Filthy logo

Reunited After 25 Years 23: Christmas Proposal

Anton Proposes To Andrea On Christmas Day

By Angela Denise Fortner RobertsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Reunited After 25 Years 23: Christmas Proposal
Photo by Andre Jackson on Unsplash

Anton, Andrea, Denny, and Darya, their car laden with presents. went to the Parkers to spend Christmas Day. Anton refused to give Andrea a hint about what he'd gotten her, only telling her that he very much hoped she'd like it. Remembering what had happened on Thanksgiving, he was a bit nervous about leaving Malinka behind for the day, but Andrea assured him that the kitten would be fine.

"You look like your mind's a thousand miles away," she said to him as he drove to her parents' home. Since acquiring a state of Massachusetts driver's license and a car, Anton was eager to drive whenever possible, and Andrea didn't mind that at all. She hated driving and only did it when absolutely necessary.

"I was just thinking," Anton replied. "My very first Christmas, and I get to spend it with the woman I love. Wonder what it will be like?"

"I'm sure you'll enjoy it," said Andrea. The radio played Christmas carols as they traveled on. Andrea and Denny sang along, and Anton and Darya attempted to.

They arrived to find that Jewel had put up her usual lawn ornaments, Santa with the reindeer pulling the sleigh.

"Why does the reindeer in front have a big red nose?" asked Darya.

Denny laughed. "That's Rudolph. His big red nose is for guiding the sleigh."

Darya frowned. "I do not understand."

"There's a song about it. We sang it on the way here. Remember?"

"Merry Christmas, everybody!" Jewel sang cheerfully, swinging the front door open. "Come on in and get warm!"

The blast of warm air from the central heat hitting them in the face as they stepped inside did feel nice. On the CD player, Bing Crosby was singing 'White Christmas'. Anton and Darya gasped in awe at the Christmas tree laden with decorations. Darya, fascinated, went to the nativity scene and picked up the tiny ceramic manger with baby Jesus lying in it.

"Why is the baby in the feed trough with animals all around?" she asked.

"That's baby Jesus. He was born in a stable because there was no room for his family at the inn," Denny explained.

Darya looked shocked.

"It's a Bible story," said Denny. "We hear it in church every year."

Anton was astonished at the amount of food on the table. "I thought Thanksgiving was national 'eat too much' day."

Jewel laughed. "Christmas is the other national 'eat too much' day."

After dinner, it was time to open presents. As Andrea had hoped, Anton loved the watch she'd given him. When it was time for Anton to give her his present, he surprised her by dropping to one knee in front of her.

"Close your eyes," he said. She did, and felt him slide something onto her ring finger.

"Now open them." She did so, and gasped with delight when she saw the diamond ring he'd placed on her finger.

"I love you, Andrea. Will you marry me?"

"Anton!" Andrea gasped. "I thought you'd never ask!"

"I had to wait until the time was right." Anton giggled nervously. "First I had to get the green card, then the job, then the house. Then the wife, hopefully."

Andrea giggled. "Well, I certainly wouldn't want to ruin your perfect record. Of course I'll marry you, Anton."

"Oh, thank you, Andrea! You have made me very happy man." Anton stood and embraced Andrea. Everyone cheered.

"I can't believe you asked me in front of the whole family," said Andrea. "What if I'd turned you down?"

"Then I would have kept asking you until you said yes."

Everyone laughed. "That's determination," said Alan.

"Andrea waited many years for me to come back to her. She never giae up on me, so the least I can do is to never give up on her."

"Oh, Anton, I'm going to cry." Andrea gave Anton a big hug.

"Don't cry. Be happy," said Anton, planting a big kiss on Andrea's lips.

"I think we should do something special to celebrate," said Jewel.

"Let's sing my favorite Christmas song, 'O Holy Night'," said Andrea. So they did.

"The song is about the baby in the stable with the animals, right?" Darya asked when the song was over.

"That's right!" said Denny.

"Tell me the story about him."

Darya listened with rapt attention as Denny explained the story as well as he could.

"Did you ever hear that story before, Papa?" Darya asked her father.

"My grandmother, your great grandmother, she told me story when I was a little boy," Anton told her. "Then I got older, they said don't talk about it, so I never did. But I never forgot it."

"You may not remember, Dasha, but when you were a little girl, maybe five years old or so, we went to hear a group called Boney M. They sang a song called 'Mary's Boy Child.' It is about the same story."

Darya frowned. "I think I do remember that. Mama was with us, right? Did she know story the too then?"

"I do not know," said Anton. "We never really talked about it."

"That must have been a real case of culture shock for you," Jewel chuckled.

"Perhaps, but we all liked the song." Anton grinned.

"I probably have it on a CD somewhere," said Alan, riffling through his CD collection. "Ah, here we go. Harry Belafonte."

"That version's good, too," said Andrea.

Alan put the Harry Belafonte CD in the CD player and found the song.

Anton grinned. "This is it! Same song. I remember it. Just a different guy singing it."

"I remember it, too," said Darya.

"So you will not mind for your daughter to marry a Russian man?" Anton asked Alan.

"I want my daughter to marry whoever makes her happy," said Alan. "You're a good man, Anton, and I can tell that Andrea really loves you. I know you'll take good care of her."

"I will guard her with my life," Anton vowed, wrapping a protective arm around Andrea.

"Both of you sound so old-fashioned," giggled Andrea, blushing.

erotic
Like

About the Creator

Angela Denise Fortner Roberts

I have been writing since I was nine years old. My favorite subjects include historical romance, contemporary romance, and horror.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.