Fiction logo

At the Meadows

A short story.

By Lobna KowsarPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5
At the Meadows
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

Immediately after the few well-wishers left, Rida jumped out of her chair, where her butt was stuck during the entire gathering, and rushed to Paul, who was locking the main door. She barked, “I so hate that old hag. I knew she was flirting with you. And why on earth were you playing along. You should be ashamed for what you said. I thought now you were finally fit to be a father but no, I clearly see it.”

Sighing in tiredness, he gave a short reply, “Ugh, listen. She is my cousin and she was very happy for us. Look she even got you candles and keychain from Kuwait, cool right?”

“Oh, damnit. Now I have to get her something in return?! This hell is never gonna end! Ah, I am doing the dishes; you can just go sleep or something. I want to crrrii,” words raced out of her mouth in an ascending order of high pitch.

Taking her arms and resting them on his shoulders, he placed his hands on her hips and whispered, “You don’t look pregnant at all.”

“But I sure do feel a thousand per cent pregnant,” she jabbered in frustration.

As he gracefully peered into her eyes, a loud knock snapped them out. Rolling her eyes, Rida slowly patted away while Paul answered the door.

“Oh hey. What is it?” Paul asked, trying his best to hide the irritation.

A handsome, tall, tan, young man showed off his white and perfectly lined teeth before asking, “Can I come in? I think I left my wallet.”

“Who’s it?” Rida’s loud yet distant shout came from the kitchen.

Paul exhaled and shouted back, “It’s Zaki. He says his wallet is here.”

“Oh well, let him in,” was what she said before Zaki entered and helped out his sister with the dishes.

“How are you feeling in this confinement for a house?” he asked with the visible and audible criticism in his voice and lips.

Rolling her eyes, she reluctantly turned to him and asked, “Got your wallet?”

He sheepishly nodded right before Rida exclaimed, “I knew it. Now what do you want?”

“I want you to get a darn dish washer, you cheapskate,” he teased, “I am sure you alone have more than enough fortune to raise the baby till his or her thirties.”

“Tell her. She is not going to listen to me anyway. And yeah, what is wrong with a dish washer! It’s something that we need, right?” Paul rushed into the kitchen with a few dirty dishes, fogged glasses and a tray in his arms.

“Hey, careful! If you drop them, I am not gonna buy more.”

“Is that a threat?” Zaki punctured in.

Rolling her eyes once more, she sighed, “Shut up. What do you want?”

“Why are you always mad at me? And yea, the thing I was here for. I am going to visit an apple farm sorta thing. It's a big field thing. Care you join?” Zaki ended with a mile long grin.

“Stopping smiling! I am gonna vomit,” she gagged, “I don’t like apples.”

Exchanging confused looks with Paul, he turned to her and whispered, “You can take your baby and husband with you. I don’t mind.”

“I said SHUT UP! Keep your damn mouth close! I uh I-” she coughed and gagging until a mouthful of yellow-blue vomit squirted over the bunch of dirty dishes as well as some cleaned ones pilled nearby.

Zaki gagged at the smell and look of the situation while Rida was carried to the bedroom by Paul, who looked like he had witnessed this before.

****

“So? Do you like it?” Zaki grinningly asked his sister as they exited the minivan, exhausted.

Checking in a strong-colored house, Paul walked slowly beside Rida who inhaled and exhaled after every step she took.

“Hey there, old man. I have two rooms here under the name Paul Rid. You probably who I am, so if you give a discount on the rent, I can give some good reviews about your hotel here.”

Paul asked Zaki for the keys but saw he was in with the serious-faced man behind the counter desk.

“Hey Zaki. What is going on? Just get the keys, Rida is really tired,” he pleaded with his eyebrows down and voice dry.

“Wait. This man won’t believe I am Paul Ru-”

“What the HECK, Zaki! Rida is about to sleep on my luggage, so can you please get the keys,” boomed Paul.

Zaki closed his eyes and opened back in frustration, “Can you look after her while I fix this mess you just made? Go now, go,” Zaki blamed off.

“Huh? I made a mess? Did you even make a reservation here? This place looks like a dungeon from Frozen.”

“There were no dungeons in Frozen. That was an ice-castle.”

“Does it matter?”

“Paul look, she is completely dozed off. Go get to the room and I will get the keys in discount.”

“Zaki! We don’t need discount. What is the matter with you?!”

“Well. I do and don’t tell her but our rooms are occupied.”

Paul goggled at him as if he didn’t hear him.

‘I didn’t think he would react that way. Wait, till he hears what else is alright,’ Zaki gave himself a thought while Paul stuttered with his words.

“How!” Paul bellowed which didn’t stuttered Rida with her sleep.

Zaki stepped nearer to his brother-in-law and whispered, “I reserved the rooms for the next week.”

“You messed up the dates?” half-whispered back Paul.

“Yes, ok. Now for that one room which is vacant costs the earth. That’s why I am acting lik-”

“Ho! Oh! Okay! You don’t have the money?”

“Lend me some green, man.”

“What?!”

****

Rida sighed, “I love the green meadows. So peaceful and pain-proof. This was your greatest idea, Zaki. I am so happy.”

Sighing and sipping on her orange juice, she sat under the shade of a giant pear tree. A warm breeze kissed them from the setting sun’s direction which forced them to stay and wait for another one. They sat and gazed at the trimmed field, hued orange from the half-swollen red sun.

After the sun was no longer visible, Zaki suggested going inside. They very slowly marched chatting into the colorful tenement.

Rida said, “I loved that. Do I really look like I am on my third trimester?”

“You look like you are on your fourth trimester,” Zaki teased.

“There is nothing called the fourth trimester, or is there?” Paul asked.

“I want more orange juice and I want a water bath but tepid water this time, please,” Rida pleaded.

As they entered their rooms, Rida asked Zaki, “Hey there, since this is our last day here, we wanted to tell you something.”

He followed them into their room and sat down on the only space which was clean: the space between the back of the door and the dressing table.

“Ok Zaki. As your sister, I wanted to tell what the doctor said it will be,” Rida said, excitingly.

“You guys know it?” Zaki asked, surprised.

“Yes.”

“It’s a boy.”

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Lobna Kowsar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.