Fiction logo

Writopilot

Noun: short for writing while on automatic pilot. Meaning to write a response or segment of one without thinking. This also manifests as an automatic response that someone might write receptively until they no longer have to think about it.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Writopilot
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Thank you so much, my friend.

Donna types feverishly with a pleased smile.

“Wow, that’s like the fifth time you’ve written that today. I didn’t know we had so many friends.” HKB chuckles, to herself.

“Ha-ha. Very funny, we have no friends, such a good one.” Donna replies with heavily laid sarcasm and an eye roll.

“I’m just saying you could try some originality.” HKB points out.

“I get that but after responding to 15 comments, my brain runs out of original things to say other than thank you.” Donna retorts in frustration.

“How about I appreciate you?” HKB suggests with a smirk.

“Okay, I get it. I’m not the most creative with human response and interaction. But you’re no better…” Donna states, with a huff of annoyance.

“What do you mean?” HKB asks, furrowing her brow in annoyance, aghast that Donna could say such a thing.

“You know exactly what I mean. We’re the same person, so if I can’t think of something creative to say that means neither can you!.” Donna explains, giving HKB a look of challenge.

“Rude,” HKB mutters, still in disbelief that Donna could say such a thing.

“But true,” Donna adds, trying to hide a triumphant smirk that tucked itself in the corner of her mouth.

“Yeah, well at least I’m not on Writopilot!” HKB shouts and leaves the room, stomping her feet with every step.

Donna gasped out loud, covering her mouth in horror.

“You take that back!” She shouted, chasing after HKB.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    😅 Ahh, the dreaded internal arguments we have with ourselves is quite amusing. You did a wonderful job defining your word and making us laugh in the process. And If I were to guess What HKB stands for... Um, Heather Kristen Burrows...😆 Too many possibilities... I give up and your anonymity remains. Well done, Donna.

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    OMG YES!! I love this one! I get exactly the same! Also the way you argued with yourself is great haha, made me laugh! <3 Great work!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Oh yes.. I know this very well in top stories! It’s a real first world problem! 😅😆so thanks for bringing it into the limelight!! Yet, what is HKB??

  • I feel you. Writopilot is real and honestly your comment game is on a Michael Jordan level.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I'm going to turn off my Writopilot before I put this comment! Really liked the idea here and your inner monologue. Hard not to be repetitive sometimes in the old comments box!

  • Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Omggggg this was sooooo funnyyyyyy!!! "At least I'm not on writopilot!" "You take that back!" I'm also guilty of being on writopilot because I can never come up with other ways of thanking people, lol. So I too was called out by HKB. Let's wait for her to take it back 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your word and story!

  • Caroline Craven8 months ago

    Ha! Love this! I feel like I say the same things but I genuinely mean them. I also like arguing with myself too! Good job Donna / HKB!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    You two need to learn how to get along. I think everyone on this site does the Writopilot thing more than just occasionally. Good story!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I love this vignette, defence and attack in one.

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Nice one, it has a ring of truth to it.....HKB?

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Lol I've definitely experienced this one! Who is HKB though? Seems like you have some history XD

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.