Filthy logo

Burlesque to Boudoir: Reclaiming My Body. Part 5

This feels like deja vu. And things get real

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Continued from part 4.

August 2018

Alright Tinka, you kicked butt in June. Your two performances you did then were solid. If you do them again, you could win!

Dottie Stacato is the 'pick up artist' for the show. She picks up the clothes and tips between performances and returns them to us. She was the closest person I have had to a mentor going through the burlesque process.

Photo by John Lombardi

She was the one who originally gave me advice about how long performance songs should be. How many articles of clothing should be taken off.

Photo by John Lombardi

We didn't talk a lot. But she taught me a couple things. She let me know a few important things. Enough to be encouraging. Enough to consider her the only mentor I had in the burlesque world.

Photo by John Lombardi

It's something you may have heard of in the burlesque/DRAG world: "Drag/Show Mothers." These are mentors who have performed, know how to do make-up, networking, and more.

Photo by John Lombardi

I kept hearing that the burlesque world is a family, camaraderie. I never really felt that.

Photo by John Lombardi

I tried really hard to be polite, professional, on time, grateful, thankful, and generally positive to anyone and everyone around me when I was out performing.

Photo by John Lombardi

I was starting out. I didn't have a support system in the burlesque community. I was independent. I was basically alone.

Photo by John Lombardi

Without anyone to vouch for me, I had to be on my best behavior all the time. Not that I wouldn't be, I just had to be extra careful. One negative rumor about you, and you can kiss any bookings good-bye.

By this time, my fourth performance in burlesque at the amateur competition, I basically knew, this was it; my last shot.

Photo by John Lombardi

I only had one or two friends coming out to support me at this point. I didn't have friends in the bar scene or the community.

Photo by John Lombardi

I had to work the audience hard enough that they would like me enough to pick me at the end.

Photo by John Lombardi

These people don't know me. There's a good chance they never will. I don't want to be famous.

Photo by John Lombardi

I want to be accepted. Included. I wasn't being embraced in the community like I had hoped.

Photo by John Lombardi

"If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together."

I went alone. But If I could have gone with people, I would have.

Photo by John Lombardi

My dear friend Kitty was there at this last performance.

I came up with a tagline for myself: What I lack in skill, I make up for in imperfection.

Photo by John Lombardi

When the tagline was read, the host said, "What she (Tinka) lacks in skill, she makes up for in incompetence." This is not the first time the host made fun of me in my introduction. Kitty told me afterwards she believed that the host may have done that intentionally.

Photo by John Lombardi

As if snagging my fishnets seconds before going on stage wasn't enough, I get insulted too. I would have understood if the host and I were friends, but we weren't.

Photo by John Lombardi

Performing is scary. This is an amateur competition. Nerves are shaking. I filled out the performance notes as required weeks ago, and the host gets them wrong. Whether or not it was intentional, I will never know.

Photo by John Lombardi

To get made fun of, seconds before going on stage, no matter how many times you've done it, no matter how many times you've been made fun of, it's not something you're prepared for.

Photo by John Lombardi

But what can you do? The show must go on. So I do. I give the stage my all. I give the crowd my all.

Photo by John Lombardi

Seriously. YOUR ALL TINKA!

Photo by John Lombardi

You have never felt more sexy on stage.

Photo by John Lombardi

You've done everything right on your journey. You've done everything you can do. You've grown and improved.

Photo by John Lombardi

You are damn proud of yourself. And no one can take that away from you.

Photo by John Lombardi

Someday, you will look at these photos and say, "Look what I did."

Photo by John Lombardi

"Look at what I had the guts to do."

Photo by John Lombardi

"Look! You actually had an ass for a split second."

Photo by John Lombardi

No, you weren't perfect. You never were going to be. You knew that. But damn you tried hard.

Photo by John Lombardi

You were strong. You were powerful. And you loved it.

Photo by John Lombardi

But the moment is fleeting.

Photo by John Lombardi

It won't last: not the teasing, not the pride, neither a win nor a loss.

Photo by John Lombardi

You have the memory. The story. The costumes hanging in your closet.

Photo by John Lombardi

You were a queen. The woman who handed you a five dollar bill when you took your bows said so. That doesn't happen every day.

In the end, the winner, Oodah Lolly, the one in the green kilt won the night. Was it because she was the host's favorite? Possibly. Am I bitter? No. I stand by that anyone who wins, earned and deserves the win.

Photo by John Lombardi

Am I sad? A little. But only because I didn't know how fleeting this moment would be. I am a little sad in retrospect. But aren't lots of bittersweet memories? I don't have those breasts and that clean stomach anymore.

But that's another story.

See you in Part 6.

photography
1

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.