Fiction logo

What Rida Gets

A sequel.

By Lobna KowsarPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
What Rida Gets
Photo by Ryul Davidson on Unsplash

This is the immediate continuation of What Rida Wants.

“Alright now, I’ll leave and take care of myself,” Zaki said on his way towards the door.

“OK. Wait, don’t tell Meer about any of this.”

“Meer? Of course not. Plus, that woman hates me so mu-”

“She actually, umm, listen I don’t know how to give it to you straight. I think you don't know this yet. Wait, lemme just-. Umm, she actually likes women,” Rida said uncertainly.

Looking away, expressionless, he sighed, “I know.”

“You do?”

“Yes, she told me after we separated,” he added, “but that isn’t the reason she left.”

“Separated? You guys married? I thought it was just a long thing, oh lol, no. I mean just being together, you know-”

“Yeah, yeah. It’s the same thing but she...,”

After the small pause, Zaki bid farewell and left, hanging Rida on the edge of the cliff where his complete answer could have pushed her off to a night of peaceful sleep and a clear mind at work.

Soon when she entered the kitchen, a loud knock banged the main door. She dropped her soaped cup on the drainboard and hushed to open the door before he disappears, in her head. Before she pulled the door open, another knock hit the center, ringing her ears with confusion. She waited. She waited for many things to happen because her letters were always delivered at this time but never with more than one knock. After the third knock she waited for him to use the doorbell but the person behind kept knocking after every, what seemed like, five seconds.

Finally, a voice called, “Rida, are you there?”

‘A lady?’ she guessed.

“Who is it?”

“Elissa,” the voice replied.

Immediately opening the door with a huge grin, Rida greeted the blonde, awaiting.

“Why didn’t you just ring the doorbell?” asked Rida after setting down some biscuits and tea in her living room.

Elissa minted her long, blonde eyebrows together, leaving no space in between to distinguish the two apart and absently blew on her steaming-hot tea. Thinking that she didn’t hear her, Rida repeated, “Elissa, you know the doorbell? I mean-”

“I didn’t see any doorbell there. My knuckles have clotted blood by knocking that door so much, you know how cold it is outside?! Huh?”

“Ok. But there is a doorbell right next to the creepers,” Rida swallowed and replied.

Elissa exhaled hard on the surface of her saucer and stood up, directing Rida to follow her. They stood before the main door, inside the house, “Tell me what this is for or else I literally might just faint,” said Elissa. They both stared at one another for as long as Rida could remember before Elissa sighed, swung and fell on the floor.

“Elissa, plea-”

One hard knock on the door snapped her sentence and senses as she quick reached down to pick the envelope before Elissa was done with her drama-trip.

“Hey! What was that! I saw that!”

“Nothing!” Rida shrieked and ran into the kitchen as Elissa chased and shouted back, “Rida! I need to tell you something. Wait!”

That stopped Rida.

“I know you have been exchanging letters with Paul and I am here to tell you something before you guys go too far and regret everything,” Elissa screamed.

“Shut up! I know you’re making it all up and you are just here to read the letter because you couldn’t get enough outta him about this,” Rida shouted back.

“What are you talking about? I need you to know this! Rida! This is the biggest mistake! I swear, I am here just to prevent it from happening again,” Elissa screamed till Rida heard her voice dry out, “Listen to me, Rida. Just hear me out, okay? You will need to know this before fantasizing your never-to-ever-happen future with him.”

Rida fumed as she watched Elissa pampering for breath as she added, “Rida! Say something!”

She nodded and Elissa continued, “He is a widower.”

An unfamiliar ringtone of Macaw birds along with the doorbell rang just as she began gapping at Elissa with dazed inertia.

*

Thank you! Thank you very much for taking the time to read my story. I hope you liked it and please leave a heart if you did. Tips are very appreciated and thank you once again.

Here are all the stories where the characters mentioned were featured:

Zaki: What Rida Wants AND At the Meadows

Elissa: Cora

Paul: What Rida Wants AND At the Meadows

Meer: Cora

Rida: What Rida Wants AND At the Meadows

Series
5

About the Creator

Lobna Kowsar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.