Filthy logo

My Southern Gentleman 8

Bad News

By Angela Denise Fortner RobertsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Southern Gentleman 8
Photo by Julia Taubitz on Unsplash

"He's g-gone," Jewel sobbed.

December gasped. "He died?"

Jewel nodded. "They j-just told me five minutes ago. His heart stopped during surgery, and they c-couldn't restart it."

"Oh, no!" December felt as if she'd just been punched in the stomach.

"Fifty-six y-years," Jewel sobbed. "We were m-married for fifty-six y-years!"

"I am so very sorry, Mama," Damian murmured as he held his mother-in-law. She clung to him for dear life as December held the carrier containing her sleeping daughter.

"I'm going to have to go to the funeral home with her to make the arrangements," December told her husband. "I'd really like it if you could come with me."

"Of course I will come," Damian replied. "My mother will watch Violet. She will be all right for a couple of hours."

December stayed with Jewel, and the two women grieved together while Damian took the baby to the motel. About a half hour later, he returned to take his wife and her mother to the funeral home.

The funeral director, Mr. Archer, met them at the door and welcomed them warmly, then led them into a room full of caskets, where he began telling them in detail the advantages versus the cost of each one, as if he were trying to sell them a car. December could tell by her mother's expression that she wasn't absorbing much of what the funeral director was saying, so she tried very hard to concentrate on every word herself.

After the casket selection came the grave marker and vault selections, then the obituary for the newspaper, which December composed herself. After debating whether or not to include Gina as a step granddaughter, she decided to include her, but saw no reason to include Fawn. Later, there was a trip back to Jewel's home to select burial clothes. December saw that the grey sweater she'd given her father for Christmas sat neatly folded on top of her parents' dresser.

"He was so proud of that sweater," Jewel told her daughter. "He' told me it was the most beautiful sweater he'd ever owned. He tried it on, and it fit him perfectly. He was looking forward to being able to wear it. I'd like...I'd like to have him buried in it, if that's all right with you."

"Of course it is, Mom," December replied. "I'm sure that's what he would have wanted." They took the sweater, Alan's nicest slacks, and a pair of black socks to the funeral home, and then December returned to the motel for Violet. Kate met her at the door.

"Damian told us about your father," her sister-in-law told her. "We are all so very sorry."

All Damian's relatives wanted to embrace December and offer their condolences. It was several minutes before she could check on Violet.

"She is fine," Damian told her with a smile. "But I think she is hungry."

When Violet saw her mother, she spit her pacifier out and began to whimper. December quickly took her into one of the bedrooms and nursed her, then returned her to the carrier. "I have to go help my mom," she said apologetically to Damian. "All the relatives are gonna be coming in soon."

"Of course," said Damian. "I understand." He embraced his wife tightly. "I am so sorry, December."

She let him hold her for just a moment, then realized that if she didn't leave right away, she never would.

Knowing that her own relatives would want to meet Violet as well, she took the baby with her when she returned to her mother's home. The rest of the day passed in a blur. Mechanically, December greeted various relatives and helped make them comfortable. They all asked about Gage and made a big fuss over Violet. It was very late when December left with the baby.

Alone with her thoughts at last, December struggled not to think about what had been done to her father's body that day. She knew only the basic facts about embalming, and didn't want to know any more than that. She knew that all her father's blood had been drained out and replaced with chemicals, that his eyelids had been glued shut and his mouth sewn shut, but that was about it. The harder she tried to think about something else, the more stubbornly the thoughts persisted.

She didn't even realize how tired she really was until she lay in Damian's arms in bed that night. "I don't know what I'd do without you, Damian," she told him. "I couldn't imagine having to go through this alone."

"You are an amazing woman, December," he replied. "You had major surgery and nearly died, and then we have a sick baby, and finally when the baby got all right, this happened. You have been through much, and yet you are still here. I admire you, and I love you so much more than I could ever say."

"I love you too, Damian. I couldn't have done it without you."

"You are a strong woman, December, I think perhaps stronger than you realize. I am glad that I am here for you, though."

"So am I..." Within seconds, she was snoring.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Angela Denise Fortner Roberts

I have been writing since I was nine years old. My favorite subjects include historical romance, contemporary romance, and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.