Filthy logo

Nights like These

Daylight Ain't So Bad

By Becky DPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Nights like These
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

After my set, the club cleared out and I started placing my gear into my leather cross body briefcase. "So are you really going to ghost this one or give her a chance?" Ginger asked passing me a glass with brandy on the rocks. "What are you talking about?" She pointed to the bar where the young lady sat. I was taken aback that she was still here. "Can you tell her to give me a minute?" Ginger walked away laughing.

"I think the groupies wait outside." I whispered into her ear. She shivered from how close I was on her. “Being that I did not know who you were, that kicks me out of the criteria for groupie.” “I see. So..” I hesitated realizing I did not know her name. “I apologize as I never asked for your name.” She giggled, “Well that makes two of us.” No one knows my real name and I think I am going to keep it that way. “How about we learn those names over breakfast?” I ask stepping back. She nodded in agreement. “I will see you later Ginger. Please don’t stay too late and get home safely.” Ginger waved goodbye and went back to cleaning the bar.

We went to the late night diner that was two blocks away. The diner was nearly empty being that most of the club goers had head for the night or should I say morning. We placed our orders and the server walked away. “So Dj D, how come you didn’t just tell me that is what you do?” I giggled, “Well, it’s usually already a known thing.” “Unfortunately, I live under a rock. I am always working and making art. There is not much time for anything else.” “What brought you out to the club tonight?” “Well, I sold a piece of art for $10,000.” “You say that so casually like it’s not a big deal.” “My friends had to drag me out to celebrate. Honestly, I rather be home reading a book.” I nodded eyeing the way she sitting. She was constantly wiping her hands on her very tight jeans as if her palms were sweaty. “I need to thank these friends for bringing you out tonight. Speaking of friends, where are they?” I took a sip of my water. “They left after I refused to leave.” “You must be dedicated to figuring out my name even though you have not told me yours.” “My name is Destiny. Yours?” “If I tell you it’s because we have reached a level of companionship where I want you to address me by that name.” She laughed as though I was telling a joke. “So, Dj D it is.”

We spent over an hour talking and eating food. I noticed the time and suggested that we part ways for the day. “Are you going to use my number or was this just one magical night for me?” “I will call you if you come see me tonight at the air field.” She scrunched up her face, “isn’t that a little backwards?” “It’s a test. I am too famous to be giving my number out like candy and I like to have full control.” “We shall see about this.” She folded her arms as she walked away trying to stay warm from the brisk morning air. “We shall see.” I sent Ginger a message. ‘This is the one. I will be home soon love. Thanks for closing the club.’ She responded with a heart emoji. I walked back to my motorcycle and headed for home. Living outside of the city allowed for me to be more off the grid and out of the spotlight as much as possible. I pulled up to my beautiful 6 bed 6 bath farm house and saw the bedroom light still on. I walked in and sat my bag down by the stairs. The house was quiet except for the tv noise coming from the room. I peeked inside and saw Ginger holding Kennedy. “She couldn’t sleep again. I think the nanny is giving her too much sweet before bedtime still.” “I will make sure to mention that to her before I leave later today.” “How did it go? Is she my potential sister wife?” Ginger laid Kennedy down on the bed. “We will see tonight if she is.”

To be continued……

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Becky D

From a small kid BeckyD has always viewed the world differently than others, creating stories about the things that goes on around them. BeckyD has experienced a world that not to many people understands. Read to discover more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.