.”

“You miss Felix?” James took a large gulp of his beer and set it down hard on the table.

“I guess I could ask you the same thing?”

“Youthful indiscretions aren’t always forgivable.” Monica’s sigh prompted a pained look from James.

“Do you regret everything?”

“I lost my brother and I didn’t get the girl, but hey, I didn’t have to give up on my dreams of being a lawyer so…”

Monica ran her hand over her head and rubbed the back of her neck. “I was marrying your brother.”

“Why did you two get divorced?”

“Just before our third anniversary he found one of those fucking nude sketches of me you drew.”

“It was more than that. It was more than that!”

“Do you want to do this now? Alright, fuck!” Monica slammed her hand on the table forcing the bartender to look up from chatting with Cassidy. James glanced over and put his hand up to apologize for the commotion. The bartender returned to flirting with the waitress.

Monica and James continued eating without talking. James looked up at Monica several times, but she wouldn’t look up from her plate, even when it was empty.

“I’m getting a headache,” she whispered to the plate.

“Do you want to go back?”

“The weather hasn’t gotten any better.”

“No, but we’re a little drunker so perhaps we’ll be slightly impervious to it.” Monica raised her head from the plate and raised her hand.

“Check please.” Cassidy came over with their check.

“Did you guys enjoy your meals?” she asked.

“It was fine. Do you think we could get a cab from here or do you think that’s not going to happen?” James asked.

“I doubt it. Where do you need to go?”

“Just to the Ramada two blocks away.” Monica responded.

“Let me talk to the manager and see if I can give you a ride, that shouldn’t take too long.”

“Really, thanks.” James said.

“Sure. Just make sure I get a good tip.” Cassidy smiled and went to speak to the manager.

********************

James paced the floor smoking a cigarette. He took quick short drags and puffed out smoke like a chimney stack. He had two bags sitting on the floor at the entrance to his empty apartment. He was waiting for Monica, who was nearly three hours late. He wanted to get on the road. He was driving to New York City to start law school at Columbia, but he hoped that he would be traveling with a companion. The doorknob jiggled and then the door slowly opened. Monica walked into the room. She smelled like lilacs and jasmine, the aroma cut through the smell of smoke that had been emitting from James for the previous couple of hours.

James put out his cigarette in the ceramic bowl he made in high school. It was the only item still in the apartment. He looked at Monica and knew that the news was not in his favor.

“I’m sorry,” she began, “I couldn’t do it to him.”

“What about what you’re doing to me, Monica? Huh? Why him? Why does he get you?”

“I love him.”

“I love you.”

“I know.”

“I thought you loved me too.”

“I do love you, but I committed to him, we weren’t supposed…”

“But we did. We did!” James smashed the ceramic bowl on the floor. Cigarette ash flew everywhere and the bowl scattered pieces across the room.

“I know.”

“What did he say to you?”

“Nothing. I never even said that I was going to leave. I chickened out.” James snorted. “We’re getting married in less than three months.”

“I can’t believe this.”

“Go start your life. You’re going to forget me…”

“Fuck you! I’m not going to forget you. You’re going to be my sister-in-law. Fuck you! How am I going to forget someone who I’m having Christmas dinner with?”

“I’m sorry. You have to believe me, I’m so sorry.”

“So am I. I have to go. Enjoy your life being married to my brother. Good fucking luck!” James grabbed his bags and stomped out leaving Monica alone in the apartment. Monica hung her head before she kneeled and began to pick up the pieces of the ceramic bowl. Tears streamed down her face as she cleaned.

********************

James lay in his bed. It was pitch black in the room, but he was wide awake. He stared at the ceiling, pictures of his life with Monica played back at him. Some were scenes of the past, others were scenes of what could have been. Visions that his imagination had begun to create for him after his brother married Monica.

Monica lay with her back to James’ bed. They had barely spoken since returning from dinner. Monica took a shower and pretended to groom herself in the bathroom for more than an hour while James sat on the bed flipping through channels on the television. The snow had subsided while they were eating and drinking and for the first time in their stay in Denver it appeared as if they would actually be able to fly to their destinations the next day. Monica, however, wanted to make peace with James. She stared at the wall in front of her, rehearsing what she would say to him. She often thought she was in the middle of talking to him only to realize that it was a hallucination when sleep was close to overtaking her. She shifted in the bed and turned to face James at the same time that he shifted toward her bed.

