Fiction logo

Zara Kozi, 1921

Featured characters’ backstory series

By Lobna KowsarPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
8
Zara Kozi, 1921
Photo by Alexander Pemberton on Unsplash

INT. Finn’s Office – Day

Zara Kozi, 25, sits on the middle of the wide mid century modern sofa before a tea table. She shifts her fake leather handbag from her lap to the small and empty lamp table beside her seat.

Finn: Hello there Zara.

(Zara waves her hand with a thin fake smile)

Finn (Cont’d): Alright now, I will ask you a few very regular questions and you don’t have to worry about how long your answers are for them, ok.

(Zara nodded her head along with that same thin fake smile)

(Finn nodded his head and cleared his throat)

Finn: How was your day yesterday?

Zara: Interesting question.

(Silence)

Finn: Yeah? I am glad you thought so. Gentle reminder, this session is an hour long for $60.

Zara (snickered): Don’t I have all that money to spend?

Finn: Your last therapist-

Zara: Wasn’t too pleased by me? I figured.

Finn: How about we start from where you left off with her?

Zara: I didn’t tell her anything actually, but I will tell you because this is not funny anymore?

Finn: spending money for lying?

(Zara displayed the same thin fake smile)

Finn: I’ll let you speak.

Zara: When I was about 7 years old, I met a boy. It was at my family friend’s place. They had a daughter of my age who was my childhood journal, used to tell her everything but actually didn’t know some much about that little journal, had to burn it away later.

Well, that boy was someone I hadn’t met before. At that time, I wasn’t a good English speaker but he was and the way he spoke (rolls her eyes). I still remember, he wore this black and turquoise full sleeves t-shirt and a beige or something colored cargo pants for kids. He came over after dinner with just his dad, was told his mom was sick. You see, that was one night and after I left my journal’s house, I thought I would never see him again, I guess that's why his image was very clear in my head for a few months.

That first encounter was on the summer of 2014, I was enjoying my 2nd grade’s summer holidays. After the stay-at-home vacations were over, I was updated to a better school where I had to repeat my 2nd grade as my father willed. The school was lively but I felt sick because you see I didn’t know anyone and at that time I didn’t have the courage to walk up to other strange kids and talk literally outta nowhere.

I think on my second week this happened, I was on the grounds for lunch break with just a handful of cool girls, yeah fit in pretty well later, and I went to throw some garbage in the big blue bin and in just that moment, I saw that boy. Small, cute and unbelievable.

I didn’t ask any of my cool girlfriends about him because I used to do all the work for myself by myself. That was first time I saw him in school and recognized him. I wasn’t really shy or anything like that but I was simply a little afraid about what if he doesn’t remember me, maybe I shouldn’t call him out on that. I didn’t call him out but I did wave at him when he finally came to throw his trash the next day. He didn’t recognize me or wave back instead he made a pale face and walked away, unbothered.

Yeah, I know. Sounds bad and it kind of hurt me too. But what else can I say, I hadn’t done anything memorable for him to remember me back then. From then onwards, I too appeared to ignore him but, in my head, ugh! I could get him outta there. Oh, by the way, I was like 8 back then.

Years passed by, and I always hoped he would end up in my class the next year but never happened. In the 4th grade, I decided to wave at him again, simply, with no clear idea or intention. I did. He didn’t. That was the second time I tried to talk to him in school. You know, after that interaction, I simply gave up. I really thought this wouldn’t ever happen, so then he was someone I tried to get to. His image then slowly blurred out at the back of my head.

Until! Yes, again (rolls her eyes with a grin). Until the start of the 6th grade. One of my quirky-intelligent girlfriends, who was not to mention actually my best friend at that time, landed at his class. That was the first spark in my head to get close to him. You know, my quirky-intelligent girlfriend got really close to his and they both developed that really good friendship, partly because she had a thing for his best friend. Finn, they were so close I got uncomfortable just by thinking about her being my best friend at that time.

I only wished she would introduce us to each other so maybe we could first be friends and then maybe if he ever got feelings for me like the ones I had for him, then…you know, we could have been a thing someday. Right, so, that was the 6th grade and nope, we never talked then. All I did was stare at him and wished for eye contact.

During my spring term on the 7th grade, schools shut down and online learning at a universal level was practiced. As a 14-year-old, things were getting very strange around me because the rest of 7th and the entire 8th grade passed by without any proper social connection that a student supposedly needs. At the very start of my 9th grade, I visited my brother in London, there I got a phone call. I answered it to only discover it was my quirky-intelligent girlfriend from 6th grade. I didn’t tell her about my thoughts and feelings for him before but since she decided to call me after 2 years, I thought maybe this wouldn’t kill anyone to tell her now. So, I poured my heart out and she threw it at him.

(Zara laughs hysterically)

Do you know what happened? Quirk-bit*h told that boy I wanted to make out with him and he was all confused and flustered. He forgot who I was! No actually he knew who I was but he just forgot what I looked like. Send him pics of my lightly pouted face via Quirk-bit*h. And oh! Do you know what he thought?! He thought I was outta his league! Oh my God.

Look, we talked, never in real life just exchanging chats, and I gave the world’s most awkward first impression. After about a week of simply exchanging “hello-nice to meet you” texts, we got real with it.

Ok right here, Quirk-bit*h is out of the picture, just making things clear. I still remember, it was during my online English class and we were texting and this subject about thoughts and feelings came up. Mid-conversation, he send “Hey Zara”.

That was when I knew I was about to get it. I even typed it out. He soon send a long text which said “I am sorry I don’t share the same feelings as you” and other nice things about me.

Finn: So, you got friend-zoned?

Zara (nodded and cont’d): Yeah. He said he’d rather be my friend than anything else. So, I told my mom everything.

(Finn instinctively widened his eyes in surprise)

Zara (cont’d): If I killed myself instead, that would have been better. I was immediately taken to London where I was confined and tortured but still kept with care and love. I know that because they got me married to a great guy, 10 years later. He was 37 years older than me and passed away about 4 weeks ago.

(Silence)

Finn: Alright Zara. That’s an hour and we’ll meet next week. By the grace of God; have a good day.

(Zara gave a thin smile and excused herself).

*

Thank you! Thank you very much for taking the time to read my character's backstory. I hope you liked it, please leave a heart if you did. Tips are very appreciated. And thank you once again.

Here are some fictions where the characters mentioned above where featured:

Zara: What symbolizes her strength AND Cora

Finn: What symbolizes her strength

Series
8

About the Creator

Lobna Kowsar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.