Filthy logo

Burlesque to Boudoir: Reclaiming My Body. Part 4

Return to Burlesque

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by John Lombardi

Continued from Part 3

June 2018

Tinka Boudit's back to the burlesque stage! New routines! New pasties!

Craft foam and plastic gems and trial and error

It's been a few months since I've been on stage to perform, and nearly a year since I've done so at the amateur competition. I have two brand new performances I've been working on.

The first is based on a dance I did when I took professional dance classes...when I was a little girl. It's a cover of "Yellow Polka Dot Bikini." That performance, as a child, was a tap dance. I do not have tap shoes. In this performance, I'm going for scared-innocent to encouraged to what I dubbed my "nearly naked number." It doesn't have a lot of skill, but it does have a lot of nerve.

The second song and dance is a cover of a cover of "Lady Marmalade." I found a YouTube singer I liked who changed up the lyrics slightly from the version from Moulin Rouge. It fit my performance and style and I really liked what the singer did with it.

Come on Tinka Boudit! It's been a year! Get naked like a champion!

Photo by John Lombardi

Good. Start with your schtick! You don't want to come out on stage. You're shy.

Photo by John Lombardi

That's right, Tinka. You didn't want to come out of the locker. You're shy. (*tries to hide laughter*) Sure!

Photo by John Lombardi

There's no escape from the stage. You're there now.

Photo by John Lombardi

Just give them a taste. Listen for the reaction. Taste it.

Photo by John Lombardi

Yeah, Tinka! Smile! Give them the tease of that yellow polka-dot bikini.

Photo by John Lombardi

Just a tease...for the moment.

Photo by John Lombardi

You heard their reaction, and it felt good. Maybe you're not so scared.

Photo by John Lombardi

You're not a kid anymore. You're not inexperienced anymore. Sure you aren't very graceful. You knew that. Keep going!

You're legs look amazing, by the way.

Photo by John Lombardi

OMG! And your boobs! You have always been real and spectacular! You finally did that elegant thing in photos. Try not to screw it up!

Photo by John Lombardi

Ah damn, you screwed it up with your face. The silk isn't quite moving the way you want it to either. You want it to look like waves, but it's all bunchy!

Photo by John Lombardi

It's not looking like waves the way you want. But that's okay. You still look good, and it's gonna get better.

Photo by John Lombardi

True story: I've never owned a string bikini before this; chances are, this is the only one I will ever own. I dotted and stoned it myself.

Now things get good...From the locker to the blanket...

Photo by John Lombardi

From the blanket to the shore...

Photo by John Lombardi

From the shore to the water... (Where bikini bottoms fly through the air!)

Now there isn't any more...

Photo by John Lombardi

WOO!

Now you know why I called it the nearly-naked number. Oof. My hear races writing and remembering this.

Photo by John Lombardi

SO much double stick tape. YEOW!

Now I gotta rush to get dressed and changed for my other performance, one that requires actual skill.

...shit.

...

...

Tinka Boudit to the stage: Hey sista, soul sista, flow sista, go sista... Snap along if the song moves you

Photo by John Lombardi

This was a fun one to put together. I already had everything in my closet already, except the thigh-high fishnets, those were the only things I had to buy. Don't act surprised!

Photo by John Lombardi

The white thigh-highs, I wore on my wedding day, and the black feather bolero, I've had since 8th or 9th grade.

Photo by John Lombardi

I've always had that grin.

Photo by John Lombardi

You're doing it, Tink. You know your steps. I can see you saying them in your head!

Photo by John Lombardi

...Aaaaand that got the exact reaction you thought it would.

Photo by John Lombardi

Hip circle, step, right, hip circle, step, left . Leg twist, leg twist, body roll, body roll.

Photo by John Lombardi

Don't fall back. Don't fall back.

Give them a different reason to cheer.

Photo by John Lombardi

Your garter straps popped, but it doesn't matter. Fix your face!

Photo by John Lombardi

Better?

Photo by John Lombardi

Better!

Photo by John Lombardi
Photo by John Lombardi

All your garter straps have popped. It wouldn't be one of your performances without some kind of costume problem, right?

Photo by John Lombardi

That includes your halter-bra getting stuck under your corset. Sigh. Shocking.

Photo by John Lombardi

Just roll with it. You always have, you always will.

Photo by John Lombardi

That audience was yours. You had fun. You finally knew what you were doing, even if things go wrong, you know how to turn them right.

Stage call!

Who's the winner?

...

...

Side story. I had a teacher in college who told me about when he used to be a bouncer. One night at the bar he worked, things got crazy and a bunch of rowdy patrons ended up with their hands zip-tied behind their backs sitting on the curb waiting for the cops to come. One of these zip-tied patrons made a break for it and my teacher ran after him. This patron, mid-run, jumped, and in mid air, got his hands in front of him from under his legs and kept going. My teacher was in awe as this man sped out of site on foot. He said, "Yeah, if he can do that, he can get away."

That's how I felt when JuJu C Cummings won. And that's how strong her win was. The woman in the red dress on the end. I saw one of her performances. She was sharp, stunning, strong, and had a power in her that I cannot fully formulate into word. I wasn't mad, just impressed by her. She 100% deserved the win.

Photo by John Lombardi

This was, far and away, the best performance night I had so far.

...Until later this summer!

See you in Part 5!

photography
1

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.