Filthy logo

In the night

A walk in the park

By MaxinePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
In the night
Photo by Evan Sanchez on Unsplash

In the pitch black of the night I was walking through the park when I thought I heard the screams of a little girl. These weren’t just any screams, but ear-piercing screams. The kind that stop you in your tracks and look around to see where it is coming from. I tried to look through the darkness to no avail. I couldn’t see anything. I kept walking and soon heard them again. This time there was someone else past when I reached the streetlight, but they didn’t look phased by the noise. Was this common here? Was I imaging things?

I was almost to the end of the trail when I heard the screams for a third time. This time louder. This time with a sharp pain to the right side of my head right behind my ear. It knocked me to my knees and then everything went black. Blacker than night. I was blind. I could feel the callused hands of someone pushing the hair behind my ears and forcing a blindfold across my eyes.

“Help!” I yelled.

“Someone, help me!” I continued yelling.

Soon I heard footsteps coming up behind me.

“Shut up before someone hears you. He whispered in my ear as if not to have anyone hear him as he shoved me flat on the ground ripping my arms behind me to tie them up.”

He then pulled me to my feet and shoved me so I would start walking. I could feel something sharp in my back as I flinched which he informed me was the barrel of a gun and if I tried to run, he would shoot.

“What are you doing?” I asked. I was trying not to panic. I was scared. My palms were sweating. I was hot and flustered when I realized I was being kidnapped. This couldn’t be happening.

“Just shut up and walk.” He said as he shoved me to make me walk faster.

“Let me go.” I said. He just laughed and said nice try.

“You’re going to enjoy this.” He said.

I knew if I tried screaming that he would hit me or worse shoot me. Soon I heard a car door and was being shoved through and told to sit still and not move. I tried listening to see if there was anyone else around, but I didn’t hear any voices and I didn’t recognize his voice. I could smell the musty air freshener I assumed was hanging from the rear view and the seats were leather with tiny tears all along the the edges.

“Why are you doing this?” I asked.

“Money” He said.

“I have no money, I’m not famous, I don’t come from wealth, and I just lost my job. I’m sure you’re mistaking.” I told him.

“No mistake, ma’am. I have your picture and I’ve been following you for a few days.” He said.

This can’t be happening. Who would want to kidnap me? The drive didn’t take long and soon I was being thrown from the car. I could feel the gravel underneath my feet as I was being forced to walk. He knocked twice and I could hear muffled voices on the other side of the door. When the door opened, I could feel the cool air and smell something familiar, but I wasn’t sure what it was as I was shoved through a door, and told to sit down.

My hands were untied and then retied around the chair and the blind fold was removed from my face. In front of me stood a gentleman that I recalled seeing a time or two at work. I didn’t know his name or anything about him other than that he had tipped well the few times he was in there.

“Hello Alyssa. I sure hope you weren’t harmed in the process of getting you here.” He said,

I just looked at him, confused. I looked around the room to see if it were somewhere, I would recognize but it wasn’t. It looked like an underground dump from where I was sitting. He sat down to explain why I was here when he noticed the blood that was starting to dry on the side of my head from where his man hit me. He apologized for it and said it wasn’t supposed to happen.

“You are here because I want you to be.” He said. “You were ignoring me at work. You always seemed to be distracted by someone else when I would try to get your attention. You don’t even know my name Alyssa. I tipped you hoping that you would say thank you, which you did but you still looked distracted and perhaps stressed. There is something about you that intrigues me and makes me want to be in your life. You will fit in great around here.”

“I’m not staying.” I said.

“You don’t have to stay if you don’t want to.” He told me, which confused me even more. “You are free to go after hearing me out and having dinner.”

“I will drive you home so you can change your clothes and get ready.” He said and when he smiled, I realized I knew exactly who he was and didn’t recognize him because he cut his hair.

“Your name is Darren.” “I didn’t ignore you. How could one ignore a smile so perfect and a scent so intoxicating? You came in every morning for your usual black coffee and spice cake which also happens to be what it smells like in here. “You always wore a black blazer jacker and jeans that hugged every curve you own. I noticed you.” I said softly from across the table.

He got up from the table and came around to untie my hands, then slowly caressed the side of my face while brushing the hair from around my eyes. The touch of his skin on mine sent flames through my body. The earth was quaking beneath me as he leaned down and started kissing me. I felt paralyzed, these were feelings I had never felt before.

“Still want dinner?” He asked.

I shook my head yes for fear that if I opened my mouth to talk that I would stutter and say something else along the lines of take me to bed now. Who was I becoming?

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Maxine

Hey everyone! I'm 30 and a stay at home mom to a sassy little two year old. My love for writing goes way back to seventh grade and my favorite English teacher who helped me realize that love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.