Filthy logo

Love Triangle 4: Spending the Night

Peter Spends the Night With Veronica

By Angela Denise Fortner RobertsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Love Triangle 4: Spending the Night
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Peter was surprised, but followed her into the bedroom, where she retrieved a nightgown from a drawer. "Excuse me for just a minute," she said, disappearing into the restroom. She returned a few moments later wearing the nightgown, glanced at Peter, and then slid underneath the covers. Peter slowly undressed down to his underwear and joined her in bed.

"Will you hold me, please? I'd feel so much safer with your arms around me." For the first time, Veronica sounded vulnerable. It seemed so out of character for her that Peter could hardly believe his ears.

"Sure." He reached for her, and she went into his arms. He held her tightly, enjoying the warmth and softness of her body against his. They fell asleep with Veronica's head resting on Peter's chest.

"Thank you so much for staying with me last night," Veronica said to Peter the following morning, which was Saturday.

"It was no problem at all." Peter grinned affably. She made them breakfast, and Peter kissed her good-bye on the cheek and then returned to his own apartment. The telephone was ringing as he entered. He answered it and heard his mother's voice.

"Where on earth have you been, Peter? I tried calling you until about midnight and never got an answer."

"I was really tired last night, Mom. I guess I was so sound asleep I didn't even hear the telephone ringing."

"Well, how did it go with Zelda? I gave her my recipe for kugel. I remember how you always loved it."

"I really wish you'd check with me first before you did things like that, Mom. As it turned out, I already had plans for the night, so I had to hurt the poor girl's feelings."

"Plans? You mean, a date?"

"Yes, Mom, a date."

"How wonderful! Is she anyone I know?"

"Uh...not really."

"Well, she is Jewish, isn't she?"

"Uh...yeah." Peter hated having to lie to his mother.

"Excellent! Are you going to see her again?"

"Probably."

"Oh, I hope so! It's about time you met someone nice."

Peter went back around to Veronica's later that evening, telling himself that it was just to make sure she was all right. She cooked dinner for them, and then they popped popcorn and watched a movie on TV together. Peter went back to his own apartment around midnight.

On Sunday he found an advertisement for an entry level accountant in the classifieds. Monday morning, he went for an interview and was offered the job. Thrilled, his first thought was that he couldn't wait to tell Veronica the news. That night he tried to call her several times but got no answer. He wasn't able to reach her Tuesday evening either, and by Wednesday, he was frantic, fearing that Luis had been released from the hospital and had returned to cause more trouble. He went around to her apartment and found it deserted.

Thursday evening, he finally got in touch with her.

"My Mom's apartment complex caught on fire," she told him. "Mary Jane was asleep in her bedroom when it happened and was trapped. They got to her just in time. She's in the hospital being treated for smoke inhalation and second degree burns, and in the meantime, my Mom and Roger and Spencer have to find a place to stay." Roger was Veronica's stepfather.

"Oh, my gosh!" Peter exclaimed. "I'm sure sorry that happened, Veronica. I wish there was some way I could help."

"That's all right."

"I tried to call you on Monday to let you know that I'm going to be staying here, after all. I got a job!"

"Oh wow, Peter, that's great! What are you going to be doing?"

"I'll be working in the accounting department of a department store."

"Well, I'm really glad you're going to stay, Peter. I would have really missed you if you'd left."

"I would have really missed you too, Veronica. And I think the job is just an excuse. Even if I hadn't been offered it, I'd pretty much already decided to stay, anyway."

erotic
1

About the Creator

Angela Denise Fortner Roberts

I have been writing since I was nine years old. My favorite subjects include historical romance, contemporary romance, and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.