“I’m still in love with you,” James began, “I’ve never been able to get over you. I prayed for you and my brother to get divorced.”

“Our marriage was shitty. The picture just gave us an out. We were in bad shape before that. That picture, it just made me the bad guy. It wasn’t your fault that we weren’t a good couple. I made a mistake marrying him and not leaving with you when I had the chance.”

“You don’t have to say that,” James said while a grin spread across his face.

“I only say it because it’s the truth.”

“What do we do now?” Monica got out of bed and walked three steps toward where James lay.

“Tomorrow, you fly to New York and I fly to Maui, but tonight, you slide over and make room for me to sleep next to you one more time.” James slid over as Monica climbed into the bed. James held her tight in his arms and nudged his face into the back of her neck. His breath slid down her spine and warmed her to the core. Sleep overtook both of them in a few short minutes despite both of them trying to stay awake to fully experience the moment in time.

6:45 came too soon.

********************

“You looked so beautiful in that dress, Mrs. Morgan.”

“Shut up and kiss me. We don’t have forever; Felix will be expecting me in the honeymoon suite soon.” Monica slid out of the dress and James took off his tuxedo as quickly. When both were naked Monica kissed James urgently, but stopped abruptly. “Draw me, one last time.”

“What?” James panted.

“I want something to remember you by. Draw me and then fuck me.” Monica grinned and found a spot on the sofa to pose. “Don’t be overly intricate, I want there to be time for us.” James found a scrap of paper on the coffee table of the hotel room. He began to quickly scribble an outline of Monica, despite being in a hurry, he remained careful to draw her perfectly.

“Done!” he exclaimed five minutes later and tossed the drawing to its muse. “Should I sign it, it may be my last artistic piece.”

“You’re talented, don’t ever stop drawing.”

“We’ll see.”

“I’ll always keep this with me.” Monica stood up in front of James. She looked up at him; he was a full head taller than she. He ran his fingers through her hair; he knew it was for the last time, he swallowed hard.

“How will I pretend that this never happened when we’re at Thanksgiving dinner or when you and Felix have your first kid?” Monica smiled and stood on the tip of her toes to kiss James long and hard. They didn’t speak words again for the rest of their time together, instead only the sound of the bed springs, the headboard hitting the wall and their moans cut through the silence. Monica showered quickly when it was over; she put her wedding gown back on, and exited the room quietly to meet her husband in their suite.

********************

James watched quietly as Monica slept. He needed to leave soon to catch his flight, but didn’t seem capable of leaving without one last act. He tore a sheet of paper from his legal pad in his backpack and for the first time in years drew a picture. It was the first time he had ever drawn her with clothes on, but he liked it nonetheless. When he finished he signed the bottom of the page with a note. He placed the picture on the pillow next to Monica and kissed her on the forehead. She looked so peaceful that he didn’t dare wake her. He grabbed his bag and left quietly.

Monica woke up around 10:40. When she oriented herself, she sighed, disappointed that she didn’t get to say goodbye to James. She rubbed her face and began to plan her day in her head before seeing the picture on the pillow. She picked up the picture and smiled at the note.

Fuck the past; call me so we can start the present. I love you, Monica. I hope you love the picture.

James 212-555-0919

********************

Monica held her picture as she waited for the elevator to take her to the suite. She stood quietly replaying the day in her head. She yawned as she looked at the quick sketch, which James had become adept at drawing effortlessly. There was a ding and a set of doors opened. Monica quickly folded the paper and stuffed it into the the top of her dress pressing it against her chest before walking onto the elevator.

********************

Monica pulled out her cell phone as she stood in line waiting to board her plane. She was looking at the picture James had drawn. A smile crept across her face as she heard a voice on the other end.

“Hello.”

“Hey Mom, I just wanted to let you know that I am about to board the plane.” As Monica walked toward the entrance to the plane she continued talking to her mom. When she passed a trash can on the way and despite a moment’s hesitation threw away the picture.

erotic
1

About the Creator

D. Sean

A storyteller, who has a penchant for run-on sentences and whose stories are embellished, so I write to become better and to amuse myself. Most of my work is stream of conscious, there's minimal planning.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.