Filthy logo

Erotic Novels

Don't shame me, I read them

By Mae McCreeryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Erotic Novels
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I have the Kindle app on my phone that I use a couple times a week. Like other millennial's, I am broke so I don't buy books on Kindle I only read what is free on that damn app. So that leaves classic literature like the Legend of King Arthur and erotic romance novels with terrible plots. Basically Penthouse stories written by women, so the sex is way more satisfying to read.

Yeah, I have a kind-of boyfriend, but in 2020 he's basically someone I wave at and have dinner with from time to time and that's it. The sex which was once hot and sexy, has now gotten colder than the frozen tundra of the North Pole.

I digress, erotic romance novels have gotten me through this year with the help of my vibrator who I named Jamie Fraser. Sorry not sorry.

At first, I downloaded one about a bride who was saved from an arranged marriage to a horrible Duke by a muscular Viking. I was watching Vikings at the time and had a major crush on the guy that plays Ragnar.

Normally when I do read on my Kindle (app and device), I read old literature. I always enjoy reading classics like Count of Monte Cristo, Pride and Prejudice, and A Christmas Carol. I have been caught multiple times at work with my phone under my desk, not texting but reading Dante's Inferno. I am a nerd, a really big one.

So, when a romance novel popped on my Free Feed, I wasn't into it at first. But there's only so much old english you can read before it actually gets weird and gives you a headache.

I will admit, I was immediately engulfed in this Bride's story of being forced by her father to marry this Evil Duke who may have murdered his previous wife. She was staring at herself in her white dress when this Viking fought his way into her castle and carried her off to his ship. It took place in the 18th century so you know how accurate it was, and how much you could see was inspired by things like Outlander.

As soon as I finished that riveting story of a big hulking Viking ripping off a wedding dress from a womans soft supple body and then ravaging her with pleasure that she had never known, my feed started stacking with romance novels left and right.

I got sucked into that world within two days, people. Two days.

I now long for a tall, strong, handsome Scotsman to save me from being kidnapped from a devilish rogue and then take me to his spacious castle with a huge bed and an even bigger library. After I realize he's a gentle and well-mannered man, I'd let him have me six ways to Sunday and an extra round just for good measure. In my story, the Scotsman looks like Jason Momoa though. I always go weak in the knees at the sight of a man who looks like he can throw me around like a rag doll though. Take from that what you will.

Now, my whole Kindle library is just erotic romance novels that cover all of the tropes.

The bodyguard who falls in love with the woman he's protecting, a female lawyer who falls for a Mafia guy, a woman who rents a log cabin to write a novel and crosses paths with her handsome loner neighbor.

Yeup, I've got them all. And I love them.

Are they cheesy? Yes. Are they a bit obnoxious sometimes? Also yes. Are the sex scenes somewhat unrealistic most of the time? Very much yes.

But they are still fun to read and a nice break from the current hellish reality we find ourselves in today.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.