Filthy logo

Love Drunk

Second Chances, Lovers, and Merlot

By Ruthie MayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Love Drunk
Photo by David Dvořáček on Unsplash

It was our second first date that evening. Our second time around trying to make sense of what we were to each other and if we could make the love we had for each other enough. My heart was in way over my head. My inhibitions? I didn’t have any with him.

I stepped out of the shower, my stomach in knots from excitement, confusion, anticipation, and nerves. I called my best friend and let her know who I was meeting with.

Our breakup had been messy to say the least. It had been 2 years since we had formerly been together, but we had reconnected about a year ago over the internet. We had talked almost every day since but hadn’t met in person as he had been relocated to a different city for work. I knew he had had some hook ups with other women during that time. I had had a couple flings myself, but nobody measured up to the connection and spark that I had with Shane.

I had to quit thinking so much. I did what any sensible person does to calm their nerves before they are going to meet with the love of their life. I grabbed a bottle of Merlot and gave myself a heavy pour. The first sip went right to my clenched up muscles and started to relax me. “Awwwww”, I sighed in relief and started to pick out something to wear.

Skinny jeans that made my butt look great, a tight black lace top, and some boots that made my legs just a little longer. “Yep, that’ll do.” I told myself.

I threw a little brown eyeliner and mascara on to make my green eyes pop, grabbed my favorite lip gloss, and finished it all off with just a little bronzer to keep the freckles on my face visible. He liked my freckles. He once told me while tracing his finger up my arm and onto my neck that he wanted to play Connect the Dots on my body.

Whoa, I had to quit thinking about things of that nature and continue my quest of sultriness. I needed to be in control tonight. I needed a clear mind. Why am I already one glass deep in Merlot if I want a clear mind? Well, nobody is perfect, I told myself.

Just as I am grabbing a jacket, I hear the doorbell. I look down at my watch and realize Shane is 20 minutes early! Who does that? Shane does that. He wants to be in control.

I run to the door, straighten out my jacket, flip my hair behind my ears and open the door.

“Shane!” I say with a larger than life smile on my face. “Analise. You look better than ever.” We embraced right away. I could feel the energy between us. It had been pent up for an entire year. An entire year of going back and forth and hashing and rehashing out what went wrong before. our fears, our failures, and the love we still had for each other had all been discussed. But now he was here, in person.

Still embracing, he picked me up, pressed me up against the door, and before I knew it our lips were on each other. This wasn’t exactly how I had planned our evening to go, but I was absolutely not mad about it.

My head was spinning, but my mind was at ease. Tears started to roll down my eyes out of pure happiness.

“What’s wrong my love?” Shane asked as he tilted my chin up to gaze into my eyes? “Oh nothing”, I say with a smile and sinking deeper into his embrace. “I’m just a little love drunk”.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Ruthie May

Creative Spirit. Writer. Mother. Deep Thinker. Quiet Person with an active mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.